SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2047 (Mock Chanel)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1792 times 
Reviewed by:valerie sews
photo

 
 
About valerie sewsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/1/03
Reviews written: 112
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 111
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/04 5:15 AM
Last Updated:9/22/04 5:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Very nice job you've done! Well worth all the effort.
9/22/04 7:55 AM
Mrs. Cecil said...
It's a cute pattern, I'm sorry it didn't work for you. Still, your persistence paid off. Your jacket is lovely and the trim detail is perfect. It will set off any outfit, casual or business, that you wear it with. Good Job!
9/22/04 8:01 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely jacket
9/22/04 8:27 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Congratulations on a creative and successful save! Adapting to the given parameters is what creativity is all about.
9/22/04 8:35 AM
redhead said...
I think it is very pretty. I especially like your trim choice but regret that the fabric was frustrating for you.
9/22/04 9:43 AM
ConnieBJ said...
It looks lovely Val- great adaptation of the pattern.
9/22/04 10:11 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your end result is nice. After all that hard work that is rewarding.
9/22/04 10:14 AM
Doris Stewart said...
One of a kind :-)
9/22/04 10:40 AM
LiZ said...
You did a great job to save your jacket from being a wadder. It looks very up to date and classy.
9/22/04 2:17 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
Great save! Nice jacket and the trim looks great.
9/22/04 5:47 PM
Skye said...
liking the jacket - great retreival
9/22/04 7:00 PM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, aren't you talented? Came out great in the end.
9/23/04 6:25 AM
xela said...
What a surprise to see this in the review! I wore this jacket, in the orginal style, this morning to a meeting. It is made out of a suiting fabric with a rather hard finish lined in charmeuse. There are 4 buttons down the front and buttons on the sleeve with an actual working buttonhole. The pattern is great and you made a marvelous save!
9/23/04 12:07 PM
valerie sews said...
Thank you all for your kind comments.
9/24/04 5:10 AM
Debra H said...
The pattern photo also looks more fitted at waist than what you ended up with....did you adjust that at all? I do like what you ended up with, but sounds like you had to work at it!
9/24/04 3:31 PM
valerie sews said...
Debra, yes I did take out the waist seams a little bit - my usual adjustment, but then when I undid the additional vertical darts that are part of the original front of the pattern it gave the jacket a more 'chanel' look. You are very observant!
9/25/04 5:07 AM
Virginia said...
Dear Val, I'm trying boucle for the first time, could you suggest the best fusing material to use? Virginia
10/10/04 4:30 PM
valerie sews said...
I used light weight whiperweft, ironed on very carefully throughout the whole jacket.
10/17/04 7:25 PM
sophie5477 said...
To rate a pattern by how well the style suits you is deceiving. Please give it a try. I have sewn the pattern myself and found the style very flattering,with well written instructions. Glad it turned out well for you.
7/22/05 6:41 PM
valerie sews said...
Sophie if you read my review carefully I did still recommend it - with modifications. I would have liked to read your review.
8/4/09 9:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 5972

photo
by: poppykettl...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now
Wiksten Tank Top + Dress

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review