SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (MISSES' DRESS)

128 more reviews
Viewed 1045 times 
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo

 
 
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:9/9/11 5:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ms Cavanaugh said... (10/18/11 1:18 AM) Reply
Pleats... Just learned from Lynda Maynard in class that to get the pleats to lie flat bring the back of each one up 1/8 th inch and pin  before basting or sewing. Deals with pull in pants may work here. 
Kandita said... (9/27/11 2:57 PM) Reply
Looks fabulous on you. Great job!!
VirginiasDghter said... (9/13/11 8:14 PM) Reply
Very nice!
JanineMck said... (9/11/11 5:28 PM) Reply
goodness for a dress that didnt work for you this looks fantastic. I am going to have check out your other reviews and photo stream now.
Finicky Petite said... (9/10/11 12:00 PM) Reply
I think your dress looks great! I'm working on one in this pattern right now... or I would be, if things weren't so crazy at my "day" job. But I can say that the pleats are invaluable for women with large ribcages and/or very large busts, because they make it possible for an FBA to basically disappear into the original design. I have a couple of RTW wrap dresses and another wrap top that just have flat fronts (no darts or pleats anywhere) and all of them pull open at the front so badly that I can't wear them to work...
popo said... (9/10/11 1:15 AM) Reply
I love it! Great fabric placement!
KathleenS said... (9/9/11 9:33 PM) Reply
I didn't love this pattern either. The pleats were annoying for me - they don't lie flat, nor do I see that they add anything (well, they would be a cute detail if they lay flat and were in just the right place - which may be the problem). However, I did like some other features particularly the full skirt, even though it was a hassle to cut out. I wonder whether if I hadn't lengthened the bodice the pleats might work better (but the waist seam would then be above waist.)
sewtime said... (9/9/11 6:36 PM) Reply
This dress is really cute!!!
Aixoise said... (9/9/11 6:19 PM) Reply
Haven't seen your Onion wrap, so can't compare; but this one looks really good on you. Seems like a keeper (or at least a good resource for morphing parts).
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Simplicity 5100

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Pattern Details