SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8732 (Misses' Jacket and Belt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 972 times 
Reviewed by:Celticstitcher
photo

 
 
About Celticstitcherstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/7/11
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/11 11:00 AM
Last Updated:9/7/11 11:03 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Steffie said...
Oh! So excited to view your pics -- privacy setting on Flickr is set to private! :)
9/7/11 11:41 AM
sewme47 said...
Yes, please let us see the pictures. I want to make this pattern and can't wait to see the details. :-)
9/7/11 1:08 PM
Celticstitcher said...
oops, I'm new at the Flickr thing, I think I've sorted it :-)
9/7/11 1:22 PM
sewme47 said...
You have created a beautiful jacket! I can't wait to try this pattern, but like you, I'd like to add a lining. Is there a resource you used to help draft the lining pieces? I'm not looking forward to doing padding stitches, but I'll look at it as a learning experience, lol. Thank you for all the wonderful pics of your project in progress.
9/7/11 1:59 PM
Celticstitcher said...
sewme47 thank you. I just used the front and back pieces and removed the facings, but don't forget the seam allowance. the padstitching was easy enough once I got started and ut really makes a HUGE difference. I took the pics to remind me how I did it this time lol
9/7/11 3:06 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a cute jacket, great job.
9/7/11 6:06 PM
margk said...
Fabulous jacket, and lovely work. Good on you for learning some couture techniques and hand stitching. It was definitely worth it. Great lining also.
9/7/11 6:37 PM
cleverkitty said...
WOW really nice jacket love it
9/7/11 8:32 PM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful work, such a pretty jacket!
9/7/11 8:56 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really love this pattern and think your jacket turned out GREAT! Nice work!
9/7/11 9:26 PM
Claverie said...
Great color, great lining, great buttons! Good review too! ;)
9/7/11 9:37 PM
Laurasews said...
Lovely! You should be very excited!
9/7/11 10:43 PM
VogueMistress said...
It looks terrific on you! Wonderful job..
9/7/11 10:50 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. Thanks for the helpful review. It's good to see this pattern reviewed.
9/8/11 3:51 AM
4u2cme said...
Thank for the helpful review & photos. I picked up this pattern and it helps to see if others had problems before I tackle it. Your jacket is great looking!
9/8/11 10:58 AM
sewbarbie said...
I'm very excited to see this made up. You put a very creative spin on a classic design, I'm sure the designer would be pleased.
9/9/11 1:26 AM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! Thanks for the very complete review. Congratulations on your buttonholes - a real accomplishment.
9/10/11 8:20 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Wow! What a GREAT jacket and great review too. I love this. It has a bit of a military resemblance. Is this the jacket that was made up in a yellow fabric in the pattern book but different on the acutal envelope? Anyway, this looks great!
9/13/11 8:05 PM
Athene said...
Your jacket is fabulous and thank you for such a great review with so many photos. Very helpful.
8/18/12 1:09 AM
KPM said...
I was just shopping for a pattern like this, also for an upcoming trip, but when I went to the Vogue site the info described the jacket as unlined, then went on to list a silk lining fabric requirement.??? Guess I'll get the answer to that when the pattern arrives. Anyway, congrats on a beautiful job, and fine review. It must give you a great deal of satisfaction. Thanks for the clever tip on adding the interfacing for the padding stitches; I probably wouldn't have thought of that, and am planning on using a fabric where the stitches would show as well.
3/10/13 4:39 PM
KPM said...
I forgot to ask: When I saw the placement of the upper welts, the buttons appear to land exactly where they shouldn't; I was planning to move them up. How did that work out for you?
3/10/13 4:40 PM
Gendun said...
Very pretty. I'm curious... I notice the edges of your inside pocket pieces (in contrast fabric) are unfinished. Is this a shortcut, or part of the pattern, please?
3/26/13 8:36 AM
sandysewin said...
Thanks for the great review. I've been wanting to learn more tailoring techniques and this seems like a good place to start. Good call on the contrast lining, it looks wonderful!
9/17/13 1:46 PM
sacmabell said...
It has been a while since you made this, but I want you to know that it is beautiful. I am thinking of making it and you have encouraged me. Wonderful job and excellent review.
1/22/14 9:03 PM
Elke said...
Great looking jacket! Thanks for the terrific review. Very helpful and now I want to make one.
3/26/14 6:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Butterick 5682

photo
by: thestitche...

Review

Pattern