SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5490 (Misses' Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 400 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews: 97 (patterns: 97)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 59 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 1:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said... (8/29/11 10:36 AM) Reply
Thanks for the broad shoulders comment. I have VERY broad shoulders so this pattern may warrant a look.
Riesie said... (8/21/11 10:20 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work - it kind of has that retro vibe that you like. It will make a lovely skirt, though. If you do salvage it, be sure to update the review - I'd love to see it.
Kayseri said... (8/21/11 7:30 PM) Reply
Shame this didn't work, its lovely fabric.
Gail in Western WA said... (8/21/11 3:05 PM) Reply
I'm find this problem with RTW tops and even bras -- plus size people aren't necessarily wider! Straps and necklines are often too wide, when we need... thickness? I don't often sew tops for myself, but if I do, thanks for the heads-up on this issue.
aliesje said... (8/21/11 2:29 PM) Reply
what a bummer that the dress (which i've made and love) doesn't work well in plus sizes; according to a plus size designer friend of mine, it's true that you can't just grade up indefinitely, and that plus size clothes simply need different slopers. Esp in the bodice. It does look like it'll make a really nice skirt - I like the print!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Cape D Elegance Paper Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Cape D Elegance Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

SewBaby Petal Dress Pattern

Pattern Details