SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1257 (Misses' Dress)

17 more reviews
Viewed 1026 times 
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 155
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 84 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/13/11 8:00 PM
Last Updated:8/13/11 9:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Carol Mendoza said...
I just bought this pattern when the new Vogue's came out...thanks for the review. I'm sorry it didn't work out for you....now I have to decide if I'll try it or not.
8/13/11 8:44 PM
jenleeC said...
Thanks for the heads up on this pattern. I have had my eye on it for a while now. I agree it doesn't look high waisted in either the photo or line drawing. Maybe it would be ok for me as I am petite? Your green version looks nice on the hanger. Is it really that bad on you?
8/13/11 10:08 PM
ArtAttack said...
Carol and JenleeC, I hesitated whether to choose "would not recommend" as the rating. Carol, since you already own it...give it a try, maybe it will work for you. JenleeC...I tend to be a bit long waisted anyway so I am adverse to high waisted styles, hence the disappointment. Give it a try, it may work for you. But I will caution you both, buy the stretchiest knit you can find and factor in some extra ease into the sleeve...it was so tight I couldn't believe it. Best of luck! dorcas P.S. I would have to completely dismantle the green dress and begin again...it really is that bad on me!
8/13/11 10:24 PM
Nan Kay said...
Ouch, I was hoping this pattern would be a winner for fall. I'll have to look at it carefully if I decide to attempt it! Thanks for sharing your experience with it!
8/13/11 11:17 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for the hnest review. I love the look of the dress but will wait to see if anyone has success brfore purchasing.
8/13/11 11:28 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Thanks for the hnest review. I love the look of the dress but will wait to see if anyone has success brfore purchasing.
8/13/11 11:28 PM
carolynw said...
What a shame - the dress on the envelope looks so easy wearing - thanks for taking the time to review this pattern. It is nice to have a heads up
8/13/11 11:55 PM
SewWil said...
Sorry this did not work out for you. Thanks for sharing your experience.
8/14/11 0:33 AM
echolalia said...
Oh thanks heavens it isn't just me!!! Thank you for posting. I was so happy to see this review when I logged on. I am attempting a rescue job on my first supposedly wearable muslin. I normally sew size 14 with only a small back/waist length reduction but with this pattern I can't get my arm in to the sleeve. On measuring the pattern, the bicep measurement is 23cm. With the recommended stretch this would give about 34cm well & truly short of what I require for comfort. Not that I managed to get my bicep into the 'bicep part' of the sleeve, my forearm wouldn't go far enough through the sleeve to put it on! Having said that, I will continue on because I do like the rest of the dress (at the moment). Will post a review as soon as this (now cap(-ish) sleeved) muslin is finished. Hopefully I will complete the rescue this afternoon. At this point - my major comment is to agree with ArtAttack - the sleeve draft is awful.
8/14/11 0:38 AM
becca a said...
I hate it when a pattern doesn't work out. All that time and effort for... a disappointment. I didn't buy this pattern because the band around the pleats looked bulky. Thanks for the heads up about the sizing.
8/14/11 1:12 PM
Sigrid. said...
Well, I just ordered the pattern just before your review. As I have a long torso I'll be very sure to make a muslin first. I was so attracted to this dress and sorry to hear your experiences are so bad. Thanks for the review, very helpful.
8/15/11 6:29 AM
gabc said...
Thanks for your review! I was just looking at this pattern and trying to decide whether to start on it... I am short waisted so I guess that area won't be a problem for me, but it sounds as though this is a pattern to sew cautiously with - and I was hoping it would be another of those easy, good-looking knit dresses :-(
8/19/11 10:01 AM
Seamin in LA said...
Sadly, I tried a muslin of this over the weekend. It all worked out fine except for the sleeves which were way too tight. I knew from the review they were a problem, but I plunged ahead anyway. Unfortunately, they are so small, and with the single piece for the bodice and sleeve combined, I don't think enlarging them is a trivial issue. In addition, they were really long, past my fingertips. In retrospect, I could have just tried the bodice and come to this conclusion.
9/6/11 6:29 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thank you so much for your thorough review of this pattern. I brought it about a month ago and hope to make it this fall. Now, I'm on the fence about making it. If I do I will consider all your observations and changes. Thanks again for the review.
9/7/11 4:52 PM
bookwyrmsmith said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern ! I was thinking it was cute and a maybe for purchase -but my skill level (and intrerest in this one) means this won't make the cut.
9/9/11 12:45 PM
Bonnie O said...
Yikes! I was going to cut this one out this weekend because I thought it would be a quick sew. It looks like you just saved me some frustration. I will put it aside and perhaps attempt it when I have time to focus on it. I really do love the little accent so I hope I can make it work.
9/16/11 9:38 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi ArtAttack - Sorry this did not work out for you! I just completed this dress and had some of the same problems. The waist was not such a problem but the sleeves were. I had to make some adjustments to them bigtime. Hopefully I will get to post my review soon. Thanks for such a great review!
10/8/11 11:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2010-144

photo
by: Renren

Review
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now