Online Sewing Class: Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Simplicity 2258
In this video, you learn how to:
  • Use some of the basic tools
  • Choose fabric
  • Use patterns
  • Measure yourself for patterns
  • Trace and cut out the pattern
  • Lay out and cut out the pattern from fabric
  • Stitch together and press your skirt
You'll also learn about sewing machine features and pattern language and symbols.

Let Deepika demystify the process of sewing for you! Take this class!

Complete List of Videos

  1. Introduction and Tools
  2. Fabric Types
  3. What the Information on the Pattern Envelope Means
  4. Types of Patterns and What the Markings Mean
  5. Taking Body Measurements
  6. Tracing the Patterns and Understanding Markings
  7. Preparing the Fabric, Laying Out the Pattern Pieces, and Cutting Out the Fabric
  8. Getting to Know your Sewing Machine
  9. Sewing the Skirt
">Sewing Basics Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2011-105 (Drapey Chiffon Top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 445 times 
Reviewed by:aliesje
photo

 
 
About aliesjestar
CANADA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/20/11 7:46 PM
Last Updated:8/20/11 7:54 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mikgirl said... (12/12/11 11:32 PM) Reply
I'm starting to make this top (just cut the fabric)... Thank you for the tip on shoulder seams!
SewWil said... (8/23/11 2:15 PM) Reply
Very pretty top! Thanks for the detailed review.
Aroura said... (8/22/11 1:21 AM) Reply
This is such a pretty top!! I can hardly believe it is a muslin. I've never used a Burda pattern, but now I've got one on my list to try, thanks!
lamstu said... (8/21/11 10:13 PM) Reply
Just added this to my list, then saw your review. Great top, hope to see your 'real' one later.
Claverie said... (8/21/11 4:26 PM) Reply
Thanks for alerting me to this pattern. Your top is lovely! And as the others remarked, very helpful review.
girlinthesea said... (8/21/11 3:16 PM) Reply
Brilliant review-really helpful! I've been eyeing this pattern up, and seeing how stunning yours worked out is a good recommendation!
ChristineX said... (8/21/11 12:01 PM) Reply
Great choice of fabric!
becca a said... (8/21/11 10:23 AM) Reply
Very pretty muslin! Thanks for the helpful tips in the review.
Tina Lou said... (8/20/11 9:52 PM) Reply
Great review! I think your choice of pattern works really well with the design of the top too!
Amanda.Claire said... (8/20/11 8:38 PM) Reply
Your top is really pretty! I like your rolled hem contrast. The review is also very helpful, which is much appreciated for the BurdaStyle patterns.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

HotPatterns 1173

photo
by: SemJo

Review
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details