SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1234 (Misses' Dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 957 times 
Reviewed by:LBowman
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LBowmanstar
BC CANADA
Member since: 9/23/08
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/11 3:05 AM
Last Updated:8/20/11 3:48 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
I have this in my pile to sew up. I was thinking of making it long sleeved so it will take me into the fall/winter. Look very nice! Thanks for the review! Nora :)
8/18/11 7:42 AM
sewing for fun said...
It looks wonderful! I have this in my stash, too, so, now I REALLY need to sew it up!
8/18/11 7:55 AM
lespoe said...
You look great in that dress! I have the pattern but have been looking for the perfect material. So until then . . .
8/18/11 12:06 PM
Izzie said...
Fabulous! I really like this on you. I think I need to get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
8/18/11 12:17 PM
Sewiing Sue said...
Lovely fabric.
8/18/11 8:25 PM
FreyaStark said...
I'm sorry you had such a disappointing experience. Don't be in a hurry to throw it out. You might be able to make finish it satisfactorily, and the fabric is too nice to waste.
8/19/11 4:20 AM
Karine said...
I love your dress!!! It think it's a very flattering style - looks great on you. I can see that getting a straight hem would be a challenge, but hopefully it will turn out to be a minor price to pay for a wonderful dress you'll enjoy wearing!
8/19/11 8:49 AM
NJcowgirl said...
I just made this dress and plan to write a review on it also. I had to cut off 15"! I decided to just cut it off 15" from the bottom and let it hang uneven. The sides are longer than the front and back. But I'm okay with that. Looks creative and different. RTW has lots of uneven hems. Don't give up--it's a great looking dress.
8/19/11 8:10 PM
Marge99 said...
I like your dress and it looks great on you.
8/20/11 11:49 AM
mmcp said...
I actually own a dress that is almost exactly like this one. It's by a French designer and I paid a lot (lot lot) for it, so whatever you paid for the fabric, and the pattern, even with that $25, it's probably still less that what I paid for mine. And I bought the pattern because I love my dress so much, I want another one! So bite the bullet, (or find a sewing friend who will help you mark it?)
8/20/11 3:05 PM
LBowman said...
The tailor only charged $10 to mark it up, so I'll hem it today. I have ordered a chalk hem marker online for future use! Thanks for the comments. I think I can wear it to work with a short jacket over it. Aside from the hemming issue it's great - as my sewing skills improve these problems will not seem so large, I'm sure.
8/20/11 3:47 PM
lcdrbetty said...
Love this dress. Why don't you trim the hem where you want it and leave the edge raw, ala Marcy Tilton style?
8/22/11 8:59 AM
Phillis2 said...
I've been reading all the reviews on V1234 'cause I just purchased it after being afraid of the way it looked. I must say it looks good on you. I thought your review was very helpful and being 6' it looks like I won't have to worry about this dress being too short. I agreee with another reviewer -- don't throw this dress out. It looks good and it's an unusual dress which makes it even more interesting.
5/31/12 8:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
Sassy Bag

Sassy Bag

Buy Now