SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-128 (Boatneck Sundress)

11 more reviews
Viewed 443 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl

About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews: 325 (patterns: 325)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 330 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 7:59 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
cleverkitty said... (8/20/11 10:13 AM) Reply
so cute love the fabric choice!!!
FreyaStark said... (8/20/11 7:51 AM) Reply
A lovely dress, just right for that fabric. Your techniques are clever, too. I would not have thought of pleating skirt lining rather than gathering it, but what a good idea!
pdiddly said... (8/20/11 3:37 AM) Reply
Great review and your tutorial on youtube is very good - I use a similar method for my cami tops too. Like your version of the dress
Terri A said... (8/19/11 5:25 PM) Reply
Very pretty!
VirginiasDghter said... (8/19/11 4:58 PM) Reply
Who doesn't love a cute dress with a boat neckline? You have put a nice spin on this pattern that I think would also work for me ;-). I love it! The pearls are a nice touch too!
rivergum said... (8/19/11 4:55 PM) Reply
That is a lovely dress and looks very classy on you.
a life in stitches said... (8/19/11 11:16 AM) Reply
I like your dress, but can't understand the neckline being called a boatneck which I would take to mean wide and with a shallow curve. The Burda photo looks a bit more that shape, so maybe your alterations changed it? also the back neck looks quite scooped down, so I'm a bit puzzled.
Mahogany Stylist said... (8/19/11 11:15 AM) Reply
Beautiful dress, Trena. I like the design changes you made for this dress. I may have to copy them. :-) Excellent review.
Mufffet said... (8/19/11 10:22 AM) Reply
Very nice fabric. Your changes were interesting. I would love to see this style as in the line drawing as well. How about it being perfect for the dressy "little black/red/silver/gold" dress? Holidays in DC and all that? It is a lovely pattern. Your dress is airy and quite lovely.
SewWil said... (8/19/11 9:57 AM) Reply
Very pretty dress. You are right about this fabric working well for this style. Great review as usual.
Shellia said... (8/19/11 8:41 AM) Reply
Lovely marriage of fabric and style for you! A little lower front neckline would be flattering.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Class Details

Online Class
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1174

by: Sixtiesgir...

Vogue Patterns 2614

by: Nikki

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Pattern Details