SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2724 (MISSES' DRESS WITH SKIRT, BODICE AND SLEEVE VARIATIONS)

27 more reviews
Viewed 337 times 
Reviewed by:Scheryka
photo

 
 
About Scherykastar
SC USA
Member since: 11/11/08
Reviews: 77 (patterns: 77)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/11 0:41 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Scheryka said... (9/17/11 11:45 PM) Reply
Thank you, Everyone, for your suggestions and comments!
babbling brook said... (9/15/11 9:55 AM) Reply
Very cute! For bodice muslins, I use a worn-out man's dress shirt - the larger the better. I cut it out so the buttons are on the front so I don't even need to pin it shut. My friends know to send old dress shirts my way!
slmstyle said... (9/14/11 4:07 PM) Reply
Hi there! I was not able to send you a personal message on PR, but feel free to contact me at my email. I look forward to our chat :) -Stephanie
SewWil said... (9/14/11 12:50 PM) Reply
Pretty dress! I like the way you accessorized with the belt.
miausiau said... (9/14/11 12:26 PM) Reply
Nice blouse...the whole outfit looks great, I love the silver/grey tones.
Scheryka said... (9/14/11 7:30 AM) Reply
Hey, thanks Slmstyle for the suggestions! Just a word, muslins are an important part of a great, if not a better fit, in making clothes. However, due to time and money restraints, I refrain from muslins. As far as the bust darts, they are actually in the right place. It's the undergarment. I was trying a new mail order (that I had to send back before) I actually had it on when I took the colorblocking photos in my last review. Needless to say, it has been returned for good. I have average girlies and for some reason this dress makes them look like they are volumptuous! I think I do not want bigger breasts as I used to wine because I wanted bigger. That might not be the case now. (Also, there was some bloating going on...) This just was not a good time for this dress...lol But, I do thank you and am open to more suggestions. ETA: I was trying to find a way to contact you but since I am a freebie...send me an email so that I can reply or if you have a private address I can cantact you with...
slmstyle said... (9/14/11 2:06 AM) Reply
Nice job on your blouse and I love the fabric! I have this pattern in my stash and hope to make at least one view from it someday. One thing I might suggest for the next time (that I've learned from patternmaking and sewing classes and some trial and error experience for better end results on an important garment, especially if I'm using a really nice fabric and I want the fit to be perfect!) is to first, quickly make up a basic muslin version of the garment from the original pattern pieces, omitting unessential features such as closures, pockets, ruffles etc. Then, pin or baste it together with seams and darts as the pattern calls for. A sewing buddy or an attentive person can then help you pin together on seamlines, mark seam and dart changes on your muslin with a pencil or pen. Take it apart, resew on new markings if needed, try on again, adjust again if needed. Take apart again and transfer corrections onto your pattern pieces, adding or subtracting to the tissue as needed, then you will have a custom fitted pattern to cut your fashion fabric from. In your case, I would back off on the bust darts a little, or basically, make them about 1/2" shorter so that they don't come to an "unfulfilled" point. Personally, I have a small (ok, call them tiny) chest, but I know there are many women who have to adjust patterns for a fuller bust. This may help make great fitting garments for you in the future. Just a thought, but very nice work here! I'll look forward to more of your creations!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Butterick 5320

photo
by: Sunkissedj...

Review
Favorite Things Flip Skirts

Favorite Things Flip Skirts

Pattern Details
Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Favorite Things The Lunch Bag Pattern

Pattern Details