SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6122 (Misses' Tops and Sash)

6 more reviews
Viewed 544 times 
Reviewed by:mollymolly
photo

 
 
About mollymollystar
MN United States
Member since: 2/14/10
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/11 8:18 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SavannahSue said...
I love YOUR top. You did an excellent job on a pattern that has caused several people similar problems. I really want to make this pattern but I don't have time to make a wadder. Thanks for saving me from myself...
7/20/13 7:08 PM
frame said...
Very cute.
6/29/12 3:57 PM
lynnewill said...
Your fabric choice is perfect for this pattern and your coloring. Sew charming.
8/16/11 9:24 PM
Aroura said...
Oh it's too bad about the fit and drafting issues, because this is super cute on you. I'm glad you wrote up this review, because I might have picked up this pattern, as it's very cute looking from the envelope.
8/15/11 7:20 PM
SewWil said...
Your blouse is very pretty. Great job on matching the plaid. Sorry the pattern was not the greatest.
8/15/11 3:36 PM
sewing for fun said...
I really love the way you used the plaid fabric and the blouse looks great despite the discomfort! Thanks for the heads up on the design issues. I know how aggravating that can be when you put all that work into a beautiful product. I often have better luck with the small pattern companies, rather than the Big four. I also am working with Wild Ginger pattern software... with success so far!
8/15/11 1:53 PM
MNBarb said...
I had the same problem with the sleeve/armscye on this pattern. It's too bad about the poor drafting since it's such a cute look with the bias peplum. I haven't thrown my top in the donation bag but wonder when it will ever be appropriate to wear something that creates total arm restriction. It is a good lesson and reminder to check the depth and shape of the arm opening against a TNT pattern before diving in.
8/15/11 1:11 PM
Lori V said...
Your blouse is adorable, so sorry the pattern is not so good. Thanks for the review.
8/15/11 10:39 AM
marec said...
I have this pattern and it has sat, and sat,and sat...without being made up. Now you have saved me some grief. However! your blouse is absolutely adorable and I hope you try this print again with a different pattern as it is so flattering on you.
8/15/11 10:20 AM
ArtAttack said...
Absolutely adorable! I love the plaid on the bias, what a cute touch. Great fabric...I know how frustrating a bad pattern can be...I just went through that...I think those drafters are doing more than drinking at lunch!
8/15/11 9:21 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Really cute blouse! Too bad the drafting is lacking.
8/15/11 8:37 AM
Claverie said...
I'm SOOO glad you did this review. First, the blouse is really cute. Second, I made it too and may have worn it twice (second chances 'n all). I did the same thing ... after making it, looked at the model a little closer, and could see the same fit issues. The arms did not feel right and when you lift your arms as you demonstrated, 'it's all out there'. Cute pattern, but just isn't functional.
8/15/11 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Vogue Patterns 2987

photo
by: PattyE

Review
HotPatterns HP2002

photo
by: jent

Review
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now