Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Salsa Blouse (Salsa Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2498 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/04 1:57 PM
Last Updated:4/4/08 0:17 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisette said...
Beautiful wrap top.
9/22/04 3:09 PM
Linda E. said...
wow that is a great top I have the pattern and some super fabric for it just having got around to making it.
9/22/04 3:27 PM
Skymom said...
Gosh, that looks great on you, Ann. I've been hesitant to sew this pattern because it looks so full and gathery in the drawing. How do you think this would work for the A-cup and below crowd? I have a feeling I'd end up with a lot of droopy fabric across the front.
9/22/04 3:34 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Ann, your top looks great! I think SW did themselves a disservice by pairing the top with a full skirt on the pattern envelope...I may have to get this one after all...thanks for the reveiw!
9/22/04 3:45 PM
Modiste Madness said...
I always look forward to your reviews and seeing you lovely creations. This is another busy one.
9/22/04 3:52 PM
Ann Smith said...
Skymom, I think it would be fine for an A cup body. The draping is graceful. Just make the smaller size.
9/22/04 4:01 PM
jlg said...
So much prettier than I thought this pattern would be. Gorgeous on you Ann.
9/22/04 4:16 PM
Cassandra59 said...
This pattern looks so much better on you than on the envelope! It looked so full and bunched up in the drawing, I couldn't imagine it looking as refined as it does and, as someone else pointed out, the full skirt it was shown with was not a good suggestion. Thanks for the warning about the sizing.
9/22/04 7:27 PM
mm said...
I didn't like this pattern when I first saw it but it looks lovely on you.
9/22/04 11:50 PM
SueV said...
as usual your project has inspired me. I love all your stuff (I looked through your album where this blouse is). went to SW site and ordered 3 patterns! Great blouse, and nice work!
9/23/04 11:31 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
This is great looking on you, as usual. I have the pattern and hope to cut out within the next few weeks. I have a question about the collar: does it turn over at all to the front? I guess what I'm asking is does the fabric have to look the same on both the right side and wrong side? The pattern doesn't say the fabric needs to be the same on both sides, but when I looked at it, I thought the collar would roll over. Hope it doesn't because I have a fabric I want to use that is not the same on both sides. Thanks again for a great review.
9/24/04 9:30 AM
Debra H said...
This is very helpful. Top looks better than I expected so photo is great! Too bad they can't use your picture on pattern.
9/24/04 3:27 PM
Amanda L said...
So lovely, and so much better than the pattern drawing that now I have to buy this pattern! This would look very sexy in white shirting, I think. Thanks for the inspiration!
9/24/04 3:31 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top looks better than it appears on the pattern. Love the color. Looks great on you.
9/24/04 4:02 PM
CarolynGM said...
An unusual design that is very flattering on you, much more attractive than the pattern picture.
9/24/04 6:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Harriet, the fabric rolls inward at the collar so the backside doesn't show. Be sure you have a fabric that drapes and rolls. Thank you everyone for your compliments.
9/25/04 0:52 AM
kedge said...
I could not get to the picture (moved to Flikr?) - could Ann repost?
10/18/07 1:04 PM
sew2little said...
The fabric may have been a nightmare, but the results are dreamy! Marci
4/4/08 0:18 AM
Ronda Rae said...
I really like it and it look great with the jacket. I cannot help but envy your scenery. It appears you've been gardening already. It's still a bit dreary here and Kansas; I want to be where you are right now! :-)
4/4/08 8:08 AM
Barbara V said...
Very creative use of border print! Even though fussy, the fabric was ideal for the soft collar treatment. It looks great on you.
4/4/08 10:21 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Graceful and elegant blouse, Ann, that is most becoming to you and fills the front of your stunning jacket just beautifully. I love your use of a border print, and that your left shoulder is devoid of strong print but retains just a few details of the fabric. Very designer boutique. You've sold me on this beauty and it's now on my wishlist. -Lily
4/4/08 1:39 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I definitely must make this blouse. But first I have to find a fabric as beautiful as yours.
4/4/08 7:27 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Fabulous and wonderful!
4/5/08 2:19 PM
Mahler said...
This is such an interesting pattern. Thank you for making me discover new pattern sources. The fabric you used is simply fabulous. You seem to have a passion for asian inspiered patterns and fabric... As usual, this piece is gorgeous !
4/19/08 9:18 AM
Nancy K said...
Looking on the Sewing Workshop site I found this blouse and of course I looked for a review here on PR. I wasn't surprised to find your review and it really looks fabulous on you. I have shied away from these patterns because they the fit always seems so big. But really love the fit and lines on this one. This is definitely going on my list.
10/17/09 9:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8839 Misses' Jacket
photo
Review by Graca on 4/1/13
Read Review

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Ruched Maternity Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Named Clothing Alpi Chinos Alpi Chinos
photo
Review by thewall on 2/2/14
Read Review

McCalls 9424 Pattern ( Size 7-8 )
McCalls 9424 Pattern ( Size 7-8 )

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3685 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3685 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us