SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8379 (MISSES' DRESS)

127 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo

 
 
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:9/9/11 5:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ms Cavanaugh said...
Pleats... Just learned from Lynda Maynard in class that to get the pleats to lie flat bring the back of each one up 1/8 th inch and pin  before basting or sewing. Deals with pull in pants may work here. 
10/18/11 1:18 AM
Kandita said...
Looks fabulous on you. Great job!!
9/27/11 2:57 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice!
9/13/11 8:14 PM
JanineMck said...
goodness for a dress that didnt work for you this looks fantastic. I am going to have check out your other reviews and photo stream now.
9/11/11 5:28 PM
Finicky Petite said...
I think your dress looks great! I'm working on one in this pattern right now... or I would be, if things weren't so crazy at my "day" job. But I can say that the pleats are invaluable for women with large ribcages and/or very large busts, because they make it possible for an FBA to basically disappear into the original design. I have a couple of RTW wrap dresses and another wrap top that just have flat fronts (no darts or pleats anywhere) and all of them pull open at the front so badly that I can't wear them to work...
9/10/11 12:00 PM
popo said...
I love it! Great fabric placement!
9/10/11 1:15 AM
KathleenS said...
I didn't love this pattern either. The pleats were annoying for me - they don't lie flat, nor do I see that they add anything (well, they would be a cute detail if they lay flat and were in just the right place - which may be the problem). However, I did like some other features particularly the full skirt, even though it was a hassle to cut out. I wonder whether if I hadn't lengthened the bodice the pleats might work better (but the waist seam would then be above waist.)
9/9/11 9:33 PM
sewtime said...
This dress is really cute!!!
9/9/11 6:36 PM
Aixoise said...
Haven't seen your Onion wrap, so can't compare; but this one looks really good on you. Seems like a keeper (or at least a good resource for morphing parts).
9/9/11 6:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Jalie 2908

photo
by: Sugar Pie ...

Review

Pattern

Simplicity 5923

photo
by: scram415

Review
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Chelsea

Chelsea

Buy Now