SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Design Magazine> 01-2011-29 (No Kung Fu outerwear pants)

Review submitted in Sewing For Children Contest
Viewed 120 times 
Reviewed by:J Wo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About J Wostar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 6/5/06
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/23/11 6:14 AM
Last Updated:8/23/11 6:37 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Did the boy love them? I am paticularly impressed with the perfection of you top stitching & how pro' your waistband elastic looks. Any tips for us on how you got that stitchin To look so sharp?
8/23/11 7:04 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
These are so professionally done! Beautiful work!!
8/23/11 7:51 AM
M.S. said...
Great pants! Ottobre pants are the best. Fussy and time consuming, but worth every minute as the results look RTW! I like to make their boy pants for my little girl sometimes......in girly colors of course. It appears you're quite experienced with a sewing machine!
8/23/11 9:58 AM
J Wo said...
Thank you for the comments! Nancy, my colleague and his son were delighted with the pants! For the topstitching I used my edge stitch and 1/4" feet (it's a little tedious swapping them over all the time but produces a really nice finish) and I used a topstitching thread. For the back pocket topstitching, I ironed a freezer paper outline onto my material and simply stitched around the outside
8/23/11 2:21 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
Clever with the freezer paper! I think cargo pockets are so much fun to do. Great job! What elastic did you use in the waistband?
8/23/11 3:22 PM
kiwilass said...
I can only agree with Nancy; the finish and that topstitiching and are very professional. Great job!
9/12/11 0:30 AM
Silknmore said...
You did a great job on these pants - impeccable top stitching. Could I ask what type of snaps you used for the pockets and where you purchased them?
9/13/11 2:20 PM
J Wo said...
Silknmore, the snaps were purchased Online from The Snap Source. They have a fantastic range and seem very reasonably priced. Gail in Western WA, the elastic was an inch wide - nothing special. The boy did not want adjustable buttonhole elastic so I had to secure the ends with topstitching and decided to add the other topstitched rows for decoration and to hold the elastic a little more firmly in place
9/14/11 7:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now