SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8717 (misses vest, jacket and pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 646 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 265
Favored by: 152 people
patterns reviewed: 254
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jenleeC said...
I like the jacket on you, particularly the pleated sleeves. The back zipper looks fine. Maybe you would be happier with the pants if the front pleats were not sewn down?
8/19/11 9:51 PM
sewtime said...
I love your outfit! !
8/19/11 11:17 PM
pdiddly said...
Its horrible when you spend so long making a complete outfit only to be unsure about it - I don't think it looks as bad as you think thanks for the review
8/20/11 4:31 AM
1SewSweet said...
Sorry, that's so unfortunate so much time was spent on something you're not totally happy with...I can definitely relate! (been there, done that!).
8/20/11 7:18 AM
Claverie said...
Actually, I think you're 'stylin' it.
8/20/11 7:20 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely outfit! But I hear you on the shortwaisted issue. Have you tried a no or far less contrasting color for the blouse? Think that would solve the visual conflict between your (mine too) long legs short torso build. Pants look fab!
8/20/11 7:25 AM
JoyceP said...
Thank you! I have this pattern and will definitely not abandon my muslin-makin' ways :-) BTW, I agree with jenleeC that the front pleats are the issue. They end at just the most inconvenient spot - otherwise the ensemble looks really good on you. Hope you can tweak it!!
8/20/11 9:47 AM
cleverkitty said...
I know what you mean about the high waisted pants, I made a pair and I'm done with that style, pleats don't look good on me. I can relate too...
8/20/11 10:11 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like the outfit and believe me, we can be our own worst critics!
8/20/11 10:52 AM
Terri A said...
You look better than you think:-)
8/21/11 0:09 AM
grey ann said...
Ditto comments re: the pleats. Try a white belt with that white top. It will lengthen your torso, or like Nancy said, less of a contrast color for the top.
8/21/11 3:14 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thank everyone.
8/26/11 12:34 PM
Gendun said...
Yes, it's a cute outfit. I have the pattern but wasn't keen on the jkt until I saw yours! As for the pants, don't give up on back zips - they make your derriere look cute! (hehe) As for the front, I agree there is something hinky with the pleats. The pants fit perfectly until you hit the them. Overall, however, it's totally cute!
2/18/13 0:25 AM
Babs313 said...
I made this jacket because I loved the styling. What a disappointment, though. I had the same flyaway effect in the back as pictured, but the entire jacket made with the correct size and cupsize that I always use was way off. I ended up giving it to someone who weighs about 40 lbs more than I do. She loves it.
9/9/13 11:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8705

photo
by: Willowwear...

Review