SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 644 times 
Reviewed by:rmusic1
photo

 
 
About rmusic1starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/3/10
Reviews written: 102
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/11 1:53 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LDT2011 said...
Great Review. I'm making mine for the Jane Austen Festival in Bath next year...but am wondering how to make it adaptable enough to wear as a normal summer dress afterwards. Got some floral print 'poplin' and ribbon.
11/29/11 5:55 AM
SuvyGrrrl said...
That dress is amazing!! I would never have thought to put a lighter-colored chiffon overlay on darker fabric -- it gives it a kind of iridescence. Also, I *love* your description and review!! :)
10/17/11 3:27 AM
JenniferMM said...
This is such a lovely dress! You've done a beautiful job! I've often considered making this one myself as I completely agree with your introduction. When you find a tea party or such to attend, please share pictures!
9/18/11 11:19 AM
LuceLu said...
Lovely gown. There are frequent events for this kind of thing and I think as you look and get in contact with people who enjoy reenactments, Victorian tea parties, etc. they will come out of the woodwork -- you will be pleasantly surprised. Now you need gloves and if going out, probably a hat/bonnet and a jacket. I think Butterick has a lovely period jacket pattern.
9/17/11 8:51 AM
jannw said...
very nice! and your photo background is perfect..Is there a Jane Austen Society near you? Perfect for that!!
9/16/11 9:31 PM
EleanorSews said...
unfinishedprojects stated is to perfection! Indeed, your dress is quite amiable and does show your figure to great advantage. Your review illustrates a work of love.
9/16/11 4:13 PM
EleanorSews said...
unfinishedprojects stated is to perfection! Indeed, your dress is quite amiable and does show your figure to great advantage. Your review illustrates a work of love.
9/16/11 4:13 PM
marjoriekh said...
You have done a lovely job on this. I like your change to the front bodice. It's so satisfying to make 'mistakes' that work out to your advantage, and make something unique to you, as well. The low contrast of your two fabrics works beautifully with your coloring. Perhaps a side trip to Pemberley is in order?
9/16/11 3:09 PM
kremmer said...
Nice Jane Austen intro! And the dress will be lovely too!
9/10/11 11:04 PM
rozzybabe said...
You've done a great job, & we'll look forward to seeing the finished pic. Having an even feed foot for your machine will alleviate most nightmares of sewing with lightweight or slippery fabrics! Well worth a small investment. Congratulations on perservering.
9/10/11 2:18 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Your dress is perfectly amiable! I do not doubt that your figure will appear to the greatest advantage should you chuse to take a turn about the room.
9/10/11 10:06 AM
LorrieAnn said...
Love your pattern description, and can't wait to see the finished dress!
9/3/11 8:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Simplicity 7030

photo
by: Cation Des...

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

More Info
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

More Info