SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 08-2009-128 (Boatneck Sundress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 432 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 318 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 7:59 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cleverkitty said...
so cute love the fabric choice!!!
8/20/11 10:13 AM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, just right for that fabric. Your techniques are clever, too. I would not have thought of pleating skirt lining rather than gathering it, but what a good idea!
8/20/11 7:51 AM
pdiddly said...
Great review and your tutorial on youtube is very good - I use a similar method for my cami tops too. Like your version of the dress
8/20/11 3:37 AM
Terri A said...
Very pretty!
8/19/11 5:25 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Who doesn't love a cute dress with a boat neckline? You have put a nice spin on this pattern that I think would also work for me ;-). I love it! The pearls are a nice touch too!
8/19/11 4:58 PM
rivergum said...
That is a lovely dress and looks very classy on you.
8/19/11 4:55 PM
a life in stitches said...
I like your dress, but can't understand the neckline being called a boatneck which I would take to mean wide and with a shallow curve. The Burda photo looks a bit more that shape, so maybe your alterations changed it? also the back neck looks quite scooped down, so I'm a bit puzzled.
8/19/11 11:16 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful dress, Trena. I like the design changes you made for this dress. I may have to copy them. :-) Excellent review.
8/19/11 11:15 AM
Mufffet said...
Very nice fabric. Your changes were interesting. I would love to see this style as in the line drawing as well. How about it being perfect for the dressy "little black/red/silver/gold" dress? Holidays in DC and all that? It is a lovely pattern. Your dress is airy and quite lovely.
8/19/11 10:22 AM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress. You are right about this fabric working well for this style. Great review as usual.
8/19/11 9:57 AM
Shellia said...
Lovely marriage of fabric and style for you! A little lower front neckline would be flattering.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Butterick 6520 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info