Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2010-108 (Twist Bubble Hem Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 210 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 250
Favored by: 146 people
patterns reviewed: 239
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/16/11 5:03 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Andrea670 said...
I am calling your mother. Go ahead with your sexy self. That outfit is too cute. Love the skirt.
8/16/11 7:08 PM
redrockcity said...
Great skirt! Your stylist is pretty awesome too (-: !
8/16/11 7:59 PM
redrockcity said...

8/16/11 7:59 PM
sewpatty said...
Very nice!
8/16/11 8:12 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty skirt! You look fantastic in it!!
8/16/11 8:18 PM
jenleeC said...
Love your version! How do I get hold of this pattern?
8/16/11 9:53 PM
a life in stitches said...
I love your skirt, and your review is great, especially with those links to the couture pictures, it's amazing how things go from fantasy to wearable. First thing I looked at on the computer this morning (UK time), so my day's off to a good start with some inspiration for creativity - Thank you! I don't have this Burda issue, but thanks to your review and some of the others I looked up I think I can attempt a draft. It's clear the outer pieces flare out to the hem, but I can't tell if that happens on the lining pieces as well or is the lining cut straighter and the outer part gathered on? Can I be cheeky and ask if you can give me a rough measurement of the hem widths to give me some idea of the flare needed?
8/17/11 3:36 AM
Nan Kay said...
You did a great job with this skirt! Looks good on you too!
8/17/11 9:09 AM
Mebber said...
This is AWESOME! You wear it so well! Thanks for the links too. I am going on a search for this pattern.
8/17/11 9:26 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, ladies. Andrea670 - My mother already knows. Tee Hee. JenleeC and a life in stitches - The bottom of the skirt is about 17" placed on the fold (34") and the lining is 10" place on the fold (20") in width. The front and back skirt pattern are the same for all three pieces. All of my photos for this project are on Flickr. Go to the BurdaStyle website. They may have the July 2010 issue available for purchase. If you need more information, please don't hesitate to ask. Thanks, Cennetta
8/17/11 10:31 AM
a life in stitches said...
Thank you for your help.
8/17/11 2:39 PM
a life in stitches said...
Thank you for your help.
8/17/11 2:39 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking skirt!
8/17/11 9:16 PM
ArtAttack said...
Ooooh, I love it! Looks fab!
8/17/11 10:28 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thanks, ladies.
8/18/11 1:58 PM
ChristineX said...
Alright, I have to make one now, too. When the bubble skirts first came out I didn't like them, but they are really cute on, as your pic shows.
8/19/11 4:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4443 Dress
photo
Review by fourkid on 8/7/11
Read Review

McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3693 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6890 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6894 Misses Blouses
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 1/16/12
Read Review

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Fabulous Fifties Bib Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)
Jamie Christina Miz Mozelle Dress Pattern (JC313MD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us