SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8736 (Misses' Shirt and Pants)

1 more reviews
Viewed 385 times 
Reviewed by:mm
photo

 
 
About mmstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 1/6/03
Reviews written: 28
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/12/11 8:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. I'm sorry your experience was so disappointing. The shirt does not look too bad to me, and if I were you, I would just wear it at home. The fabric is too good to waste. An excellent shirt for travel in the tropics is Butterick 3523 (now discontinued, but probably not too hard to find on the net). I've made many examples of it and find it wonderful to wear in different situations - including riding a camel! Another alternative is Folkwear's Rosie the Riveter shirt, although it is a very loose fit and would be improved with darts. For something closer to the style of this one, you might try the newly released Butterick 6511, which I intend to make myself in the next few months.
9/12/11 8:43 PM
rivergum said...
Actually, I think the shirt looks great with your alterations. Also very breezy and cool for hot weather. I would consider wearing it with a tank top underneath to solve the sleeve peek-a-boo issue. If the tank matches your pants and you leave the shirt open or only the bottom couple of buttons buttoned, you will get nice slimming vertical lines and still be comfortably covered.
9/12/11 9:31 PM
jenleeC said...
Well despite your disappointment I have to agree with rivergum...your shirt looks good and the unusual seam lines make for an interesting shirt. I particularly like the back view.
9/13/11 10:12 PM
Christas said...
Oh, no I hate that this turned out not to fit the way you wanted. It certainly looks beautifully sewn, and the fabric was such a pretty choice.
9/13/11 10:39 PM
Batik said...
This does look retro to me and I can picture Jerry Hall wearing it in a loose woven muslin in a bright color. It was a certain 'look' and the way Vogue has drafted it, it looks like you have to be 6 feet tall to wear it. That said, I think the back view looks good on you, vertical l lines would help the front, maybe just freeing up the side seams at the bottom in a vent for flow.
4/28/12 8:06 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now