SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1225 (misses dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 717 times 
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo

 
 
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/11 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goodworks1 said... (3/26/12 1:01 PM) Reply
Beautiful dress. Thinking about the hemline, I wonder if the slope of your shoulders could be affecting this?
Ms. Bijou said... (9/11/11 4:11 PM) Reply
Thanks Cahmad! I forgot about starting larger or checking measurements on the pattern. So glad I read your review first. I did make the smallest size on the other dress and it probably would be a little tight if it were not so stretchy. Probably could not get away with that with a non-stretchy fabric! I'll try to post pictures in the beginner forum of the other dress for you to see. NOt ready to write a review yet and it's not quite done but I should finish it today and start cutting out this one.
maryfrana said... (9/11/11 11:29 AM) Reply
Love your version much more than the envelope photo. You look fabulous. Time consuming, but so worth it.
Knitters Delight said... (9/11/11 3:40 AM) Reply
You look AMAZING in your dress. Absolutely fabulous.
GwenV said... (9/10/11 11:08 AM) Reply
Charming
Annette1 said... (9/9/11 9:40 PM) Reply
Now that is one BEAUTIFUL dress, your version being SO much prettier than the pattern photo, I think. And I LOVE your sandals, too! You'll be going in STYLE, no matter WHERE you go with this lovely ensemble. :o)
cahmad said... (9/9/11 8:41 PM) Reply
Ms. Bijou - thank you so much! Can't wait to see your version of both these dresses. As for this one, I actually did not do anything to make the V less deep. When I originally tried the dress on (before adding elastic), I was concerned that it would be way too deep. But then when I added the elastic (I used 1/2" elastic) and then pressed the casing up and stitched it, the V ended up not being so bad. Also, it sounds like you and I are the same size in RTW. I usually wear a 6/small, sometimes a 4. I almost always start with a size 10 when using patterns.
Ms. Bijou said... (9/9/11 7:16 PM) Reply
I'm wondering if you did something to the bottom of the bodice in front to make the V less deep? Am I saying that right? Also, if I may ask, what size are you RTW? I'm trying to figure out what size to cut but a 10 sounds too large for me but that's what the pattern envelope says. I'm a small or a 6 but should probably wear a 4 up top because my shoulder area is pretty tiny.
Ms. Bijou said... (9/9/11 6:23 PM) Reply
VERY flattering on you! I'm just getting ready to cut this out so I appreciate the review. Funny tho, I am almost done with the Vogue wrap dress in your other review! I'll post a review on that one when I hem it and change the flutter sleeves I made to longer flutter sleeves. Just want them a tiny bit longer.
SewWil said... (9/9/11 6:10 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress!Your efforts paid off.
michellep74 said... (9/9/11 5:54 PM) Reply
Very pretty dress!
rmusic1 said... (9/9/11 5:49 PM) Reply
it looks very summery and pretty
Pinkpegasus said... (9/9/11 5:16 PM) Reply
I didn't look twice at the pattern envelope, but your version is really pretty! Lovely fabric.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 9021

photo
by: gabc

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Pattern Details