Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5680 (Misses' Wrap and Jacket) - Type:Vests    printable version
Viewed 368 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:bemodi
photo
About bemodi
NS CANADA
Member since: 10/12/07
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 15 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/6/11 6:33 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rosesred said...
Very informative review! That much ease would suprise me as well, but it actually fits the garment, imo.
9/6/11 6:56 AM
Elemenopeo said...
I was really surprised you have reservations about it as it looks great. That's really the style with the ease. I just crocheted something similar and it does take getting used to, I agree. Hopefully it will grow on you!
9/6/11 8:32 AM
sewbehind said...
Didn't work for you? I guess I beg to differ. I think it looks fantastic on you.
9/6/11 11:52 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I think you could also wear this vest over a coat for a different look. It has the ease, and the colour would brighten up a dark coat and look quite striking. But I also agree with the other comments that it looks better on you than you are taking credit for.
9/7/11 12:22 PM
slvrfx said...
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
9/21/11 0:38 AM
slvrfx said...
Unfortunately i made view D without checking with PR as well. It is truly a mess too much fabric and it flops all around. One piece but it just looks like a wadded up piece of fabric. Not pleased to say the least.
9/21/11 0:38 AM
anncie1 said...
Hi there. I love this look. You might want to check out DVF's winter collection to get you on board with the whole "ease" thing. She does a wonderful job and this is a great pattern to mimick her thoughts. It's about big and layering this winter.
10/7/11 9:59 AM
CorgieMom said...
I'm sitting here with View D wrapped around my shoulders...that's how this garment feels. One long rectangle of fabric with 2 seams in the back, which has a pulling sensation so it feels wrapped on my shoulders. Nothing about it works as the pattern is printed. View B may have enough fabric to put a pin on the front, but View D doesn't. Trying to do so, feels like it's pulling. The back doesn't lay like the picture. I need to hem the sleeves and back bottom, but it needs something more than that to make it work. It's ashame that Butterick didn't review/make the garments. If they did, I doubt the pattern would exist. Shame to put money into fabric for a pattern that simply doesn't work. There's no way for the garment wrapped around me right now will EVER look like the picture.
1/7/12 10:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 6503
photo
Review by Cowtown Ka... on 5/27/12
Read Review

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Reversible Bucket Hat Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8190
photo
Review by kimi05 on 8/8/11
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6665 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6665 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8954 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us