Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
StyleArc: Laura Knit Cardi (Laura Jacket J012) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 544 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/11 0:03 AM
Last Updated:8/6/11 5:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
LOVE IT! I have no answers to your questions, sorry. It looks like a great sweater! I am loving the Style Arc Patterns! You did a great job! Even the flat feld seams look great, not wonky at all! Nora :)
8/6/11 8:16 AM
Aroura said...
I can't help you either, but it looks great! How neat that the shawl collar is actually a hood.
8/6/11 11:17 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice sweater! I particularly like the back view. The hood/collar and shaped waist gives a nice silhouette. Thanks for the review.
8/6/11 9:00 PM
GayMcDonell said...
Great work - I've made 2 of these - With the seam through the CB / collar - on one version I did a French seam in lightweight knit- and the other I did an open seam and the stitched down the 2 seam allowances flat - close to the raw edge and left it at that. I too like the slim fit and casual style of this cardi and I get much wear out of it. Size 8 - and it's still big - you must be quite petite!
8/7/11 0:15 AM
1SewSweet said...
This is really lovely!!! I love everything about it including fabric and color!! I would do a "faux" flat felled seam. It would be faster and much easier to do. Sew the seams (right sides together), finish the edge with a rolled hem or just serge edge with a small stitch. Now press seam flat to one side, then topstitch edge. To complete, topstitch close to seam on opposite side. Hope this helps!
8/7/11 7:26 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! 1SewSweet, yes, you are right that a faux felled seam would be faster and neater. I was thinking of how that looks on the inside of my jeans with the 4 thread serging, but using a small edge stitch would make it look a lot nicer. Thanks for the tip!
8/7/11 11:10 AM
beth5646 said...
Wonderful sweater. Looks fabulous on you. I absolutely love this pattern. I have it in my stash and plan on making it up soon. Thank you for the great review.
8/7/11 11:35 AM
Margaret said...
This looks great on you! Sounds like it does have a standard shawl collar construction with those inside corners -- nice that it's also a hood! Yes, the 1/2" doesn't really sound like enough for it to be easy to do a flat-felled seam, especially if the knit is at all thick. On some knits it also looks fine to stitch the seam allowance down to one side, say 1/4" away, and trim the excess away close to the stitching.
8/11/11 12:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Fashion Sewing Group 1945 Jacket
photo
Review by redhead on 1/28/05
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern
SewBaby Twirl Top and Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8300
photo
Review by andread on 3/15/07
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3405 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3405 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3993 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3993 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us