SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 115 (Inset Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1993 times 
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo

 
 
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/04 3:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda L said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for reviewing this pattern, as it is one of the next on my list to make.
9/24/04 3:55 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your jacket is absolutely gorgeous. I love the embellishment of the inset.
9/24/04 4:22 PM
Elona said...
That is really cute. I love the cheerful color, too.
9/24/04 4:32 PM
jlg said...
Very nice. I also like the embellishment on the inset.
9/24/04 4:45 PM
Denny1600 said...
This jacket is wonderful. I'm especially impressed with the embellishments. I'm getting back to sewing after a few years away from it, so I'm impressed by your advanced sewing skills. Well done.
9/24/04 5:47 PM
Teri said...
I love the embellishment! Has the look of high end RTW.
9/24/04 7:26 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Gorgeous Jacket! Great work.
9/24/04 7:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
Fabulous! Can you give us more info and your "couching various textures of fibers." It is beautiful!
9/25/04 6:23 AM
Susan R said...
Wow, your jacket is amazing--especially the couched embellishments!
9/25/04 3:23 PM
drsue said...
I'm glad you reviewed this. I love how you did your embellishng.
9/25/04 9:35 PM
Debra H said...
I get alot of my fibers from Fabulous Fibers which sells many colors of different kinds of fibers in 5 yard cards. They have a website. Some are chenille, some are feathery, some are knotty, some are multi-tone, some are shiny rayon, etc. I use a really easy couching technique from Threads (what would we do without it??) that take less time that couching each fiber individually, but only works on washable fabric. 1. I first reinforce the back of each pre-washed garment piece to be couched....it is best to cut the piece about an inch larger all the way around as the couching will cause the piece to draw up some. I usually interface with Fusi-Knit or French Fuse to provide a good base. If the fabric is really lightweight like rayon challis or silky fabrics, then I will may add another layer of interfacing...or if I want it to keep a softer hand, I add some washaway stablizer to the back side and tack it in place around the edges. 2. Then, I arrange the fibers over the piece....in any pattern that I like. Sometimes curly or curvy...sometimes straight. I may add some small squares or triangles of contrasting fabric as well. 3. Then, place one layer of sheer water soluble stabilizer over the top and then pin this around edges and every 2-3 inches in the middle. It is very important to pin the middle sections before you baste around the piece to hold the stabilizer in place. Without those middle pins, the stablizer tends to pull and pucker too much when you stitch around the outer edges. 4. Decide on what colors of threads to use for your couching and what type of stitches to use. I just used straight and zigzag stitches on this top, but you can use many decorative stitches as well. I tend to sew in wavy diagonal directions. 5. When done, wash the piece in cool water and press the back side.
9/27/04 10:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, thanks for that detailed explanation. Your techniques are quite impressive.
9/27/04 6:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2010-01

photo
by: boppingbet...

Review
Burda 7207

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Buy Now