Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2724 (MISSES' DRESS WITH SKIRT, BODICE AND SLEEVE VARIATIONS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 312 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Scheryka
photo
About Scherykastar
SC USA
Member since: 11/11/08
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 77
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/11 0:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said...
Nice job on your blouse and I love the fabric! I have this pattern in my stash and hope to make at least one view from it someday. One thing I might suggest for the next time (that I've learned from patternmaking and sewing classes and some trial and error experience for better end results on an important garment, especially if I'm using a really nice fabric and I want the fit to be perfect!) is to first, quickly make up a basic muslin version of the garment from the original pattern pieces, omitting unessential features such as closures, pockets, ruffles etc. Then, pin or baste it together with seams and darts as the pattern calls for. A sewing buddy or an attentive person can then help you pin together on seamlines, mark seam and dart changes on your muslin with a pencil or pen. Take it apart, resew on new markings if needed, try on again, adjust again if needed. Take apart again and transfer corrections onto your pattern pieces, adding or subtracting to the tissue as needed, then you will have a custom fitted pattern to cut your fashion fabric from. In your case, I would back off on the bust darts a little, or basically, make them about 1/2" shorter so that they don't come to an "unfulfilled" point. Personally, I have a small (ok, call them tiny) chest, but I know there are many women who have to adjust patterns for a fuller bust. This may help make great fitting garments for you in the future. Just a thought, but very nice work here! I'll look forward to more of your creations!
9/14/11 2:06 AM
Scheryka said...
Hey, thanks Slmstyle for the suggestions! Just a word, muslins are an important part of a great, if not a better fit, in making clothes. However, due to time and money restraints, I refrain from muslins. As far as the bust darts, they are actually in the right place. It's the undergarment. I was trying a new mail order (that I had to send back before) I actually had it on when I took the colorblocking photos in my last review. Needless to say, it has been returned for good. I have average girlies and for some reason this dress makes them look like they are volumptuous! I think I do not want bigger breasts as I used to wine because I wanted bigger. That might not be the case now. (Also, there was some bloating going on...) This just was not a good time for this dress...lol But, I do thank you and am open to more suggestions. ETA: I was trying to find a way to contact you but since I am a freebie...send me an email so that I can reply or if you have a private address I can cantact you with...
9/14/11 7:30 AM
miausiau said...
Nice blouse...the whole outfit looks great, I love the silver/grey tones.
9/14/11 12:26 PM
SewWil said...
Pretty dress! I like the way you accessorized with the belt.
9/14/11 12:50 PM
slmstyle said...
Hi there! I was not able to send you a personal message on PR, but feel free to contact me at my email. I look forward to our chat :) -Stephanie
9/14/11 4:07 PM
babbling brook said...
Very cute! For bodice muslins, I use a worn-out man's dress shirt - the larger the better. I cut it out so the buttons are on the front so I don't even need to pin it shut. My friends know to send old dress shirts my way!
9/15/11 9:55 AM
Scheryka said...
Thank you, Everyone, for your suggestions and comments!
9/17/11 11:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us