Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1248 (AKO Misses' Top and Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 461 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Marge99
photo
About Marge99star
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 4/8/10
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 36
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/11 6:45 AM
Last Updated:8/20/11 6:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
prttynpnk said...
I love this- love the sock puppets!
8/20/11 7:17 AM
a life in stitches said...
I think you've created an amazing skirt, and I enjoyed the humour of your review. Can I give you a quote from Barbara Burman's 'Pockets of History': 'In 1777, Jane Griffiths, a woman known locally for 'having a bad character', was... accused by Thomas Wainwright of stealing two live ducks. She had tried to hide them in her pockets and escape across the fields'. More info. on www.vads.ahds.ac.uk/collections/pocketsofhistory.html.
8/20/11 7:27 AM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous skirt, and thanks for a delightful review.
8/20/11 7:32 AM
Wino said...
Love your review. never would have considered this pattern, but looks like a fun and interesting design. Thank you for pointing out the potential sizing issues.
8/20/11 7:59 AM
jenleeC said...
What a fantastic skirt! I have just read through your blog and love the garments you have made...they are all the patterns I covet but have not been brave enough to make up. I am petite and would get lost in all the fabric but I still adore the designs. I even have V1476 in the stash!
8/20/11 7:59 AM
sfshaza said...
Superb!
8/20/11 10:27 AM
mad stash said...
Wow - thanks for the notice about the sizes on the skirt AND top! I think your skirt looks better than the pattern model. The length, fabric type and print work fantabulously. Sock puppets are cute too. :)
8/20/11 10:34 AM
Marge99 said...
Poor Jane Griffiths - if only she had a skirt like this one! I like the pockets on the website too.
8/20/11 11:46 AM
mmcp said...
Thank you so much for this--I have had this pattern on my desk for about a month, so really appreciate the review. I have the 4-10 package, will def. check the sizes there before I start to cut! On my copy, you sew the ctr back seam in para. 33--after you've installed the invisible zip, which is where I'd expect to find it.
8/20/11 2:50 PM
lesliez said...
I love your skirt. I think it looks great in the softer fabric and I like the longer length. Bravo!
8/21/11 0:36 AM
Carolyn.S said...
Oh, SO fabulous! I wish I had this pattern too (not in catalogue anymore sadly!), it is just gorgeous!!!
8/21/11 8:55 AM
Ebony mood said...
I looooove this skirt! I have this pattern too and am now excited to make it.
8/21/11 5:39 PM
Elke said...
Great looking skirt...it looks fabulous on you!
8/21/11 8:12 PM
Batik said...
Your fabric makes this skirt! I think it looks a bit steampunk.
8/22/11 11:56 PM
NJcowgirl said...
It looks fabulous. You did a wonderful job. I have this pattern so I really appreciate your comments about the sizing! Thanks.
8/23/11 5:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Loes Hinse Designs 5302 City Dress
photo
Review by Diane E on 3/11/02
Read Review

You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl SEWING CLASS 1 - Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Gathered Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver   S Fairy Tale Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2255 misses tops
photo
Review by Lorenna on 5/11/13
Read Review

McCalls 6840 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6840 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1688 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us