Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5576 (Bags) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 148 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:solosmocker
photo
About solosmockerstarstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 47 people
patterns reviewed: 81
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/11 7:07 PM
Last Updated:8/16/11 8:06 AM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jmma said...
I love the clutch.
8/16/11 8:08 AM
JDpenelope said...
Solosmocker -- I almost missed this terrific clutch. Your review is full of helpful hints. Your felting worked so well and I totally agree with you about the peltex. Was it difficult to sew in your machine? What machine did you use? Your stitching, esp the triple stitch, is very nice.
8/16/11 5:39 PM
solosmocker said...
I didn't sew the Peltex itself at all. I've learned that lesson! I put the first strip in the bottom of the bag. It was fused to a strip of muslin that was an inch longer than the bag bottom. The Peltex was centered and this gave it two seam allowances that I could sew into the corner bottom seams. That made the strip free floating in the bottom of the bag but installed tight enough to not go anywhere. I didn't want to have to turn the bag with Peltex fused in it. The bag was right side out and I cut pieces of Peltex, minus seam allowances, to fit the front and back of the bag, not the sides. Those were easily fused with the right side facing out and the Peltex tucked into the back front and back and just pressed. I never had to turn the bag with the Peltex in it. There is also no Peltex in any of the seams. There is more info on construction at: http://lasewist.blogspot.com/2011/08/b5576-wool-clutch-bag.html Thanks for the great feedback. This is a great, easy pattern, but I did the interfacing "my way."
8/16/11 5:57 PM
JDpenelope said...
"I didn't want to have to turn the bag with Peltex fused in it. " I learned that lesson, too. It can be done, but not easily and one wonders which seams have been weakened in the process. Thanks for additional info. "There is also no Peltex in any of the seams. " The bag really becomes unwieldy if you leave those in there. I will study your other helpful comments. Thanks, again.
8/16/11 10:54 PM
JTink said...
I just picked up this pattern today and can't wait to try it. I've also enjoyed the "clutch" for evening wear. Love your dyed pieces. You are right, this material, was waiting for this purse.
9/9/11 5:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us