SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5576 (Bags)

1 more reviews
Viewed 149 times 
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/11 7:07 PM
Last Updated:8/16/11 8:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jmma said...
I love the clutch.
8/16/11 8:08 AM
JDpenelope said...
Solosmocker -- I almost missed this terrific clutch. Your review is full of helpful hints. Your felting worked so well and I totally agree with you about the peltex. Was it difficult to sew in your machine? What machine did you use? Your stitching, esp the triple stitch, is very nice.
8/16/11 5:39 PM
solosmocker said...
I didn't sew the Peltex itself at all. I've learned that lesson! I put the first strip in the bottom of the bag. It was fused to a strip of muslin that was an inch longer than the bag bottom. The Peltex was centered and this gave it two seam allowances that I could sew into the corner bottom seams. That made the strip free floating in the bottom of the bag but installed tight enough to not go anywhere. I didn't want to have to turn the bag with Peltex fused in it. The bag was right side out and I cut pieces of Peltex, minus seam allowances, to fit the front and back of the bag, not the sides. Those were easily fused with the right side facing out and the Peltex tucked into the back front and back and just pressed. I never had to turn the bag with the Peltex in it. There is also no Peltex in any of the seams. There is more info on construction at: http://lasewist.blogspot.com/2011/08/b5576-wool-clutch-bag.html Thanks for the great feedback. This is a great, easy pattern, but I did the interfacing "my way."
8/16/11 5:57 PM
JDpenelope said...
"I didn't want to have to turn the bag with Peltex fused in it. " I learned that lesson, too. It can be done, but not easily and one wonders which seams have been weakened in the process. Thanks for additional info. "There is also no Peltex in any of the seams. " The bag really becomes unwieldy if you leave those in there. I will study your other helpful comments. Thanks, again.
8/16/11 10:54 PM
JTink said...
I just picked up this pattern today and can't wait to try it. I've also enjoyed the "clutch" for evening wear. Love your dyed pieces. You are right, this material, was waiting for this purse.
9/9/11 5:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns V8495

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: WhiteMouse

Review
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Buy Now