Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 115 (Inset Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1984 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Debra H
photo
About Debra Hstarstarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/16/04
Reviews written: 194
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 213 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/24/04 3:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Amanda L said...
Your jacket is beautiful. Thanks for reviewing this pattern, as it is one of the next on my list to make.
9/24/04 3:55 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Your jacket is absolutely gorgeous. I love the embellishment of the inset.
9/24/04 4:22 PM
Elona said...
That is really cute. I love the cheerful color, too.
9/24/04 4:32 PM
jlg said...
Very nice. I also like the embellishment on the inset.
9/24/04 4:45 PM
Denny1600 said...
This jacket is wonderful. I'm especially impressed with the embellishments. I'm getting back to sewing after a few years away from it, so I'm impressed by your advanced sewing skills. Well done.
9/24/04 5:47 PM
Teri said...
I love the embellishment! Has the look of high end RTW.
9/24/04 7:26 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Gorgeous Jacket! Great work.
9/24/04 7:59 PM
JDpenelope said...
Fabulous! Can you give us more info and your "couching various textures of fibers." It is beautiful!
9/25/04 6:23 AM
Susan R said...
Wow, your jacket is amazing--especially the couched embellishments!
9/25/04 3:23 PM
drsue said...
I'm glad you reviewed this. I love how you did your embellishng.
9/25/04 9:35 PM
Debra H said...
I get alot of my fibers from Fabulous Fibers which sells many colors of different kinds of fibers in 5 yard cards. They have a website. Some are chenille, some are feathery, some are knotty, some are multi-tone, some are shiny rayon, etc. I use a really easy couching technique from Threads (what would we do without it??) that take less time that couching each fiber individually, but only works on washable fabric. 1. I first reinforce the back of each pre-washed garment piece to be couched....it is best to cut the piece about an inch larger all the way around as the couching will cause the piece to draw up some. I usually interface with Fusi-Knit or French Fuse to provide a good base. If the fabric is really lightweight like rayon challis or silky fabrics, then I will may add another layer of interfacing...or if I want it to keep a softer hand, I add some washaway stablizer to the back side and tack it in place around the edges. 2. Then, I arrange the fibers over the piece....in any pattern that I like. Sometimes curly or curvy...sometimes straight. I may add some small squares or triangles of contrasting fabric as well. 3. Then, place one layer of sheer water soluble stabilizer over the top and then pin this around edges and every 2-3 inches in the middle. It is very important to pin the middle sections before you baste around the piece to hold the stabilizer in place. Without those middle pins, the stablizer tends to pull and pucker too much when you stitch around the outer edges. 4. Decide on what colors of threads to use for your couching and what type of stitches to use. I just used straight and zigzag stitches on this top, but you can use many decorative stitches as well. I tend to sew in wavy diagonal directions. 5. When done, wash the piece in cool water and press the back side.
9/27/04 10:45 AM
JDpenelope said...
Wow, thanks for that detailed explanation. Your techniques are quite impressive.
9/27/04 6:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3677
photo
Review by suliabryon on 7/22/09
Read Review

Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1237 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2938 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8209
photo
Review by Annette1 on 3/22/08
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern
SewBaby The Twirly Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us