SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Japanese Pattern Books> Simple chic 8 (Blouse)

Viewed 278 times 
Reviewed by:TracyTheMaterialGirl
photo

 
 
About TracyTheMaterialGirlstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 11/20/09
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/24/11 8:45 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
This is a good reminder for us all. It's always tempting to just right into something that just feels right. I hope you will make another perhaps in pre-washed fabric. It looks like it will be a great top on you.
8/25/11 10:40 AM
becca a said...
How terribly disappointing to have your fabric melt in the wash. Your top is a lovely shape and I'm sure you'll have better results in better fabric.
8/25/11 9:06 AM
FreyaStark said...
I think you have to be very wary of vintage fabrics as they might well be worn or weakened, and I don't think you can trust non-mainstream vendors (I can't think of a better term) completely. Fabric I've bought from discount vendors has turned out to have uneven wear patches, suggesting great age, or has ripped when touched, suggesting either age or perhaps being faulty. Better luck next time. The pattern is worth persisting with if you basically like it.
8/25/11 2:33 AM
mm said...
What a shame. I hope you make it again and better luck next time.
8/24/11 9:08 PM
Elona said...
Aw, rats! It is indeed a cute little top, and what a pity to have it partly dissolve in the wash. You know, based on long years of experience, I do not fully trust ANY vendor to have labelled things perfectly accurately, so I simply wash and dry every piece of fabric that comes into the house. No surprises there--not any more!
8/24/11 12:15 PM
a life in stitches said...
What a shame, and what a hard way to learn how careful you have to be when buying vintage fabric to sew with. I do hope you make up the pattern again in a new fabric, the design has such a nice simplicity. You would hope sellers at fairs would identify fabrics and tell you whether they have trial washed them.
8/24/11 10:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Burda 7447

photo
by: Lori V

Review
You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

You Sew Girl Large Tote and Satchel Pattern

More Info
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

More Info