SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> StyleArc> Laura Knit Cardi (Laura Jacket J012)

6 more reviews
Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:becca a
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About becca astarstar
VT USA
Member since: 11/6/04
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/6/11 0:03 AM
Last Updated:8/6/11 5:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
This looks great on you! Sounds like it does have a standard shawl collar construction with those inside corners -- nice that it's also a hood! Yes, the 1/2" doesn't really sound like enough for it to be easy to do a flat-felled seam, especially if the knit is at all thick. On some knits it also looks fine to stitch the seam allowance down to one side, say 1/4" away, and trim the excess away close to the stitching.
8/11/11 12:10 PM
beth5646 said...
Wonderful sweater. Looks fabulous on you. I absolutely love this pattern. I have it in my stash and plan on making it up soon. Thank you for the great review.
8/7/11 11:35 AM
becca a said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments! 1SewSweet, yes, you are right that a faux felled seam would be faster and neater. I was thinking of how that looks on the inside of my jeans with the 4 thread serging, but using a small edge stitch would make it look a lot nicer. Thanks for the tip!
8/7/11 11:10 AM
1SewSweet said...
This is really lovely!!! I love everything about it including fabric and color!! I would do a "faux" flat felled seam. It would be faster and much easier to do. Sew the seams (right sides together), finish the edge with a rolled hem or just serge edge with a small stitch. Now press seam flat to one side, then topstitch edge. To complete, topstitch close to seam on opposite side. Hope this helps!
8/7/11 7:26 AM
GayMcDonell said...
Great work - I've made 2 of these - With the seam through the CB / collar - on one version I did a French seam in lightweight knit- and the other I did an open seam and the stitched down the 2 seam allowances flat - close to the raw edge and left it at that. I too like the slim fit and casual style of this cardi and I get much wear out of it. Size 8 - and it's still big - you must be quite petite!
8/7/11 0:15 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice sweater! I particularly like the back view. The hood/collar and shaped waist gives a nice silhouette. Thanks for the review.
8/6/11 9:00 PM
Aroura said...
I can't help you either, but it looks great! How neat that the shawl collar is actually a hood.
8/6/11 11:17 AM
no7262 said...
LOVE IT! I have no answers to your questions, sorry. It looks like a great sweater! I am loving the Style Arc Patterns! You did a great job! Even the flat feld seams look great, not wonky at all! Nora :)
8/6/11 8:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5858

photo
by: Alpinebixb...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

More Info
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

More Info