SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4123 (Comfort Zone Pillows)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1751 times 
Reviewed by:Noile
photo

 
 
About Noilestarstar
USA
Member since: 7/3/04
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 95
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/04 1:16 AM
Last Updated:7/17/05 3:34 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Home Dec    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sunnie49 said...
Thank-you for this review (ten years later:)! I'm in the middle of making this and I needed to hear how someone else felt about the lounger pillow inner pillow construction, that the finished pillow is loveable, and it's worth doing again! I too am making some changes (higher side pockets lined instead of hemmed, and a drinks pocket at the front of the arms) to tailor this to our needs. I'm also writing copious notes all over the instructions sheets 'for next time' because as fiddly as this pattern is to sew, it's worth the 'Now why'd they leave that instruction out of the text but show it in the illustrations?!'. Let's just say that as a sewer with over 50 years experience and 20 as a sewing tutor, I feel this pattern isn't for even a determined beginner - but once moved along to advanced-intermediate, this lounger pillow is definitely worth doing again and again!
7/30/14 10:17 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great. I wouldn't mind make one of these since I read almost every night. A little piece of information that I found interesting is that (I think) these types of pillow is called a husband pillow.
7/17/05 4:34 PM
ds said...
Thanks for the review. I got this pattern not long ago with the intention of making some Christmas gifts but now I think I should consider a lounge pillow for myself. I appreciate the alteration suggestions as my family members are both very tall and very short. Sherry
11/8/04 5:30 PM
Noile said...
Thanks, Anne M, for your comment and the URL -- I didn't realize that I'd left it off. By the way, this bed pillow turned out to be the perfect insert for a huge leather recliner that I used to get lost in! Now it (and I) fit like a dream. Love those pockets in the arms, too -- I always have a book handy!
11/7/04 0:40 AM
AnneM said...
Great pattern! It has a wonderful collection of useful items. I've spent good money on those neck pillows before! Here is the pattern URL: http://store.sewingtoday.com/cgi-bin/mccallspatterns/shop.cgi?s.item.400004123=x&TI='4123'&pageNum=1&M=&UK=30796309
9/18/04 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6218

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review

Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now