SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8631 (Misses' Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 587 times 
Reviewed by:dillyo
photo

 
 
About dillyostar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/5/07
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/11 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Travelling Seamstress said...
Love the fabric you chose!!
4/14/12 3:49 PM
Terri A said...
Very distinctive and lovely.
8/19/11 5:27 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very cute dress! Thanks for the detailed review.
8/19/11 5:10 PM
crisford said...
Well your dress looks gorgeous in silk charmeuse, and the fit looks great, too.
8/19/11 12:11 PM
VivianZ said...
I love the pattern combined with the print on this fabric. it looks great. sorry the fabric itself was a pain, but it looks well worth it.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
JTink said...
This is just beautiful.
8/18/11 6:48 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Lovely! I made this pattern in a stiffer fabric and it was awful. Yours makes me want to try again.
8/18/11 3:15 PM
dillyo said...
Thanks everyone! (and Scheryka, "boobie band" made me giggle. I'm so mature...)
8/18/11 3:11 PM
lespoe said...
Despite all the problems you encountered, your dress is beautiful and is so attractive on you. Well done!
8/18/11 11:57 AM
SewMy said...
Thanks for your review. I was planning on sewing this pattern (but with sleeves for fall) and your insights are helpful. Love the fabric.
8/18/11 10:42 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
jmma said...
"Incidentally, I discovered that in French, French seams are called coutures anglaises, i.e. English seams." Funny! Also, thanks for the tip on the 'snip' fix with fusible backing, as I was pondering how to deal with the same mishap on a dress lining... Yours is a VERY pretty dress.
8/18/11 9:40 AM
Sunkissedjellybaby said...
The fabric is beautiful! I really enjoyed your review especially the bit about the french seams/english seams
8/18/11 9:05 AM
blessedtosew said...
This dress is beautiful!! The fabric is STUNNING!!
8/18/11 8:10 AM
Karen FP said...
Your dress turned out marvelously and looks fabulous on you. This is definitely not a muslin! The fabric is beautiful and congrats to you for sticking with it slippery though it may have been. Great job, enjoy wearing the dress!
8/18/11 7:47 AM
Scheryka said...
Very nice. I like the print, too. Charmeuse gives me pains, too. Even though I don't like to - I startch and iron it a bit just so it will 'behave" a little. I actually just made M6318 and had the same issue with the underarm. I made a simple "boobie band" for that problem until I make it again.
8/18/11 7:02 AM
gabc said...
This dress looks very pretty on you - good job for persevering with the slippery fabric and new techniques!
8/18/11 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Folkwear 219

photo
by: LBH2010

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Islander Sewing Systems Motor City Express

Buy Now