SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1027 (MISSES' DRESS)

76 more reviews
Viewed 926 times 
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo

 
 
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:9/15/11 7:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AuntieShel said...
To me, this is the dress that looks great on EVERYONE and yours is no exception. If I may offer some unsolicited advice, as I just made this dress (not reviewed.) Just looking at your pic, I think you could go down a size (or two.) As far as the bulkiness at the waist, I could not believe all those layers of fabric and I did not put in the pockets. I altered the belt to have one seam at the back of the dress, eliminating the side seams. Even doing this, which helped tremendously, there was NO WAY anyone could have constructed the waist seam using elastic as specified in the instructions. As many others have mentioned, the big four are not up to par with instructions for knits. You are being too hard on yourself, the dress is cute on you and I hope you will try another in a smaller size. Happy sewing!
9/23/11 9:07 AM
ArtAttack said...
I think it looks great on you and I love the fabric. But...you're the one who needs to love it. I think the length issue is your rayon knit. It does tend to stretch as it is very "weighty" if that's a word. Hopefully this dress will grow on you because it looks absolutely adorable on you!
9/18/11 0:10 AM
Ms. Bijou said...
Too funny that you don't like it because it caught my eye enough to check it out. If I don't like the photo of a review I don't read the review. In the photo on the envelope I can see that the pic of the model in the blue dress shows a dress with a higher waistline than the drawing and also higher than on your dress. I think you might want to shorten your bodice pieces (don't ask me how, I'm not nearly as experienced as those before me) on your next try. I also like your length better on the hem than what is shown in the photo and drawing. Also, you wear clothes so well that you COULD wear a table cloth or the living room drapes and it would still look great on you :).
9/17/11 2:21 AM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks very nice on you and the fabric does not look like a tablecloth. Give it some time it just may grow on you.
9/16/11 1:58 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks very nice on you and the fabric does not look like a tablecloth. Give it some time it just may grow on you.
9/16/11 1:58 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I have this pattern in my stash, but haven't made it yet. Thanks for the note about cutting on the floor with your cat. I also have a smallish table and will likely run into the same issue, including cat, when I do bring this pattern out.
9/16/11 12:01 PM
Kim12469 said...
I think this dress looks great on you. I have made it and I have the opposite endowment problem and mine still kind of droops. There is a lot of fabric. I wear a cami under mine and I think it helps keep the bodice more in place.
9/16/11 10:20 AM
jenleeC said...
I'm a little under-endowed too so I understand your view but I think the dress looks lovely on you. We are our own worst critics! I would agree with Erin, maybe lifting the shoulder on your next version would help a little. Because you are tall and the waist seems to sit nicely on you now, you may need to lengthen at the waist if you lift the shoulders.
9/16/11 0:59 AM
ghijsmom said...
I think your dress looks lovely. Nothing like a table cloth and the fit appears to be just fine.
9/16/11 0:37 AM
Erin D said...
I'm sorry you didn't like the way your dress turned out. From the photo, I would have had no idea. It looks quite nice. Have you tried altering at the shoulder seams to reduce the baggy-ness of the bodice?
9/15/11 10:57 PM
Lori V said...
It looks very pretty on you. Sometimes that happens, we have such high expectations and then the finished garment isn't quite there. Give it time, I bet you will really enjoy your dress.
9/15/11 9:07 PM
sewtime said...
I think your dress is very pretty!! Love it!
9/15/11 7:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Simplicity 2401

photo
by: Kiwi Natio...

Review
Vogue Patterns 8096

photo
by: Erinaceous

Review
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

More Info
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

More Info