SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-128 (Boatneck Sundress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 435 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 7:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
so cute love the fabric choice!!!
8/20/11 10:13 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, just right for that fabric. Your techniques are clever, too. I would not have thought of pleating skirt lining rather than gathering it, but what a good idea!
8/20/11 7:51 AM
pdiddly said...
Great review and your tutorial on youtube is very good - I use a similar method for my cami tops too. Like your version of the dress
8/20/11 3:37 AM
Terri A said...
Very pretty!
8/19/11 5:25 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Who doesn't love a cute dress with a boat neckline? You have put a nice spin on this pattern that I think would also work for me ;-). I love it! The pearls are a nice touch too!
8/19/11 4:58 PM
rivergum said...
That is a lovely dress and looks very classy on you.
8/19/11 4:55 PM
a life in stitches said...
I like your dress, but can't understand the neckline being called a boatneck which I would take to mean wide and with a shallow curve. The Burda photo looks a bit more that shape, so maybe your alterations changed it? also the back neck looks quite scooped down, so I'm a bit puzzled.
8/19/11 11:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress, Trena. I like the design changes you made for this dress. I may have to copy them. :-) Excellent review.
8/19/11 11:15 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice fabric. Your changes were interesting. I would love to see this style as in the line drawing as well. How about it being perfect for the dressy "little black/red/silver/gold" dress? Holidays in DC and all that? It is a lovely pattern. Your dress is airy and quite lovely.
8/19/11 10:22 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. You are right about this fabric working well for this style. Great review as usual.
8/19/11 9:57 AM
Shellia said...
Lovely marriage of fabric and style for you! A little lower front neckline would be flattering.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Other One Yard Wonders

photo
by: DeJa Chic

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-106

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Buy Now