Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3588 (child's dress or jumper) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 257 times 16 more reviews
Reviewed by:Jennifer shaw
photo
Friend of PR
About Jennifer shawstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 111
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/20/11 4:32 PM
Last Updated:3/9/14 4:30 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 
Pattern Photo:Simplicity 3588
Simplicity Pattern Info
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Latest update 10- 2-2011- the dress needs to be sized up! Yes, my little "Susan" is growing like a weed. So I am going to enlarge the pattern and make the changes onto the muslin, when it returns in the mail. I am so excited!!
Preshrinking the other fabrics tonight...
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am making this as a Halloween costume for a dear little girl who wants her Susan wedding dress from Monsters vs Aliens. I am so excited to make this for her... She is a sweetie!!


Pattern Description: ASG girls dress pattern, with varied versions of the bodice- Cheongsam with mandarin collar, sleeves are puffed s/s/with a band or modified bell sleeves with elastic casing. Jumper style sleeveless has visible facing at center front. classic "kidlet "skirt.

Pattern Sizing:sizes 3 - 8

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Since this is a work in progress you will need to wait and see..

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I hardly used the instructions- but what I looked at was pretty well written.
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I just love the sleeves and the bodice variations.. I know that the person I am making this for as a Halloween costume is becoming very excited! It is going to be so easy to make the final version out of the white cotton sateen.
Fabric Used:
Using muslin for trial run and fitting, "bridal white" cotton sateen for the final version. It's to be lined with a pale pink/peach cotton poly batiste for comfort.
Some rayon "rats tail" trim is to be added for the piping and the Chinese style buttons for the separate jacket. The jacket may or may not be made out of the Sateen.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:

Tons!! It is going to be converted into a strapless sundress first and then, I am attaching grosgrain ribbon straps for modesty. The bell sleeved cheongsam bodice is going to be converted into a jacket with the fancy
buttons.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?
Well, so far it is really coming along just great!! I would highly recommend it to others for an adorable dress to make or a really terrific and fun to adapt as a costume.
Conclusion:

It is a winner!!!!
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
3 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jennifer shaw said...
I still have to figure out how to attach the illustrations with my cell phone! :0
10/2/11 9:50 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Well, there have been many modifications to the dress. I ended up making it sleeveless with bias banding around the armhole, changed the neckline, and added the lining to it. It is done and is en route to the wiggly Miss M. to enjoy! The great thing is she has a little sister who can wear it in the future, for dress up or as a Halloween costume too!
10/29/11 11:32 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I am hoping to get some pictures from Miss M's mom soon and I will post the pictures then.
10/30/11 12:45 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 3659
photo
Review by KWNightwin... on 7/3/12
Read Review

Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern
Simple Things Bibs and Booties Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)
Angela Osborn Fleur Dress Digital Pattern (SS10-11-301)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 4877
photo
Review by Sweetiebop on 4/23/08
Read Review

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6808 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1878 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us