SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1225 (misses dress)

10 more reviews
Viewed 707 times 
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo

 
 
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/9/11 4:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goodworks1 said...
Beautiful dress. Thinking about the hemline, I wonder if the slope of your shoulders could be affecting this?
3/26/12 1:01 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Thanks Cahmad! I forgot about starting larger or checking measurements on the pattern. So glad I read your review first. I did make the smallest size on the other dress and it probably would be a little tight if it were not so stretchy. Probably could not get away with that with a non-stretchy fabric! I'll try to post pictures in the beginner forum of the other dress for you to see. NOt ready to write a review yet and it's not quite done but I should finish it today and start cutting out this one.
9/11/11 4:11 PM
maryfrana said...
Love your version much more than the envelope photo. You look fabulous. Time consuming, but so worth it.
9/11/11 11:29 AM
Knitters Delight said...
You look AMAZING in your dress. Absolutely fabulous.
9/11/11 3:40 AM
GwenV said...
Charming
9/10/11 11:08 AM
Annette1 said...
Now that is one BEAUTIFUL dress, your version being SO much prettier than the pattern photo, I think. And I LOVE your sandals, too! You'll be going in STYLE, no matter WHERE you go with this lovely ensemble. :o)
9/9/11 9:40 PM
cahmad said...
Ms. Bijou - thank you so much! Can't wait to see your version of both these dresses. As for this one, I actually did not do anything to make the V less deep. When I originally tried the dress on (before adding elastic), I was concerned that it would be way too deep. But then when I added the elastic (I used 1/2" elastic) and then pressed the casing up and stitched it, the V ended up not being so bad. Also, it sounds like you and I are the same size in RTW. I usually wear a 6/small, sometimes a 4. I almost always start with a size 10 when using patterns.
9/9/11 8:41 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
I'm wondering if you did something to the bottom of the bodice in front to make the V less deep? Am I saying that right? Also, if I may ask, what size are you RTW? I'm trying to figure out what size to cut but a 10 sounds too large for me but that's what the pattern envelope says. I'm a small or a 6 but should probably wear a 4 up top because my shoulder area is pretty tiny.
9/9/11 7:16 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
VERY flattering on you! I'm just getting ready to cut this out so I appreciate the review. Funny tho, I am almost done with the Vogue wrap dress in your other review! I'll post a review on that one when I hem it and change the flutter sleeves I made to longer flutter sleeves. Just want them a tiny bit longer.
9/9/11 6:23 PM
SewWil said...
Very pretty dress!Your efforts paid off.
9/9/11 6:10 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty dress!
9/9/11 5:54 PM
rmusic1 said...
it looks very summery and pretty
9/9/11 5:49 PM
Pinkpegasus said...
I didn't look twice at the pattern envelope, but your version is really pretty! Lovely fabric.
9/9/11 5:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

New Look 6729

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Sew Liberated Gathering apron Pattern

More Info
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8634

photo
by: norsk

Review