Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5455 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 554 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:jnageotte
photo
About jnageottestar
CA USA
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/11 0:27 AM
Last Updated:10/21/13 2:08 AM
Project Photo:Butterick: 5455 by jnageotte

Pattern Photo:Butterick 5455
Butterick Pattern Info
Pattern Rating:Highly Recommend
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Current Tags What is a Tag:
Fabric:Cotton Sateen  [See other projects in this fabric]
Related Links  
Click on to add a link
Pattern Description:
Semi-fitted, straight dresses A, B, mid-knee length, have lined bodice, pleated front neckline, midriff front, side slant pockets, back zipper and hemline vent. A: self-fabric piping trim.

Pattern Sizing:
AA(6-8-10-12), EE(14-16-18-20). I made a size 20.

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
More or less. I have made some minor alterations. I added more self-fabric piping to the waist seam and declined to sew the back vent.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
For the most part... I have made this dress three times and have yet to figure out how the instructions intend me to finish the armholes. Instead I just trim the armholes with bias tape.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I find that this dress is hugely flattering. I do have to lengthen the pattern by several inches though. I also wish that the midriff band extended around the back instead of just the front.

Fabric Used:
Stretch Cotton Sateen.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?

Yes! I have already made several versions of this dress and will likely make more. I definitely recommend it!

Conclusion:

A flattering summer dress that is easily dressed up for work or down for casual wear.

***Update*** I made this dress a second time in a ivory silk brocade with a slight stretch. It turned out just as lovely in terms of fit and I will always adore a dress with pockets. I added a few additional details to up the "special factor" on the newest version: I extended the midriff band to continue along the back and made some piping out of my leftover scraps which I used to finish the neckline and pockets and to highlight the midriff band.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JanineMck said...
It looks lovely . nice to have a pattern that suits you and fits well.
9/16/11 2:38 AM
JanieBee said...
Gorgeous dress! Love the fabric
9/16/11 8:40 AM
sewbehind said...
Beautiful fabric for a lovely dress.
9/16/11 10:06 AM
SewWil said...
Love you dress!
9/16/11 2:10 PM
jenleeC said...
Lovely dress with very flattering lines! Altering the back to extend the midriff band would be an easy and stylish adjustment to the pattern.
9/16/11 9:09 PM
Sue Parrott said...
I would love to see you wearing this dress! It is just so pretty!
9/16/11 10:17 PM
monica02 said...
I bought this dress from Macy's. It literally looks exactly the same. Wow! Your really good.
9/20/11 9:46 PM
lmb09 said...
Beautiful! I'd love to see you model it!!
9/21/11 5:26 PM
aburlock said...
Oh wow, I made the same pattern out of the same fabric!! Looks great!
3/8/12 10:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us