Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8736 (Misses' Shirt and Pants) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 383 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:mm
photo
About mmstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/6/03
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 24
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/11 8:14 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. I'm sorry your experience was so disappointing. The shirt does not look too bad to me, and if I were you, I would just wear it at home. The fabric is too good to waste. An excellent shirt for travel in the tropics is Butterick 3523 (now discontinued, but probably not too hard to find on the net). I've made many examples of it and find it wonderful to wear in different situations - including riding a camel! Another alternative is Folkwear's Rosie the Riveter shirt, although it is a very loose fit and would be improved with darts. For something closer to the style of this one, you might try the newly released Butterick 6511, which I intend to make myself in the next few months.
9/12/11 8:43 PM
rivergum said...
Actually, I think the shirt looks great with your alterations. Also very breezy and cool for hot weather. I would consider wearing it with a tank top underneath to solve the sleeve peek-a-boo issue. If the tank matches your pants and you leave the shirt open or only the bottom couple of buttons buttoned, you will get nice slimming vertical lines and still be comfortably covered.
9/12/11 9:31 PM
jenleeC said...
Well despite your disappointment I have to agree with rivergum...your shirt looks good and the unusual seam lines make for an interesting shirt. I particularly like the back view.
9/13/11 10:12 PM
Christas said...
Oh, no I hate that this turned out not to fit the way you wanted. It certainly looks beautifully sewn, and the fabric was such a pretty choice.
9/13/11 10:39 PM
Batik said...
This does look retro to me and I can picture Jerry Hall wearing it in a loose woven muslin in a bright color. It was a certain 'look' and the way Vogue has drafted it, it looks like you have to be 6 feet tall to wear it. That said, I think the back view looks good on you, vertical l lines would help the front, maybe just freeing up the side seams at the bottom in a vent for flow.
4/28/12 8:06 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

No Pattern Used Skirt09 Skirt09
photo
Review by keelyb1 on 2/19/09
Read Review

Burda 8186 Pattern
Burda 8186 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Barcelona Dress
Barcelona Dress

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6331
photo
Review by Alice Wang on 4/19/13
Read Review

Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Ava Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's City Western Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King
BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us