SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8717 (misses vest, jacket and pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 678 times 
Reviewed by:Mahogany Stylist
photo

 
 
About Mahogany Styliststarstarstarstar
IL USA
Member since: 6/26/07
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 158 people
patterns reviewed: 261
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/19/11 8:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Babs313 said...
I made this jacket because I loved the styling. What a disappointment, though. I had the same flyaway effect in the back as pictured, but the entire jacket made with the correct size and cupsize that I always use was way off. I ended up giving it to someone who weighs about 40 lbs more than I do. She loves it.
9/9/13 11:11 AM
Gendun said...
Yes, it's a cute outfit. I have the pattern but wasn't keen on the jkt until I saw yours! As for the pants, don't give up on back zips - they make your derriere look cute! (hehe) As for the front, I agree there is something hinky with the pleats. The pants fit perfectly until you hit the them. Overall, however, it's totally cute!
2/18/13 0:25 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Thank everyone.
8/26/11 12:34 PM
grey ann said...
Ditto comments re: the pleats. Try a white belt with that white top. It will lengthen your torso, or like Nancy said, less of a contrast color for the top.
8/21/11 3:14 PM
Terri A said...
You look better than you think:-)
8/21/11 0:09 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I really like the outfit and believe me, we can be our own worst critics!
8/20/11 10:52 AM
cleverkitty said...
I know what you mean about the high waisted pants, I made a pair and I'm done with that style, pleats don't look good on me. I can relate too...
8/20/11 10:11 AM
JoyceP said...
Thank you! I have this pattern and will definitely not abandon my muslin-makin' ways :-) BTW, I agree with jenleeC that the front pleats are the issue. They end at just the most inconvenient spot - otherwise the ensemble looks really good on you. Hope you can tweak it!!
8/20/11 9:47 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Lovely outfit! But I hear you on the shortwaisted issue. Have you tried a no or far less contrasting color for the blouse? Think that would solve the visual conflict between your (mine too) long legs short torso build. Pants look fab!
8/20/11 7:25 AM
Claverie said...
Actually, I think you're 'stylin' it.
8/20/11 7:20 AM
1SewSweet said...
Sorry, that's so unfortunate so much time was spent on something you're not totally happy with...I can definitely relate! (been there, done that!).
8/20/11 7:18 AM
pdiddly said...
Its horrible when you spend so long making a complete outfit only to be unsure about it - I don't think it looks as bad as you think thanks for the review
8/20/11 4:31 AM
sewtime said...
I love your outfit! !
8/19/11 11:17 PM
jenleeC said...
I like the jacket on you, particularly the pleated sleeves. The back zipper looks fine. Maybe you would be happier with the pants if the front pleats were not sewn down?
8/19/11 9:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
No Pattern Used 000

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now