SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5490 (Misses' Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 395 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews written: 97
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 97
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 1:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
aliesje said...
what a bummer that the dress (which i've made and love) doesn't work well in plus sizes; according to a plus size designer friend of mine, it's true that you can't just grade up indefinitely, and that plus size clothes simply need different slopers. Esp in the bodice. It does look like it'll make a really nice skirt - I like the print!
8/21/11 2:29 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
I'm find this problem with RTW tops and even bras -- plus size people aren't necessarily wider! Straps and necklines are often too wide, when we need... thickness? I don't often sew tops for myself, but if I do, thanks for the heads-up on this issue.
8/21/11 3:05 PM
Kayseri said...
Shame this didn't work, its lovely fabric.
8/21/11 7:30 PM
Riesie said...
Sorry it didn't work - it kind of has that retro vibe that you like. It will make a lovely skirt, though. If you do salvage it, be sure to update the review - I'd love to see it.
8/21/11 10:20 PM
crazygrad said...
Thanks for the broad shoulders comment. I have VERY broad shoulders so this pattern may warrant a look.
8/29/11 10:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

J Stern Designs Khaki Pants Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Beret Pattern

Buy Now