SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1208 (Tom & Linda Platt bias dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1249 times 
Reviewed by:jenleeC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jenleeCstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/4/11
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 28
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/11 0:07 AM
Last Updated:9/12/11 10:22 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
39 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Flying Seamstress said...
Simply fabulous dress, suits you perfectly! Love the PJ shorts too.
9/12/11 0:14 AM
Vonnevo said...
Totally Fabulous !!! Thanks so much for your VH review :)
9/12/11 0:37 AM
mm said...
Great fit and lovely dress.
9/12/11 1:28 AM
Aroura said...
This is so pretty! A very wearable "muslin" The fabric is SO great. I hope your silk dress turns out just as well or better.
9/12/11 1:52 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! Thanks for making this pattern. I'm Petite too and a 10 or 12 in Big 4 patterns so I think I'm going to do like you and cut out the 8. I vote for more shaping at the waist, btw. Can't wait for the silk version but this one is a winner...for a calico!
9/12/11 9:26 AM
kkkkaty said...
gosh, so pretty!
9/12/11 10:36 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm so casual that I like the PJ shorts as well as the dress. This is such beautiful fabric and perfectly matched pattern for it. Your bow looks professionally done. I think it stands alone without waist shaping.
9/12/11 11:26 AM
Camerio said...
Beautiful dress in a very nice print.
9/12/11 7:28 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Absoutely adorable! How cute and I agree that your fabric is perfect for the dress!
9/12/11 10:28 PM
JanineMck said...
drop dead gorgeous . Will there be a pair of PJs pants in emerald silk as well ??
9/12/11 11:26 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the fabric for your toile.
9/13/11 0:21 AM
Christas said...
Gorgeous dress! Can't wait to see the emerald green one. This one turned out so nice.
9/13/11 0:31 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love it too. I don't think it needs any more shaping, looks great as is.
9/13/11 1:58 AM
Renren said...
Perfect. Love the fabric. Love the dress. Will be watching for the next one.
9/13/11 2:34 AM
margk said...
What a fabulous review and gorgeous dress! I agree about the hem. It could be nice with more waist shaping, but doesn't NEEd it. Love the shorts too : )
9/13/11 4:17 AM
zuzu_petal said...
Fantastic review. Your ironing assistant looks a bit disgruntled if you don't mind me saying. Oh, I suppose I look a bit that way, too, when I iron.
9/13/11 6:39 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful dress..you look so cute ! The Kantenband tape that you used..it looks like a strip of fine fusible interfacing..is it similar to that? And did I understand correctly..you laid it in the seam allowance, just catching the edge in your stitching? Thanks for your review and with my questions.
9/13/11 7:32 AM
NJcowgirl said...
Beautifully done. Looks great. It's more than a trial dress. I think more shaping at the dress will change the great line you have now. I have the pattern and wasn't excited about the bow till I saw how well your bow turned out. Looks great--so do the shorts!
9/13/11 8:26 AM
Oh2Sew2 said...
Very flattering for such a simple design. I like the bow in the slightly smaller size...as for the shaping, that is a personal call regarding fit preference, it drapes wonderful. I do understand though, because I too like to have an "essence of waist" on my tops as well as my dresses.
9/13/11 8:36 AM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty and very flattering. Great job.
9/13/11 11:13 AM
waltzqueen said...
Thank you for the wonderful review! Your dress is beautiful and suits you very well. I like the drape the way it is. Simply and elegant.
9/13/11 1:09 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Beautiful dress!
9/13/11 1:43 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very cute! Love your fabric choice. This is a great review and turned out to be a great project! Nice job!
9/13/11 7:41 PM
Karine said...
Beautiful dress! Aren't you glad you did a finished garment instead of a toile! Looking forward to seeing your silk version. You've got a winner here.
9/13/11 8:26 PM
Raye Ann said...
Thanks so much for the review. I bought this pattern and have been on the fence due to poor/ few reviews. I love yours! I am going to give it a try in a fabric similar to yours before I cut the " best" stuff to see if the style will suit me.
9/13/11 11:30 PM
Deepika said...
I was so excited to see your review and the dress. This pattern is currently on my table! I don't make any muslins either, so I can relate to your experience. I can only wish my wearable muslin looked as beautiful as your dress. Love the fabric too! So pretty!
9/15/11 10:41 AM
JodieT said...
Great review, thank you. I have this pattern and I am tall and slim. I am also afraid of bias and cutting expensive fabric. I really like your machine hem. It give the dress more character. You look beautiful in this!
9/15/11 6:27 PM
jenleeC said...
Thank you everyone for the lovely comments. I am glad the review was helpful, even if it turned out a bit long. It is always a bit nerve wracking to try a pattern that has had a poor review. Lakaribane, NJcowgirl, RayeAnn, Deepika and Jodieth, I am looking forward to seeing your versions on PR. And yes, there will be some silk PJ's, but this time for me instead of DD! Cranky puss is happy now I have finished sewing and can devote all my attention to her!
9/16/11 0:02 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Cute dress. Nice work!
9/16/11 9:24 AM
NC Carol said...
Thanks so much for the review. Good to know about the waist measurement. I bought this pattern last fall to make a Christmas party dress but never made it. (well, maybe this year, eh?) Your kittie is adorable. I get similar help here from my cat, Smidgen. :)
9/17/11 11:48 AM
Spool64 said...
Your "muslim" turned out great! I really like the hemline-the proportion looks just right. I do not understand how you came to choosing to cut out a size 8 when your measurements were telling you otherwise. Looks like the right decision, but how did you know to forego the sizes applicable to your measurements?
9/18/11 5:20 PM
jenleeC said...
Spool64, I guess this just comes from experience and finding out the hard way what sizing seems to suit your particular body the best. I always check the finished garment measurements as well as assessing the general look of the garment (loose, fitted etc). I have learned that for a fitted garment I need to sew to my size and even add extra in at the hip/thigh area, but for a loose garment a smaller size fits me better around the neck & shoulders provided there is enough ease in the hip & butt, LOL! Being petite I can't wear garments with as much ease as a taller person can so going down a size seems to work well for me. Hope this helps...mostly it is just learning about your particular body shape and also assessing the pattern style.
9/19/11 10:04 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
You made a beautiful dress and wrote a very helpful review. Thank you so much!
9/20/11 7:22 AM
Alison RSA said...
Looks stunning!
11/30/11 3:50 PM
sew4pidi said...
You did an awesome job. You inspired me to go ahead with making this. I like the PJ pants too. Thank you!
1/22/12 0:24 AM
Skittl1321 said...
Beautiful! Did you ever make another with your special fabric?
2/9/12 2:47 PM
velosewer said...
I've just cut my version out and your review is already very handy in getting this dress to work. The fabric I'm using might be a cheaper silk so I'm not being that precious about the construction aspect of this dress. I will pay attention to the shaping at the waist.
8/3/12 0:35 AM
knovak said...
You look adorable in your dress!
8/24/12 2:50 AM
PrincessLeah1 said...
This is one time I didn't make a muslin, cuz I didn't want to go out an buy more fabric. I am working with a very slippery lovely silk Charmuse - so yes, a lot of seam ripping ensues. One thing I am happy to see on your dress as well, the neck line in front ends up a little asymmetrical - nothing like what the pattern shows. Also, I like your two versions of hems, I prefer the machine one - since that ripply hem (and the bow) are what attracted me to the pattern in the first place, will post my own review soon
2/15/14 2:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5608

photo
by: velosewer

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now