SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5680 (Misses' Wrap and Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 396 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/11 6:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CorgieMom said...
I'm sitting here with View D wrapped around my shoulders...that's how this garment feels. One long rectangle of fabric with 2 seams in the back, which has a pulling sensation so it feels wrapped on my shoulders. Nothing about it works as the pattern is printed. View B may have enough fabric to put a pin on the front, but View D doesn't. Trying to do so, feels like it's pulling. The back doesn't lay like the picture. I need to hem the sleeves and back bottom, but it needs something more than that to make it work. It's ashame that Butterick didn't review/make the garments. If they did, I doubt the pattern would exist. Shame to put money into fabric for a pattern that simply doesn't work. There's no way for the garment wrapped around me right now will EVER look like the picture.
1/7/12 10:32 PM
anncie1 said...
Hi there. I love this look. You might want to check out DVF's winter collection to get you on board with the whole "ease" thing. She does a wonderful job and this is a great pattern to mimick her thoughts. It's about big and layering this winter.
10/7/11 9:59 AM
slvrfx said...
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
9/21/11 0:38 AM
slvrfx said...
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
9/21/11 0:38 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I think you could also wear this vest over a coat for a different look. It has the ease, and the colour would brighten up a dark coat and look quite striking. But I also agree with the other comments that it looks better on you than you are taking credit for.
9/7/11 12:22 PM
sewbehind said...
Didn't work for you? I guess I beg to differ. I think it looks fantastic on you.
9/6/11 11:52 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I was really surprised you have reservations about it as it looks great. That's really the style with the ease. I just crocheted something similar and it does take getting used to, I agree. Hopefully it will grow on you!
9/6/11 8:32 AM
Rosesred said...
Very informative review! That much ease would suprise me as well, but it actually fits the garment, imo.
9/6/11 6:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Paco Peralta Chinese Jacket

photo
by: marthamyer...

Review
You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

You Sew Girl Sling Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now