Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5201 (Sweater Set) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2998 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/02 5:45 PM
Last Updated:9/17/05 9:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Diane, I did make a full bust adjustment on this top. I too love the neckline. Your sense of humor kills me! I thought I had been sewing a long time. :-) Couldn't look at your photo but will try again later.
7/12/02 6:18 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for a great review! I have not made this pattern yet but do have it in my stash. I will definitely make sure to use a stable knit. I've read about others having problems using too "sweatery" of a fabric for this pattern and being disappointed. You've pointed out what is a very tough part of garment sewing - picking the right fabric for the pattern style. I think pattern companies and independents try to help by listing suitable fabrics but sometimes it just comes down to experience and we have to suffer through those "wadders." Thanks for your tips!
7/12/02 6:19 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, this is a very helpful review. I could not see your photo. Can you please check your photo url?
7/12/02 6:26 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, great review - I will have to check out my top and see how the front hangs. I love the finished product
7/12/02 6:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi everyone, thanks for your comments. It's so great to have people to "talk" to about these patterns and projects! I am hoping that I've tamed the technology gremlins and made it possible to see the picture now.
7/12/02 6:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I can see the photo now. I think one has to be logged-in to ofoto.com in order to see the photo. What a neat shell Diane! I love it.
7/12/02 7:13 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane - This top looks great - but I'd pay serious money to see a picture of The Other ;-) Glad you tried again.
7/12/02 8:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your shell looks so cool, it must be perfect for a summer wardrobe.
7/13/02 3:27 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That's a nice top. I don't think I've seen the shell without a sweater over it, so far. This is a great top that looks good without the cardigan. You did a nice job!
7/14/02 8:46 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, you're so funny. What is a tiny zig zag, please? Here is my chance to finally find out. Can you put it in pfaff-ese also, please?
7/15/02 3:05 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Lisa, the tiny zigzag is stitch 02 on the Pfaff (regular zigzag) at .5 width and 2.0 length. This allows the seam to have a little give and keeps it from pulling up.
7/17/02 2:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I have never been able to see your picture of this. :(
8/29/02 9:22 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Catherine, if this helps, here's the URL http://images.ofoto.com/photos236/4/78/74/71/28/0/28717478403_0_ALB.jpg Sorry for the annoyance! Sometimes technology is not my friend.....
8/29/02 9:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, beautiful set - I love the fabric. I used your hint about the 3/4" on center front and it was perfect. I think I need to size up on the cardigan, too. I just wish I had the fabric selection you do
10/30/02 1:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
diane, it looks great! is that what you'll be wearing to the LH workshop a week and a half from now?
10/30/02 2:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I love the newest version. The fabric looks wonderful. Couldn't help but check out the whole album. A super LH wardrobe!
10/30/02 9:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, this is really chic! What are you going to wear with it?
10/30/02 8:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your choice of fabrics is wonderful! I really enjoyed looking through your album.
11/8/02 2:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, your sweater set is beautiful! You always use the prettiest fabrics.
11/8/02 4:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Diane, that's a good point about checking a knit's recovery-I used a heavy cotton interlock for a cardigan that grew about two sizes when worn.
11/8/02 7:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
KarmenG said...
Thanks for all the tips. I've got this pattern and plenty of knits in my stash which I will now pull out and sew up. Your tips are so helpful.
9/17/05 10:35 PM
Patti B said...
So nice -- love the color of the latest slinky. Many thanks for the reminder about slinky and steam. I may need to write it on the wall of the sewing room. ;-)
9/18/05 0:17 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Thanks for the update, Diane! Your top looks great. I love your Boho scarf. What wool did you use? I had to laugh at the "purgatory drawer" comment, I think we all have one of those.
9/18/05 6:15 AM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, I love that color! It makes me want to go try some slinky. :) I also love your scarf and wonder what kind of yarn that is and how wide and how long you made it. Thanks for the review.
9/18/05 9:25 AM
Georgene said...
Love the scarf! Not to mentions the wine red slinky version of the top. Thanks for the new tips.
9/18/05 10:00 AM
Diane E said...
Thanks for your encouragement - it's really helping me stay motivated to finish these UFOs. I'm glad you like the scarf. The yarn is wool/mohair from Ozark Handspun. It was a splurge, but it'll be a really fun piece for the winter, and I wasn't going to be spinning and dying my own skeins any time soon (hmmmmm.... do Ineed another hobby?). I bought the yarn at Article Pract, a "not your granny's" yarn shop in Oakland, California. Jemgirl, I used size 30 needles and worked a p1k1 rib for as long as the 2 skeins would go. Slip the selvedge stitch for a neat edge. Those 30s are really big, like knitting with oars!
9/18/05 11:02 AM
louise said...
yes, when I clicked on "photo" link it took me to a Flikr page that said it was the wrong link. How do I get to see the photo?
1/9/09 1:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Butterick 5190
photo
Review by Sallygirl1 on 10/7/11
Read Review

Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )
Vogue 8801 Pattern ( Size 30-32-34-36 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3793 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

HotPatterns 1005
photo
Review by twistedang... on 10/23/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Susie Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S 2 2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S 2   2 Blouse & Pleated Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us