Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7742 (Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 489 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:MNBarb
photo
Friend of PR
About MNBarbstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 4/3/10
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 127
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/27/11 7:22 PM
Last Updated:10/7/12 5:05 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy1955 said...
I think the vest looks great. Your certainly have the body for leggings. But I think the outfit might look more complete with a light airy skirt. Just my opinion but usually with leggings I think a longer top looks more in proportion.
8/27/11 8:51 PM
sewing for fun said...
I think it's a strictly a matter of personal comfort. The outfit looks great on you and the belt is a nice and flattering accent. I think I personally would feel kind of naked (even with your figure), BUT I strongly believe people should wear the clothes they feel comfortable in, both physically and socially - so I would ask if you will feel at ease in both senses on your trip. If this type of outfit is really you, then wear it and be proud and happy and comfortable in it as a statement of your own unique personal style!!!
8/27/11 10:31 PM
AndreaSews said...
The vest looks good on you, and I like how you have it styled with the scarf and belt. I agree with Nancy - you are in great shape to be able to wear leggings. I think a longer, flowing skirt over the leggings would dress it up, while still giving you the support of the leggings. I typically use support hose when I travel, even under slacks, and I know how much it helps to have the support. I say wear what feels and looks good to you. And have fun in France!
8/27/11 10:39 PM
marec said...
Great review-I think you look so fit and stylish in this vest and leggings. Here is my opinion on leggings: they belong in a gym, or dance class, or as breeches. I do not like the look by themselves. I love them with a light skirt floating over them. Have a great trip Barb!
8/27/11 10:56 PM
Terri A said...
Wow! You look sporty and cool:-)
8/28/11 0:14 AM
Annette1 said...
Super cute little vest, particularly with your change to the neckline AND that fabric. I was trying to figure out what it was, as it has almost a crepey look. Beautiful color on you, too! So here's my HONEST OPINION on your leggings: I think you and your leggings should stay home, and I'll go to France in your place -- ha-ha! Actually, just my personal opinion, I think about 80 percent of the people who wear leggings don't look all that hot in them, MYSELF INCLUDED :o)) (although THICK leggings may have better odds), but you haven't got an OUNCE of fat on you, and you have a PERFECT figure, GREAT legs, so I say if you like leggings, wear them! You're NOT too old or too anything else. :o) I liken it to having breast cancer, getting through all THAT and deciding, you know what, I've got big boobs, and I'm not going worry about HIDING that fact anymore. I'm just happy to have them, and I'm going to wear whatever the heck I want to. How's that for an analogy? It makes sense in my feeble mind anyway, somewhat akin to the "if you've got it, flaunt it" theory, and you've definitely GOT IT in the leggings department. :o) I've seen recently in some of the magazines where they're wearing short shorts, in a somewhat tailored style, you know (usually pleated and cuffed, now that I think about it) over tights, and that's really a cute look, too. Not sure if it would look the same over leggings, but it might be another option to add to the wardrobe (albeit an unnecessary piece). Have fun in France! (Your husband's car kind of reminds me of ours. A friend of mine plays violin beautifully, and I told her, "Your violin is worth more than my CAR" -- and it is.)
8/28/11 1:29 AM
Annette1 said...
Geez. Sorry I wrote so MUCH. I guess I got carried away.
8/28/11 1:30 AM
rivergum said...
That is a great looking vest and I love the way you finished it. Like everyone else said, you have the body to pull off the leggins. However, to be really honest, if it was me I would feel comfortable in the US, but not in Europe. But then again, what do I know? Take the leggins, take something to go over the top, look at what everyone else is wearing in France and make a decision then. How about city shorts over the leggins?
8/28/11 4:25 AM
MNBarb said...
Wow! Thanks guys, really good information so far. I love the IDEA of a skirt but, honestly, I don't have a skirt figure. Picture your husband or boyfriend in a skirt if you want a visual. I need this little group to hit the shops with me!
8/28/11 8:26 AM
rutaliet said...
My opinion is that only your opinion matters. Wear what you love!
8/28/11 8:40 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This looks fantastic on you -- great idea for a vest! (On me this wouldn't work, but it works perfectly on you! ....This top seems just right for someone long and lean.)
8/28/11 11:25 AM
Sue Parrott said...
I think your vest is adorable and your body type is great for leggings. I wouldn't be able to pull them off so if you are comfortable, go for it! :)
8/28/11 1:11 PM
margk said...
Great vest, gorgeous colour! Good call on the snap tape. : )
8/28/11 6:12 PM
Baba Yaga said...
I travel a bit in Europe and the tunic-with-leggings look is seen on women of all ages... although Paris may be an exception? I do note that, should you decide you want more clothes, what a grand reason to do a little Paris shopping! Have you thought of writing to Marcy Tilton? She knows Paris well and has a kind heart for Pattern Reviewers!
10/7/12 5:14 PM
persevering said...
Sure wear your leggings, the weather is going to be cool enough that you'll have another layer of outerwear of some kind when you are outdoors. I strongly suggest you take/buy at least one long thin scarf to knot/tie/drape that accessorizes everything. Otherwise, you might feel a bit bare though. You aren't going corporate are you? it is a holiday, and you certainly have the figure for leggings, regardless of length on top. One does not do cookie-cutter, copy-cat clothes in France, originality and confidence in personal style, and age is not an issue, it is having the panache to dress as suits you. At least that is my opinion. (I was in Spain a few months back and the super tight 'pants' on women, even with short tops, dominated everyone. If fact you could guess the women in regular straight or looser pants, as a tourist from Britain, Germany, or U.S. Most European women tourists were wearing super tight waist down ... sorry, I couldn't make out many locals, we visited the tourist sites in several cities.) Please note: corporate is totally different.
10/7/12 11:31 PM
persevering said...
Sorry, wasn't clear, woman make a point of being original and having confidence in what suits them. I say go for it ... I've seen the clothes you've posted for quite some time and it seems to me that you have excellent sense of what looks good on you! And that is what matters, it is the whole look, the subtle colors, coverage, etc. it is how the ensemble works on you, not someone else.
10/7/12 11:37 PM
persevering said...
Also, I think you've got the right idea with the outfit posted ... perhaps a longer scarf/or untied to the bottom of the top for this outfit... however, if you are comfortable ... that is what matters.
10/7/12 11:42 PM
persevering said...
Remember also, if it is tight on the bottom, you need some looseness somewhere... see the picture of Burda's pattern... there is looseness at the shoulder area on the long top, which balances the total look. Tight and tight is not stylish, though great for workout wear. However, that is where the draped scarf works, especially if everything else is tight - balance is key. Okay, I'm done with my opinion.
10/7/12 11:46 PM
cleverkitty said...
I like your top a lot and the fact you extended the shoulders, I always thought a sleeveless turtleneck was an oxymoron but when you said you were going to wear under a sweater I like that idea, I don't know why I was thinking by it's self. France? and I thought you were going to the lake all those times this summer...LOL
10/8/12 10:49 AM
ArtAttack said...
Honey, if you're too old for leggings then I need a walker! You're adorable, wear them. Great top, too!
10/8/12 6:22 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like your sleeveless version! You look wonderful in this!
12/18/12 8:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Saf-T-Pockets 9600 Journey Jacket
photo
Review by Margaret on 12/6/02
Read Review

Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Coastal Cargoes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6044 MEN'S SHIRTS
photo
Review by margy.64 on 10/26/13
Read Review

Beginner Sewing Lab 101 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Beginner Sewing Lab 101  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $14.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5742 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5742 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6789 Pattern
New Look 6789 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us