SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8732 (Misses' Jacket and Belt)

2 more reviews
Viewed 981 times 
Reviewed by:Celticstitcher
photo

 
 
About Celticstitcherstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/7/11
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/11 11:00 AM
Last Updated:9/7/11 11:03 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elke said...
Great looking jacket! Thanks for the terrific review. Very helpful and now I want to make one.
3/26/14 6:34 PM
sacmabell said...
It has been a while since you made this, but I want you to know that it is beautiful. I am thinking of making it and you have encouraged me. Wonderful job and excellent review.
1/22/14 9:03 PM
sandysewin said...
Thanks for the great review. I've been wanting to learn more tailoring techniques and this seems like a good place to start. Good call on the contrast lining, it looks wonderful!
9/17/13 1:46 PM
Gendun said...
Very pretty. I'm curious... I notice the edges of your inside pocket pieces (in contrast fabric) are unfinished. Is this a shortcut, or part of the pattern, please?
3/26/13 8:36 AM
KPM said...
I forgot to ask: When I saw the placement of the upper welts, the buttons appear to land exactly where they shouldn't; I was planning to move them up. How did that work out for you?
3/10/13 4:40 PM
KPM said...
I was just shopping for a pattern like this, also for an upcoming trip, but when I went to the Vogue site the info described the jacket as unlined, then went on to list a silk lining fabric requirement.??? Guess I'll get the answer to that when the pattern arrives. Anyway, congrats on a beautiful job, and fine review. It must give you a great deal of satisfaction. Thanks for the clever tip on adding the interfacing for the padding stitches; I probably wouldn't have thought of that, and am planning on using a fabric where the stitches would show as well.
3/10/13 4:39 PM
Athene said...
Your jacket is fabulous and thank you for such a great review with so many photos. Very helpful.
8/18/12 1:09 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Wow! What a GREAT jacket and great review too. I love this. It has a bit of a military resemblance. Is this the jacket that was made up in a yellow fabric in the pattern book but different on the acutal envelope? Anyway, this looks great!
9/13/11 8:05 PM
blue mooney said...
Beautiful! Thanks for the very complete review. Congratulations on your buttonholes - a real accomplishment.
9/10/11 8:20 AM
sewbarbie said...
I'm very excited to see this made up. You put a very creative spin on a classic design, I'm sure the designer would be pleased.
9/9/11 1:26 AM
4u2cme said...
Thank for the helpful review & photos. I picked up this pattern and it helps to see if others had problems before I tackle it. Your jacket is great looking!
9/8/11 10:58 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket. Thanks for the helpful review. It's good to see this pattern reviewed.
9/8/11 3:51 AM
VogueMistress said...
It looks terrific on you! Wonderful job..
9/7/11 10:50 PM
Laurasews said...
Lovely! You should be very excited!
9/7/11 10:43 PM
Claverie said...
Great color, great lining, great buttons! Good review too! ;)
9/7/11 9:37 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I really love this pattern and think your jacket turned out GREAT! Nice work!
9/7/11 9:26 PM
AndreaSews said...
Beautiful work, such a pretty jacket!
9/7/11 8:56 PM
cleverkitty said...
WOW really nice jacket love it
9/7/11 8:32 PM
margk said...
Fabulous jacket, and lovely work. Good on you for learning some couture techniques and hand stitching. It was definitely worth it. Great lining also.
9/7/11 6:37 PM
Lori V said...
This is such a cute jacket, great job.
9/7/11 6:06 PM
Celticstitcher said...
sewme47 thank you. I just used the front and back pieces and removed the facings, but don't forget the seam allowance. the padstitching was easy enough once I got started and ut really makes a HUGE difference. I took the pics to remind me how I did it this time lol
9/7/11 3:06 PM
sewme47 said...
You have created a beautiful jacket! I can't wait to try this pattern, but like you, I'd like to add a lining. Is there a resource you used to help draft the lining pieces? I'm not looking forward to doing padding stitches, but I'll look at it as a learning experience, lol. Thank you for all the wonderful pics of your project in progress.
9/7/11 1:59 PM
Celticstitcher said...
oops, I'm new at the Flickr thing, I think I've sorted it :-)
9/7/11 1:22 PM
sewme47 said...
Yes, please let us see the pictures. I want to make this pattern and can't wait to see the details. :-)
9/7/11 1:08 PM
Steffie said...
Oh! So excited to view your pics -- privacy setting on Flickr is set to private! :)
9/7/11 11:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: House of P...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now