Online Sewing Class: Understanding Wool Fabrics
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2011-29 (No Kung Fu outerwear pants)

Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest
Viewed 120 times 
Reviewed by:J Wo
photo

 
 
About J Wostar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/5/06
Reviews: 13 (patterns: 13)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/11 6:14 AM
Last Updated:8/23/11 6:37 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Boho Banjo art to wear


pdf sewing patterns
Web site

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
J Wo said... (9/14/11 7:25 AM) Reply
Silknmore, the snaps were purchased Online from The Snap Source. They have a fantastic range and seem very reasonably priced. Gail in Western WA, the elastic was an inch wide - nothing special. The boy did not want adjustable buttonhole elastic so I had to secure the ends with topstitching and decided to add the other topstitched rows for decoration and to hold the elastic a little more firmly in place
Silknmore said... (9/13/11 2:20 PM) Reply
You did a great job on these pants - impeccable top stitching. Could I ask what type of snaps you used for the pockets and where you purchased them?
kiwilass said... (9/12/11 0:30 AM) Reply
I can only agree with Nancy; the finish and that topstitiching and are very professional. Great job!
Gail in Western WA said... (8/23/11 3:22 PM) Reply
Clever with the freezer paper! I think cargo pockets are so much fun to do. Great job! What elastic did you use in the waistband?
J Wo said... (8/23/11 2:21 PM) Reply
Thank you for the comments! Nancy, my colleague and his son were delighted with the pants! For the topstitching I used my edge stitch and 1/4" feet (it's a little tedious swapping them over all the time but produces a really nice finish) and I used a topstitching thread. For the back pocket topstitching, I ironed a freezer paper outline onto my material and simply stitched around the outside
M.S. said... (8/23/11 9:58 AM) Reply
Great pants! Ottobre pants are the best. Fussy and time consuming, but worth every minute as the results look RTW! I like to make their boy pants for my little girl sometimes......in girly colors of course. It appears you're quite experienced with a sewing machine!
Amanda.Claire said... (8/23/11 7:51 AM) Reply
These are so professionally done! Beautiful work!!
Nancy Rhodes said... (8/23/11 7:04 AM) Reply
Did the boy love them? I am paticularly impressed with the perfection of you top stitching & how pro' your waistband elastic looks. Any tips for us on how you got that stitchin To look so sharp?
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2980

photo
by: moonshae

Review
Deer&Doe Blouse Datura

photo
by: carrie1858...

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pamela's Patterns Softly Pleated Dress Pattern

Pattern Details