SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8631 (Misses' Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 587 times 
Reviewed by:dillyo
photo

 
 
About dillyostar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 4/5/07
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/18/11 5:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabc said...
This dress looks very pretty on you - good job for persevering with the slippery fabric and new techniques!
8/18/11 5:45 AM
Scheryka said...
Very nice. I like the print, too. Charmeuse gives me pains, too. Even though I don't like to - I startch and iron it a bit just so it will 'behave" a little. I actually just made M6318 and had the same issue with the underarm. I made a simple "boobie band" for that problem until I make it again.
8/18/11 7:02 AM
Karen FP said...
Your dress turned out marvelously and looks fabulous on you. This is definitely not a muslin! The fabric is beautiful and congrats to you for sticking with it slippery though it may have been. Great job, enjoy wearing the dress!
8/18/11 7:47 AM
blessedtosew said...
This dress is beautiful!! The fabric is STUNNING!!
8/18/11 8:10 AM
Sunkissedjellybaby said...
The fabric is beautiful! I really enjoyed your review especially the bit about the french seams/english seams
8/18/11 9:05 AM
jmma said...
"Incidentally, I discovered that in French, French seams are called coutures anglaises, i.e. English seams." Funny! Also, thanks for the tip on the 'snip' fix with fusible backing, as I was pondering how to deal with the same mishap on a dress lining... Yours is a VERY pretty dress.
8/18/11 9:40 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth hanging in there. Your dress is beautiful. Great job!
8/18/11 10:18 AM
SewMy said...
Thanks for your review. I was planning on sewing this pattern (but with sleeves for fall) and your insights are helpful. Love the fabric.
8/18/11 10:42 AM
lespoe said...
Despite all the problems you encountered, your dress is beautiful and is so attractive on you. Well done!
8/18/11 11:57 AM
dillyo said...
Thanks everyone! (and Scheryka, "boobie band" made me giggle. I'm so mature...)
8/18/11 3:11 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Lovely! I made this pattern in a stiffer fabric and it was awful. Yours makes me want to try again.
8/18/11 3:15 PM
JTink said...
This is just beautiful.
8/18/11 6:48 PM
VivianZ said...
I love the pattern combined with the print on this fabric. it looks great. sorry the fabric itself was a pain, but it looks well worth it.
8/19/11 8:41 AM
crisford said...
Well your dress looks gorgeous in silk charmeuse, and the fit looks great, too.
8/19/11 12:11 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very cute dress! Thanks for the detailed review.
8/19/11 5:10 PM
Terri A said...
Very distinctive and lovely.
8/19/11 5:27 PM
Travelling Seamstress said...
Love the fabric you chose!!
4/14/12 3:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Colette Patterns Truffle

photo
by: Jasst282

Review