Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5490 (Misses' Dress)

9 more reviews
Viewed 400 times 
Reviewed by:Andreahg
photo

 
 
About Andreahgstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 12/19/05
Reviews: 97 (patterns: 97)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/11 1:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said... (8/29/11 10:36 AM) Reply
Thanks for the broad shoulders comment. I have VERY broad shoulders so this pattern may warrant a look.
Riesie said... (8/21/11 10:20 PM) Reply
Sorry it didn't work - it kind of has that retro vibe that you like. It will make a lovely skirt, though. If you do salvage it, be sure to update the review - I'd love to see it.
Kayseri said... (8/21/11 7:30 PM) Reply
Shame this didn't work, its lovely fabric.
Gail in Western WA said... (8/21/11 3:05 PM) Reply
I'm find this problem with RTW tops and even bras -- plus size people aren't necessarily wider! Straps and necklines are often too wide, when we need... thickness? I don't often sew tops for myself, but if I do, thanks for the heads-up on this issue.
aliesje said... (8/21/11 2:29 PM) Reply
what a bummer that the dress (which i've made and love) doesn't work well in plus sizes; according to a plus size designer friend of mine, it's true that you can't just grade up indefinitely, and that plus size clothes simply need different slopers. Esp in the bodice. It does look like it'll make a really nice skirt - I like the print!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-126

photo
by: Julietta82

Review
Butterick 5551

photo
by: spot8410

Review
Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Katy Bags Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Pattern Details