Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1027 (MISSES' DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 892 times 72 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:9/15/11 7:27 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
I think your dress is very pretty!! Love it!
9/15/11 7:49 PM
Lori V said...
It looks very pretty on you. Sometimes that happens, we have such high expectations and then the finished garment isn't quite there. Give it time, I bet you will really enjoy your dress.
9/15/11 9:07 PM
Erin D said...
I'm sorry you didn't like the way your dress turned out. From the photo, I would have had no idea. It looks quite nice. Have you tried altering at the shoulder seams to reduce the baggy-ness of the bodice?
9/15/11 10:57 PM
ghijsmom said...
I think your dress looks lovely. Nothing like a table cloth and the fit appears to be just fine.
9/16/11 0:37 AM
jenleeC said...
I'm a little under-endowed too so I understand your view but I think the dress looks lovely on you. We are our own worst critics! I would agree with Erin, maybe lifting the shoulder on your next version would help a little. Because you are tall and the waist seems to sit nicely on you now, you may need to lengthen at the waist if you lift the shoulders.
9/16/11 0:59 AM
Kim12469 said...
I think this dress looks great on you. I have made it and I have the opposite endowment problem and mine still kind of droops. There is a lot of fabric. I wear a cami under mine and I think it helps keep the bodice more in place.
9/16/11 10:20 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
I have this pattern in my stash, but haven't made it yet. Thanks for the note about cutting on the floor with your cat. I also have a smallish table and will likely run into the same issue, including cat, when I do bring this pattern out.
9/16/11 12:01 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks very nice on you and the fabric does not look like a tablecloth. Give it some time it just may grow on you.
9/16/11 1:58 PM
SewWil said...
I think your dress looks very nice on you and the fabric does not look like a tablecloth. Give it some time it just may grow on you.
9/16/11 1:58 PM
Ms. Bijou said...
Too funny that you don't like it because it caught my eye enough to check it out. If I don't like the photo of a review I don't read the review. In the photo on the envelope I can see that the pic of the model in the blue dress shows a dress with a higher waistline than the drawing and also higher than on your dress. I think you might want to shorten your bodice pieces (don't ask me how, I'm not nearly as experienced as those before me) on your next try. I also like your length better on the hem than what is shown in the photo and drawing. Also, you wear clothes so well that you COULD wear a table cloth or the living room drapes and it would still look great on you :).
9/17/11 2:21 AM
ArtAttack said...
I think it looks great on you and I love the fabric. But...you're the one who needs to love it. I think the length issue is your rayon knit. It does tend to stretch as it is very "weighty" if that's a word. Hopefully this dress will grow on you because it looks absolutely adorable on you!
9/18/11 0:10 AM
AuntieShel said...
To me, this is the dress that looks great on EVERYONE and yours is no exception. If I may offer some unsolicited advice, as I just made this dress (not reviewed.) Just looking at your pic, I think you could go down a size (or two.) As far as the bulkiness at the waist, I could not believe all those layers of fabric and I did not put in the pockets. I altered the belt to have one seam at the back of the dress, eliminating the side seams. Even doing this, which helped tremendously, there was NO WAY anyone could have constructed the waist seam using elastic as specified in the instructions. As many others have mentioned, the big four are not up to par with instructions for knits. You are being too hard on yourself, the dress is cute on you and I hope you will try another in a smaller size. Happy sewing!
9/23/11 9:07 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Simplicity 2475
photo
Review by JasperJ on 11/15/09
Read Review

Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5415 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0179 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7760
photo
Review by becca a on 2/1/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sweet Pea Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us