SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Mood Fabrics
Mood Fabrics

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5680 (Misses' Wrap and Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 402 times 
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo

 
 
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/11 6:33 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CorgieMom said... (1/7/12 10:32 PM) Reply
I'm sitting here with View D wrapped around my shoulders...that's how this garment feels. One long rectangle of fabric with 2 seams in the back, which has a pulling sensation so it feels wrapped on my shoulders. Nothing about it works as the pattern is printed. View B may have enough fabric to put a pin on the front, but View D doesn't. Trying to do so, feels like it's pulling. The back doesn't lay like the picture. I need to hem the sleeves and back bottom, but it needs something more than that to make it work. It's ashame that Butterick didn't review/make the garments. If they did, I doubt the pattern would exist. Shame to put money into fabric for a pattern that simply doesn't work. There's no way for the garment wrapped around me right now will EVER look like the picture.
anncie1 said... (10/7/11 9:59 AM) Reply
Hi there. I love this look. You might want to check out DVF's winter collection to get you on board with the whole "ease" thing. She does a wonderful job and this is a great pattern to mimick her thoughts. It's about big and layering this winter.
slvrfx said... (9/21/11 0:38 AM) Reply
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
slvrfx said... (9/21/11 0:38 AM) Reply
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
Q Valley Mary said... (9/7/11 12:22 PM) Reply
I think you could also wear this vest over a coat for a different look. It has the ease, and the colour would brighten up a dark coat and look quite striking. But I also agree with the other comments that it looks better on you than you are taking credit for.
sewbehind said... (9/6/11 11:52 AM) Reply
Didn't work for you? I guess I beg to differ. I think it looks fantastic on you.
Elemenopeo said... (9/6/11 8:32 AM) Reply
I was really surprised you have reservations about it as it looks great. That's really the style with the ease. I just crocheted something similar and it does take getting used to, I agree. Hopefully it will grow on you!
Rosesred said... (9/6/11 6:56 AM) Reply
Very informative review! That much ease would suprise me as well, but it actually fits the garment, imo.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Pattern Details