SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2047 (Mock Chanel)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1792 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 113
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/04 5:15 AM
Last Updated:9/22/04 5:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
valerie sews said...
Sophie if you read my review carefully I did still recommend it - with modifications. I would have liked to read your review.
8/4/09 9:15 PM
sophie5477 said...
To rate a pattern by how well the style suits you is deceiving. Please give it a try. I have sewn the pattern myself and found the style very flattering,with well written instructions. Glad it turned out well for you.
7/22/05 6:41 PM
valerie sews said...
I used light weight whiperweft, ironed on very carefully throughout the whole jacket.
10/17/04 7:25 PM
Virginia said...
Dear Val, I'm trying boucle for the first time, could you suggest the best fusing material to use? Virginia
10/10/04 4:30 PM
valerie sews said...
Debra, yes I did take out the waist seams a little bit - my usual adjustment, but then when I undid the additional vertical darts that are part of the original front of the pattern it gave the jacket a more 'chanel' look. You are very observant!
9/25/04 5:07 AM
Debra H said...
The pattern photo also looks more fitted at waist than what you ended up with....did you adjust that at all? I do like what you ended up with, but sounds like you had to work at it!
9/24/04 3:31 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you all for your kind comments.
9/24/04 5:10 AM
xela said...
What a surprise to see this in the review! I wore this jacket, in the orginal style, this morning to a meeting. It is made out of a suiting fabric with a rather hard finish lined in charmeuse. There are 4 buttons down the front and buttons on the sleeve with an actual working buttonhole. The pattern is great and you made a marvelous save!
9/23/04 12:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, aren't you talented? Came out great in the end.
9/23/04 6:25 AM
Skye said...
liking the jacket - great retreival
9/22/04 7:00 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Great save! Nice jacket and the trim looks great.
9/22/04 5:47 PM
LiZ said...
You did a great job to save your jacket from being a wadder. It looks very up to date and classy.
9/22/04 2:17 PM
Doris Stewart said...
One of a kind :-)
9/22/04 10:40 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your end result is nice. After all that hard work that is rewarding.
9/22/04 10:14 AM
ConnieBJ said...
It looks lovely Val- great adaptation of the pattern.
9/22/04 10:11 AM
redhead said...
I think it is very pretty. I especially like your trim choice but regret that the fabric was frustrating for you.
9/22/04 9:43 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Congratulations on a creative and successful save! Adapting to the given parameters is what creativity is all about.
9/22/04 8:35 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely jacket
9/22/04 8:27 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
It's a cute pattern, I'm sorry it didn't work for you. Still, your persistence paid off. Your jacket is lovely and the trim detail is perfect. It will set off any outfit, casual or business, that you wear it with. Good Job!
9/22/04 8:01 AM
minieme said...
Very nice job you've done! Well worth all the effort.
9/22/04 7:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

New Look 6120

photo
by: JUNIPERJUN...

Review
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Shapes Four Good Measure Pattern (Size 1-3)

Buy Now
New Look 6911

photo
by: clairedelo...

Review