Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5646 (Misses Tunic) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 577 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/29/11 1:31 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Doobee64 said...
Brilliant top that really suits you - and the first review of this pattern. We are just heading into our Spring/Summer season 'Down Under' so this will definitely be a winner in the 'cool to wear' category. Thanks for the review :)
8/29/11 2:03 AM
FreyaStark said...
A highly original and stylish top, just the thing for summer. I love the fabric!
8/29/11 2:55 AM
mm said...
What an interesting pattern. Your version looks lovely.
8/29/11 5:37 AM
prttynpnk said...
I'm so glad you gave such a thorough review of this- it's lovely and I'd been hoping to see it. Great fabric choice,too!
8/29/11 6:48 AM
Rebecca D said...
Quite groovy.
8/29/11 6:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
ok I'm sold now - this is great on you!
8/29/11 8:44 AM
kkkkaty said...
Poor view A..... but view c is great, and now this pattern is on my list! As always, love your top...
8/29/11 9:29 AM
marec said...
This top is just made for you. and your color choices are lovely. The fabric (1988!) is wonderful.
8/29/11 10:28 AM
DorothyK said...
This pattern is a nice variation of the tunic style. I like the way it looks on you. Given your interest in pockets lately, I won't be surprised if you make View B at some point. I think View D is interesting also. I never would have noticed this pattern if you hadn't brought it to my intention. Glad to see some of that stash being used :-)
8/29/11 10:32 AM
Patti B said...
Great tunic! I've had my eye on this pattern and will have to put it on the list now.
8/29/11 10:52 AM
Barbara V said...
Your tunic turned out beautifully! So pretty in that 1988 cotton embroidered piece. How many more pretty purples do you have stashed away? I too have this pattern and look forward to trying one of the views. Great job!
8/29/11 11:30 AM
Lynngray said...
Looks very nice on you. Thanks
8/29/11 11:35 AM
SewWil said...
Lovely top. Great fabric choice for this pattern.
8/29/11 3:39 PM
whistlin dixie said...
I can always count on you to make and review a funky style with asymmetry. A very cool tunic that looks terrific on you!
8/29/11 7:38 PM
VivianZ said...
I like this top, esp in this fabric. I tend to avoid asymmetric hems, but I might have to try this one.
8/30/11 8:06 AM
Beachcomber said...
This looks very nice on you and looks well sewn.
8/31/11 1:57 PM
annelouise said...
What a great top, I'm also heading into spring/summer & tropical at that so this one will defiately be a winner. I love the colour of your cotton and have something similar in my stash.
9/2/11 0:58 AM
sfshaza said...
Oh! You've posted some reviews lately that I managed to miss until now. I LOVE LOVE this top on you. I love how you've styled it with the chartreuse capris. Question - the dart almost appears to be part of the pleats. Is that possible? Anyway, I've been thinking of making this for myself, but I don't know if it will look nearly as good on me.
9/7/11 3:17 AM
Sar sews said...
I'm so glad I came back for another look at this review...that front band process had me wondering and as I was sewing BOTH bits together in the final run, thought I would have another look!! The light bulb came on when you mentioned the word 'flap'!! Out with the undoer implement! Love your colour combo.
11/26/11 11:37 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very cool top, I love it with your lime pants.
12/27/11 2:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Burda 7517 DRESS
photo
Review by birdmcfarl... on 3/16/10
Read Review

Burda 9493 Pattern
Burda 9493 Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1558 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2009-23 Bert Shorts
photo
Review by lara900 on 8/20/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Jump Rope Dress Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us