Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5302 (City Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2937 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/02 4:24 PM
Last Updated:9/27/03 8:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lisa, I love your idea of cap sleeves for this pattern. Thanks for the review.
7/12/02 8:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That neckline looks very nice on you.
8/6/02 4:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Catharine! It's just big enough to go over my head... I keep trying to get the larger photo to come up when you click on the link; it worked for other reviews but for some reason all I can get to come up here is the teeny one. Just click on the little one if you're like me and in denial about bifocals.... ;) The bigger one will come up.
8/6/02 4:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I changed the photo url to show your best resolution image.
8/6/02 4:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika. You're our web fairygodmother!
8/6/02 7:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Excellent review. I'd love to see the dress but I'm getting a message that states "image has expired".
8/9/02 0:49 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for alerting me to the problem, Stephaney; I think it's fixed now...
8/9/02 2:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, I really enjoyed reading your terrific review. Your dress is lovely and I think the cap sleeves are begging for me to copy them! Shameless I am. Thanks for the idea!
8/10/02 2:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Diane; copy away! I think, after reading the Loes Hinse thread on SW and Gigi's helpful fitting tips; I think next time I make this I'm going to raise the armseye a bit. In fact, I think I will just use the bodice portion and make a top to tweek the underarm. (Now who am I copying? :p )
8/11/02 0:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
A good review and a nice looking dress, the fabric is goodlooking too.
8/11/02 2:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mini said...
Lisa, the burgundy version turned out great-love that color too. I have seen dresses like this selling for big $ in some of the catalogs, and the fabrics are not that nice. I tried on one in thermal cotton from Eddie Bauer that was over $60.00 and looked like a sack! Here is an idea if you ever want to use the smaller neck opening. Some of the ready to wear versions have little button front plackets that go part way down the center front. There are also keyhole openings in front or back, finished with bound edges and tie closures sort of like the Textile Studio Marseilles Top. These can made with a facing too, like the Stretch and Sew Versatile Shell that you reviewed, although it is fussier to sew. Now that the fit is right, you can do so much with this pattern!
9/28/03 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
Oh, how lovely. Great color.
9/28/03 7:10 PM
Lisa Laree said...
You're right, Mini, this could be a great 'canvas' pattern for lots of different looks. I hadn't thought about adapting the neckline; those are really good ideas!
9/29/03 12:22 PM
NancyGT said...
Would you mind sharing a photo of the black City Dress that you made with this pattern?
10/23/05 8:29 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Um, I'm not quite sure about this; I've only made the blue dress and the burgundy dress from this and both those photos are in the album at the photo link. Where did the reference to the black dress come from? Maybe I goofed somewhere... ETA OH! Perhaps you've confused this with the Sewing Workshop Cityscapes Dress, which I also reviewed....
10/23/05 9:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Material Things 102
photo
Review by Anne Franc... on 3/26/06
Read Review

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2345 Misses'
photo
Review by PAMomof3 on 7/8/11
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Juliette's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 604 Pattern
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us