Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8631 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 585 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:dillyo
photo
About dillyostar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/5/07
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/11 5:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabc said...
This dress looks very pretty on you - good job for persevering with the slippery fabric and new techniques!
8/18/11 5:45 AM
Scheryka said...
Very nice. I like the print, too. Charmeuse gives me pains, too. Even though I don't like to - I startch and iron it a bit just so it will 'behave" a little. I actually just made M6318 and had the same issue with the underarm. I made a simple "boobie band" for that problem until I make it again.
8/18/11 7:02 AM
Karen FP said...
Your dress turned out marvelously and looks fabulous on you. This is definitely not a muslin! The fabric is beautiful and congrats to you for sticking with it slippery though it may have been. Great job, enjoy wearing the dress!
8/18/11 7:47 AM
blessedtosew said...
This dress is beautiful!! The fabric is STUNNING!!
8/18/11 8:10 AM
Sunkissedjellybaby said...
The fabric is beautiful! I really enjoyed your review especially the bit about the french seams/english seams
8/18/11 9:05 AM
jmma said...
"Incidentally, I discovered that in French, French seams are called coutures anglaises, i.e. English seams." Funny! Also, thanks for the tip on the 'snip' fix with fusible backing, as I was pondering how to deal with the same mishap on a dress lining... Yours is a VERY pretty dress.
8/18/11 9:40 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
SewMy said...
Thanks for your review. I was planning on sewing this pattern (but with sleeves for fall) and your insights are helpful. Love the fabric.
8/18/11 10:42 AM
lespoe said...
Despite all the problems you encountered, your dress is beautiful and is so attractive on you. Well done!
8/18/11 11:57 AM
dillyo said...
Thanks everyone! (and Scheryka, "boobie band" made me giggle. I'm so mature...)
8/18/11 3:11 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Lovely! I made this pattern in a stiffer fabric and it was awful. Yours makes me want to try again.
8/18/11 3:15 PM
JTink said...
This is just beautiful.
8/18/11 6:48 PM
VivianZ said...
I love the pattern combined with the print on this fabric. it looks great. sorry the fabric itself was a pain, but it looks well worth it.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
crisford said...
Well your dress looks gorgeous in silk charmeuse, and the fit looks great, too.
8/19/11 12:11 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Very cute dress! Thanks for the detailed review.
8/19/11 5:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very distinctive and lovely.
8/19/11 5:27 PM
Travelling Seamstress said...
Love the fabric you chose!!
4/14/12 3:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Vogue Patterns 8488 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by FruGirl on 11/12/10
Read Review

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 4-8)

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2823
photo
Review by Lorri on 12/31/08
Read Review

Victory Ava Paper Pattern
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6931 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8924 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us