SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5618 (misses and women's jacket, top, dress, and pants)

Viewed 404 times 
Reviewed by:cmarie12
photo

 
 
About cmarie12starstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 4/8/03
Reviews: 55 (patterns: 55)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 89 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/11 9:49 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Futuralon said... (11/27/14 9:49 PM) Reply
This same dress was my first garment and it was a total nightmare because my measurements just weren't happening. As hideous and ill-fitting the final muslin was, I ended up putting on huge pockets and keeping it and wearing it as a housedress/yardwork pinafore type thing. So I agree it has a lot of potential and would be a good pattern for a person to try adjusting to their fit for the first time (i.e. basic lines).
janey9 said... (1/23/14 7:54 PM) Reply
Very creative and super cute on you!
Annette1 said... (8/21/11 1:36 AM) Reply
SUPER CUTE OUTFIT, the way you've bordered your dress in the trim. I've looked at this pattern SEVERAL times, and now I suppose I'll have to get it -- ha! Great review, as always!
mssewcrazy said... (8/6/11 9:47 PM) Reply
I am so getting this pattern. When possible I always try to get the ones that become your tnts. I can tell already you will be working this pattern . Unless I sew it I have trouble buying a rtw tank unless I want straps showing. I never really thought of a true tank dress until I saw yours.
crazygrad said... (8/6/11 3:08 PM) Reply
Thanks for the review! I bought this at the same time as the infamous CC dress/vest combo. Glad to see this comes out so fabulously!
becca a said... (8/6/11 10:21 AM) Reply
The contrast band and binding add a cheerful summery note. Lovely dress.
Nancywin said... (8/6/11 0:56 AM) Reply
Nice summer dress. The contrast band and binding really look nice. Sometimes it's these inventions that give us the best design details!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Beyond the BoatNeck
Beyond the BoatNeck

Class Details

Named Clothing 03-007

photo
by: JNE4SL

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Victory Jacket Paper Pattern

Sew Chic Victory Jacket Paper Pattern

Pattern Details