SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4055 

27 more reviews
Viewed 649 times 
Reviewed by:rmusic1
photo

 
 
About rmusic1starstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 7/3/10
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/11 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LDT2011 said... (11/29/11 5:55 AM) Reply
Great Review. I'm making mine for the Jane Austen Festival in Bath next year...but am wondering how to make it adaptable enough to wear as a normal summer dress afterwards. Got some floral print 'poplin' and ribbon.
SuvyGrrrl said... (10/17/11 3:27 AM) Reply
That dress is amazing!! I would never have thought to put a lighter-colored chiffon overlay on darker fabric -- it gives it a kind of iridescence. Also, I *love* your description and review!! :)
JenniferMM said... (9/18/11 11:19 AM) Reply
This is such a lovely dress! You've done a beautiful job! I've often considered making this one myself as I completely agree with your introduction. When you find a tea party or such to attend, please share pictures!
LuceLu said... (9/17/11 8:51 AM) Reply
Lovely gown. There are frequent events for this kind of thing and I think as you look and get in contact with people who enjoy reenactments, Victorian tea parties, etc. they will come out of the woodwork -- you will be pleasantly surprised. Now you need gloves and if going out, probably a hat/bonnet and a jacket. I think Butterick has a lovely period jacket pattern.
jannw said... (9/16/11 9:31 PM) Reply
very nice! and your photo background is perfect..Is there a Jane Austen Society near you? Perfect for that!!
EleanorSews said... (9/16/11 4:13 PM) Reply
unfinishedprojects stated is to perfection! Indeed, your dress is quite amiable and does show your figure to great advantage. Your review illustrates a work of love.
EleanorSews said... (9/16/11 4:13 PM) Reply
unfinishedprojects stated is to perfection! Indeed, your dress is quite amiable and does show your figure to great advantage. Your review illustrates a work of love.
marjoriekh said... (9/16/11 3:09 PM) Reply
You have done a lovely job on this. I like your change to the front bodice. It's so satisfying to make 'mistakes' that work out to your advantage, and make something unique to you, as well. The low contrast of your two fabrics works beautifully with your coloring. Perhaps a side trip to Pemberley is in order?
kremmer said... (9/10/11 11:04 PM) Reply
Nice Jane Austen intro! And the dress will be lovely too!
rozzybabe said... (9/10/11 2:18 PM) Reply
You've done a great job, & we'll look forward to seeing the finished pic. Having an even feed foot for your machine will alleviate most nightmares of sewing with lightweight or slippery fabrics! Well worth a small investment. Congratulations on perservering.
unfinishedprojects said... (9/10/11 10:06 AM) Reply
Your dress is perfectly amiable! I do not doubt that your figure will appear to the greatest advantage should you chuse to take a turn about the room.
LorrieAnn said... (9/3/11 8:39 PM) Reply
Love your pattern description, and can't wait to see the finished dress!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Simplicity 2473

photo
by: SewWil

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2010-115

photo
by: yoshimi

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Favorite Things The Frayed Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details