SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1257 (Misses' Dress)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1031 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 160
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 89 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/11 8:00 PM
Last Updated:8/13/11 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi ArtAttack - Sorry this did not work out for you! I just completed this dress and had some of the same problems. The waist was not such a problem but the sleeves were. I had to make some adjustments to them bigtime. Hopefully I will get to post my review soon. Thanks for such a great review!
10/8/11 11:32 AM
Bonnie O said...
Yikes! I was going to cut this one out this weekend because I thought it would be a quick sew. It looks like you just saved me some frustration. I will put it aside and perhaps attempt it when I have time to focus on it. I really do love the little accent so I hope I can make it work.
9/16/11 9:38 AM
bookwyrmsmith said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern ! I was thinking it was cute and a maybe for purchase -but my skill level (and intrerest in this one) means this won't make the cut.
9/9/11 12:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thank you so much for your thorough review of this pattern. I brought it about a month ago and hope to make it this fall. Now, I'm on the fence about making it. If I do I will consider all your observations and changes. Thanks again for the review.
9/7/11 4:52 PM
Seamin in LA said...
Sadly, I tried a muslin of this over the weekend. It all worked out fine except for the sleeves which were way too tight. I knew from the review they were a problem, but I plunged ahead anyway. Unfortunately, they are so small, and with the single piece for the bodice and sleeve combined, I don't think enlarging them is a trivial issue. In addition, they were really long, past my fingertips. In retrospect, I could have just tried the bodice and come to this conclusion.
9/6/11 6:29 PM
gabc said...
Thanks for your review! I was just looking at this pattern and trying to decide whether to start on it... I am short waisted so I guess that area won't be a problem for me, but it sounds as though this is a pattern to sew cautiously with - and I was hoping it would be another of those easy, good-looking knit dresses :-(
8/19/11 10:01 AM
Sigrid. said...
Well, I just ordered the pattern just before your review. As I have a long torso I'll be very sure to make a muslin first. I was so attracted to this dress and sorry to hear your experiences are so bad. Thanks for the review, very helpful.
8/15/11 6:29 AM
becca a said...
I hate it when a pattern doesn't work out. All that time and effort for... a disappointment. I didn't buy this pattern because the band around the pleats looked bulky. Thanks for the heads up about the sizing.
8/14/11 1:12 PM
echolalia said...
Oh thanks heavens it isn't just me!!! Thank you for posting. I was so happy to see this review when I logged on. I am attempting a rescue job on my first supposedly wearable muslin. I normally sew size 14 with only a small back/waist length reduction but with this pattern I can't get my arm in to the sleeve. On measuring the pattern, the bicep measurement is 23cm. With the recommended stretch this would give about 34cm well & truly short of what I require for comfort. Not that I managed to get my bicep into the 'bicep part' of the sleeve, my forearm wouldn't go far enough through the sleeve to put it on! Having said that, I will continue on because I do like the rest of the dress (at the moment). Will post a review as soon as this (now cap(-ish) sleeved) muslin is finished. Hopefully I will complete the rescue this afternoon. At this point - my major comment is to agree with ArtAttack - the sleeve draft is awful.
8/14/11 0:38 AM
SewWil said...
Sorry this did not work out for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
8/14/11 0:33 AM
carolynw said...
What a shame - the dress on the envelope looks so easy wearing - thanks for taking the time to review this pattern. It is nice to have a heads up
8/13/11 11:55 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for the hnest review. I love the look of the dress but will wait to see if anyone has success brfore purchasing.
8/13/11 11:28 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for the hnest review. I love the look of the dress but will wait to see if anyone has success brfore purchasing.
8/13/11 11:28 PM
Nan Kay said...
Ouch, I was hoping this pattern would be a winner for fall. I'll have to look at it carefully if I decide to attempt it! Thanks for sharing your experience with it!
8/13/11 11:17 PM
ArtAttack said...
Carol and JenleeC, I hesitated whether to choose "would not recommend" as the rating. Carol, since you already own it...give it a try, maybe it will work for you. JenleeC...I tend to be a bit long waisted anyway so I am adverse to high waisted styles, hence the disappointment. Give it a try, it may work for you. But I will caution you both, buy the stretchiest knit you can find and factor in some extra ease into the sleeve...it was so tight I couldn't believe it. Best of luck! dorcas P.S. I would have to completely dismantle the green dress and begin again...it really is that bad on me!
8/13/11 10:24 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the heads up on this pattern. I have had my eye on it for a while now. I agree it doesn't look high waisted in either the photo or line drawing. Maybe it would be ok for me as I am petite? Your green version looks nice on the hanger. Is it really that bad on you?
8/13/11 10:08 PM
Carol Mendoza said...
I just bought this pattern when the new Vogue's came out...thanks for the review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you....now I have to decide if I'll try it or not.
8/13/11 8:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

More Info
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

More Info