SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4002 (Tunics,Caftans,Pants,Hat)

3 more reviews
Viewed 270 times 
Reviewed by:piccalizzie
photo

 
 
About piccalizziestar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/23/11
Reviews written: 5
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/11 8:51 PM
Last Updated:8/14/11 9:06 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
portercs said...
What an interesting sewing project! It looks great and good thing you know how to sew :)
8/15/11 8:22 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
I'm impressed piccalizzie! I knew the moment I saw these pics that this was a Nigerian celebration - my husband is from Nigeria and we have been to many Nigerian weddings/celebrations! You did a wonderful job! You two look FANTASTIC! Very nice work!
8/15/11 8:23 AM
JEF said...
Really interesting! Looking at your photos - did all the guests use the same material? Is that common at Nigerian weddings? You did a great job - did you also make your dress?
8/15/11 11:29 AM
piccalizzie said...
Thank you for lovely comments. Yes it is common for the family and close friends to use a chosen material for occasions such as weddings and funerals. In Yoruba it is called the ebi or aso ebi which mean family cloth. The bride picks out the ebi but the sewing pattern you choose is up to you which means there are some gloriously individual dresses.
8/15/11 6:05 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
The bride choosing the fabric but you make your own design - what a fantastic idea. This would be far better than all bridesmaid having to wear the same dress when it obviously suits some people more than others. You both look great.
8/18/11 4:08 AM
msparkle said...
I am Nigerian and I must say 2 thumbs up!!!!! You both look amazing! You did an amazing job, honestly. I hope you enjoyed the wedding... It's always full of drama and color, Mine was anyway.. LOL
9/8/11 6:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Butterick 4377

photo
by: Salymander...

Review

Pattern

StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now