SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6559 (1970s dress and jacket)

Viewed 1684 times 
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo

 
 
About Tonyastarstar
CO USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/12/07 8:20 PM
Last Updated:8/12/07 8:29 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ZoeP said...
Very nice. This motivates me to sew some of the vintage patterns my mother-in-law. It looks great on you. And by the way, I remember what qiana is...
8/14/07 4:01 PM
Re Becca said...
I reall like the bigger print and the shorter length, it looks very "now". nice dress.
8/13/07 7:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Both dresses look great on you! Love the fabric used in the shorter version and like the ribbon touch.
8/13/07 6:47 AM
tomed said...
I would definitely not say "dumpy"! Very nice indeed.
8/12/07 8:47 PM
christine A said...
It is wonderful!
8/12/07 8:35 PM
candyo said...
Very cool! Nice to see you back- I was wonderng what happened to you!
9/18/04 1:48 PM
mag said...
Very nice review. I like the oldie patterns. It is fun to find this type of thing. I have some really old ones that I got at an antique auction that don't even have the cutting lines on them. Afraid to use them. Also some not quite as dated that I would like to try.
9/18/04 1:27 PM
Tonya said...
Thanks for the kind comments all - it's quite interesting to me to see that several people recognized this pattern! Must've been a popular one in its day.
9/17/04 10:07 PM
Diana M said...
I remember that pattern -- I made it for my first trip to Las Vegas out of Qiana -- does anyone else remember that fabric? Very nice look for you.
9/17/04 5:40 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful color and fits so nicely. I think the 70's are back "in"--everything seems to be "so retro" now.
9/17/04 5:06 PM
Snowblossom said...
What a beautiful dress it looks very good on you, and good choice of fabric too. Its really worth it to keep old patterns which work. They may come back in style or may be able to be adapted to current styles.
9/17/04 1:18 PM
ladylola said...
Very nice! Love the fabric!
9/17/04 12:58 PM
Neefer said...
Very Cool!
9/17/04 11:25 AM
jlg said...
Tonya, very pretty on you (and you don't look at all dumpy).
9/17/04 11:14 AM
Aunt Cathy said...
Very nice Tonya. I have made that dress so many times for my mom way back when. I've also kept all those old patterns and always wondered if I should try using them again. Thanks for the great review and thanks for taking us back in time.
9/17/04 10:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Jalie 2111

photo
by: Steph A

Review
Simplicity 2253

photo
by: Jewelia14

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Buy Now