Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1245 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 570 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/7/11 8:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
playtheukulele said...
Nice job. I am LOL'ing at the "thinking about the patterns you didn't buy" part. I am so like that too.
9/7/11 8:36 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I love your version!
9/7/11 9:14 PM
Twinset said...
Lovely! I adore this style too. I must make this pattern!
9/7/11 9:24 PM
Claverie said...
That is so cute!
9/7/11 9:29 PM
Renren said...
Okay, that settles it. I'm buying this pattern. Thanks for the info about the too-short-waistedness . . . I'll have to deal with that.
9/7/11 9:45 PM
JoanneM said...
Great advice about the needle! A really darling transition top.
9/7/11 10:12 PM
SewWil said...
Your top is wonderful! I like your addition of the beads. I have this pattern and need to make it. I can relate to your thoughts of patterns not purchased and going back to buy them.
9/7/11 10:19 PM
MNBarb said...
Oh sure Christa, I practiced lots of self-restraint during the pattern sale and this, and another Vogue that was more flow-y, were put back in the drawer. Now you go and make this REALLY cute top and I don't have the pattern. It is not too-too cute, just right. I like the yellow and can tell it's a good color for you, even without your head! PS, yes I have wadders. My worst went into the woodstove; pattern, fabric and all, poof, up in flames. It was so gratifying. I wish Ms Burda had been here to see it.
9/7/11 10:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Cute! I never noticed that pattern before. I can so relate to the pattern buying! lol
9/7/11 10:31 PM
Christas said...
Thanks, everyone, for the really nice comments! MNBarb, that is HILARIOUS!!! Wish I had been there along with Ms. Burda to see that!!!
9/7/11 10:39 PM
Annette1 said...
My dearest little headless Christa, you should make LOTS AND LOTS of these tops! I really like yours mucho bettero than the ones on the models, because you've sized yours down to JUST the right amount of ease. :o) AND the beads on the ties are such a PROFESSIONAL touch! GREAT idea, too, of tracing off that dang bias strip piece. I always WISH I'd done that when I want to use some bias trim, but HAVEN'T, and can't ever remember where I saw the pattern piece -- ha!
9/7/11 10:44 PM
jannw said...
That is so pretty. I just checked my list of Vogues for the next sale and added this one..thanx a lot! Can't wait to see the next one....
9/7/11 11:27 PM
carolynw said...
Christas I love this on you and you have made me finally decide to buy this pattern - it has been much reviewed and all others look beautiful but yours really "speaks" to me so next sale and I am in. Thanks for such a helpful review
9/7/11 11:56 PM
Peggy L said...
Really cute on you! I love your fabric - perfect for the pattern.
9/8/11 0:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I love your blouse! I tried on a silk chiffon RTW blouse in this exact style today. It was gorgeous but they wanted $200! I bought this Vogue pattern instead. See, you are saving money going back to buy those patterns. :) I hope to make myself one in the near future so your review is very timely. Thanks!
9/8/11 3:40 AM
mrsbewley said...
Beautiful!
9/8/11 8:55 AM
cleverkitty said...
Love the fabric and style on you such a great pattern for georgette or any silky fabric. Your so right it is flattering and feminine. What a nice addition to anyone's wardrobe.
9/8/11 8:59 AM
Catbird said...
I love it, Christa! It's just perfect in every way, and it sounds like the inside is as pretty as the outside. So funny that all of us relate so well to your story about the patterns. Me too . . . all attempts at self-restraint are doomed from the start. I'm looking forward to seeing more versions of this. MNBarb's comment made me laugh. Maybe I'll try a few satisfying bonfires with wadders in the woodstove this winter!
9/8/11 9:04 AM
VivianZ said...
I love the top and sheer fabric you used! My restraint in not buying patterns this weekend is due to my right arm being broken and I am can't drive or sew! otherwise.....
9/8/11 10:03 AM
Leora said...
So pretty!
9/8/11 4:06 PM
Karendee said...
Dear Headless, I mean Christa.....your top is simply TDF. I love the style, the fabric, the color, and the beading. I also like this amount of ease as opposed to the oversized look on the pattern front. When you lengthen the waistline, you'll have another nice look to enjoy and choose from. Use up all those more sheer fabrics with this adorable pattern.
9/8/11 4:30 PM
Barbara V said...
Such a pretty style made up in georgette. Super job. I think it looks lovely on you except I'm sad not to see your head! I too laughed at MNBarb's wadder solution --too funny.
9/8/11 10:55 PM
imsewcrazy said...
OMG!!! Your top is so pretty! The fabric is perfect.
9/9/11 8:28 AM
MamaSewing said...
Great top, it looks so comfortable. Thanks for the info on the bodice length.
9/9/11 9:59 AM
blue mooney said...
Looks soooo much more attractive than the envelope photo. Great result!!
9/10/11 8:15 AM
GodsgirlT said...
What a lovely top! I just think you can't go wrong with yellow! Very nicely done!
9/13/11 8:01 PM
lady lace said...
thank you for sharing so many photos-very helpful,cute fabric!
5/18/12 12:39 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 8122
photo
Review by Gelbean on 1/18/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Three Pattern Collection Pattern

Details
Price: $45.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Tiny Pocket Tank
Tiny Pocket Tank

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Pocket PJs Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Lucy Lucy
photo
Review by KBT Sewer on 5/13/12
Read Review

Butterick 5669 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )
Butterick 5669 Pattern ( Size ONESIZE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3541 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3541 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us