SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5302 (City Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 2939 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/11/02 4:24 PM
Last Updated:9/27/03 8:33 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Lisa, I love your idea of cap sleeves for this pattern. Thanks for the review.
7/12/02 8:55 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That neckline looks very nice on you.
8/6/02 4:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Catharine! It's just big enough to go over my head... I keep trying to get the larger photo to come up when you click on the link; it worked for other reviews but for some reason all I can get to come up here is the teeny one. Just click on the little one if you're like me and in denial about bifocals.... ;) The bigger one will come up.
8/6/02 4:11 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I changed the photo url to show your best resolution image.
8/6/02 4:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Deepika. You're our web fairygodmother!
8/6/02 7:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Excellent review. I'd love to see the dress but I'm getting a message that states "image has expired".
8/9/02 0:49 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for alerting me to the problem, Stephaney; I think it's fixed now...
8/9/02 2:48 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Lisa, I really enjoyed reading your terrific review. Your dress is lovely and I think the cap sleeves are begging for me to copy them! Shameless I am. Thanks for the idea!
8/10/02 2:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks, Diane; copy away! I think, after reading the Loes Hinse thread on SW and Gigi's helpful fitting tips; I think next time I make this I'm going to raise the armseye a bit. In fact, I think I will just use the bodice portion and make a top to tweek the underarm. (Now who am I copying? :p )
8/11/02 0:35 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
A good review and a nice looking dress, the fabric is goodlooking too.
8/11/02 2:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Mini said...
Lisa, the burgundy version turned out great-love that color too. I have seen dresses like this selling for big $ in some of the catalogs, and the fabrics are not that nice. I tried on one in thermal cotton from Eddie Bauer that was over $60.00 and looked like a sack! Here is an idea if you ever want to use the smaller neck opening. Some of the ready to wear versions have little button front plackets that go part way down the center front. There are also keyhole openings in front or back, finished with bound edges and tie closures sort of like the Textile Studio Marseilles Top. These can made with a facing too, like the Stretch and Sew Versatile Shell that you reviewed, although it is fussier to sew. Now that the fit is right, you can do so much with this pattern!
9/28/03 11:46 AM
AnneM said...
Oh, how lovely. Great color.
9/28/03 7:10 PM
Lisa Laree said...
You're right, Mini, this could be a great 'canvas' pattern for lots of different looks. I hadn't thought about adapting the neckline; those are really good ideas!
9/29/03 12:22 PM
NancyGT said...
Would you mind sharing a photo of the black City Dress that you made with this pattern?
10/23/05 8:29 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Um, I'm not quite sure about this; I've only made the blue dress and the burgundy dress from this and both those photos are in the album at the photo link. Where did the reference to the black dress come from? Maybe I goofed somewhere... ETA OH! Perhaps you've confused this with the Sewing Workshop Cityscapes Dress, which I also reviewed....
10/23/05 9:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2010-107

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 5145

photo
by: Julia Bobb...

Review