Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1220 (misses dress and belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 690 times 35 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2011
Posted on:9/17/11 11:50 PM
Last Updated:9/18/11 0:07 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Barbara R said...
I like it very much as a dress - no pants, no leggings. They drag down the light feeling of the dress. I don't know what your normal style is, but from the pics, I would not call this dress "short" by any stretch of the imagination. I would probably wear it with dark pantyhose that would pick up one of the colors in the lovely print - taupe or brown or whatever you are more comfortable with - and matching shoes. Dark leggings that end at the ankle make your legs look short and heavier than they really are. (I have huge ankles and large legs, so definitely know a little bit about how to minimize them.) Also, any shoes will be more flattering if they don't have straps around the ankle. Again, this can be mitigated if the hose match the shoes, but for future purchases, I'd suggest avoiding the style. (You did ask about shoes!) For a more summery look, I'd go with no hose (or skin-colored) and, again, matching shoes or sandals.
9/18/11 0:24 AM
Sew tell me said...
You could definitely do the dress with the leggings and ballet flats but I like it best just as a dress. Although you may feel exposed because it is different that what you normally do, you are in no way inappropriate or indecent and instead look very chic. Just my 2 cents.
9/18/11 0:30 AM
Barbara R said...
Yikes - on rereading this I see it sounds as if I am saying your legs are short and heavy, or perhaps even huge like mine. THAT'S NOT WHAT I MEANT! I meant the pants, shoes, etc. make them *look* short and heavy, when in fact they probably are not. Sheesh.
9/18/11 0:31 AM
rivergum said...
Barbara, don't stress. Your comments have been very helpful and didn't come across as anything negative at all. Truth is, I do have heavy legs and ankles, and want to camouflage that fact! Your honesty, as well as your expertise in the above endeavour, is appreciated!
9/18/11 0:56 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Stunning dress. I love, love, love the print you chose. The dress looks fantastic on you and isn't too short, just a new experience for you. My vote is for hose and more substantial shoes.
9/18/11 0:59 AM
FreyaStark said...
Even if it is shorten than you normally like, I suggest getting used to it and just wearing it with the right shoes. I like it without pants or leggings, but would prefer lighter-looking shoes, but also like it as pictured with leggings, which look slimmer and more elegant than the pants, and enable you to wear it in cooler weather. Your treatment of the belt is clever, and the fabric is great, too.
9/18/11 2:00 AM
artymom said...
You made a beautiful dress that flatters you very well. The length is perfect, just new to you. Try different shoes instead of the pant/legging option. Be assured that you look lovely in the dress as pictuered.
9/18/11 2:56 AM
Maree P said...
This is just lovely River Gum. I agree with others the leggings and pants take away from the gorgeous dress ...do wear it as a dress.
9/18/11 4:15 AM
Knitters Delight said...
I really like it as a dress.
9/18/11 4:37 AM
ChristmasHills said...
I love it as a dress! It looks wonderful in the print you have chosen - no - make that YOU look wonderful in the print you have chosen. I don't like it at all with the pants or leggings - I don't care how fashionable they might be.
9/18/11 4:54 AM
Vonnevo said...
Dear rivergum :) You look sophisticated and fabulous , just the way you are !!!! Your dress is beautiful and personally, I like the shorter length. I prefer no leggings and maybe some dark/charcoal tights with low cut shoes.
9/18/11 5:20 AM
cleverclogs said...
I too think it looks lovely as a dress just as it is, but if you really can't feel comfortable in it, can you get another few cm length by replacing the hem with a facing? You could use any light coloured fabric that matches the dress in weight.
9/18/11 6:57 AM
a life in stitches said...
Love the dress on you. I would try grey tights and shoes, and keep the length. Otherwise changing the hem to a facing as suggested above might make you feel more comfortable. The thing I really don't get about this design is the belt - i mean, yes it clearly needs a belt, but I cannot imagine having that much fabric bulked up in front of me. i don't think anyone else has mentioned it in reviews, there must be a secret feel-good factor... Any tips on market locations for buying fabulous fabrics like this in Holland?
9/18/11 7:16 AM
Lori V said...
Your dress looks fantastic on you. I vote no leggings or pants, the dress is too great on its own. I do think you could do tights
9/18/11 8:10 AM
Fran G said...
Love your fabric! And, your solution to an otherwise possible bulky belt is brilliant! I think the length is fine..too long becomes a bit dowdy. I am not a fan of wearing this dress with pants. I do like wearing it with leggings..black..and you could add a long sleeved black tee when it gets cool. I think the strong pattern of the dress calls for a stronger shoe...a bit more current. I am not a fan of the current gladiator flat shoe but worn with tights/leggings, I think it would provide that balance. My knees are not my best feature either but I love wearing black tights with black wedge shoes or something similar. Not like pump. Keep it flat. I have a pair of flats that are black patent with a silver buckle at the front..I think they would look nice. So, either you can have my shoes (size 5) or I can have your dress!
9/18/11 8:12 AM
jenleeC said...
Your dress looks stunning! I agree with others that the pants and leggings detract from what is a beautiful, classy dress. As a shorty, I know all the tricks for lengthening the look of your legs...wearing your dresses shorter and with matching stockings and shoes is one of them! Soft grey stockings and a lighter shoe would really style this dress beautifully. And who needs an excuse to buy more shoes!!
9/18/11 8:55 AM
VivianZ said...
I love the dress sans leg coverings. They just weigh down the dress. Wear it with light strappy sandals and it will be a great all round dress.
9/18/11 9:15 AM
SewWil said...
Your dress turned out great. I'm going to weigh in on how best to wear it : as a dress. It looks very nice on you. It may take you out of your comfort zone but I think it works. Give it a try I'm sure you will get a lot of compliments.
9/18/11 11:36 AM
nickelc624 said...
Your dress is beautiful!! The fabric is gorgeous and it looks great on you! I don't think you need to wear anything under it, but if you do, go with the leggings. I think the pants are too much.
9/18/11 11:44 AM
sewbehind said...
Gorgeous dress. Love teh print and it looks flattering on you. I vote for the no leggings look. I prefer it as a dress.
9/18/11 12:01 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Ok...I love it as a dress on you! It isn't too short at all. Actually it looks to long to wear with leggings or pants. It reminds me being a child walking to school in the snow and we would wear pants under our dresses.....ok, I know that dates me ;0 It really looks beautiful on you as a dress, great fit and style.
9/18/11 2:04 PM
tigergirl said...
This looks great - good job on the 'fix' for the belt too. I agree with the majority - best as a dress. Like you, I don't think my legs are my best feature (covering them gives the illusion of a much better shape than they have) and showing my knees ... let's just say I don't think it does anything positive for the shape which means that I have to lengthen nearly every dress pattern and I'm only 5'5". A tip I got from my mother was to have the hem end at the smallest part of the leg just under the knee, rather than on the knee, or more towards the calf and I have found that that works for me (actually gives the illusion that I have some shape in my calves but covers the knees). As FranG said, too long and it becomes a bit dowdy ....... too short and there are the (in my case, fat) KNEES. Seems to me that you've hit the spot. I've also found that due to the fact that everyone is looking from a higher vantage point (head height) rather than horizontal to the knee, a little above that spot 'appears' to be on that spot to others - I hope that makes sense. I agree with Barbara R about the ankle straps on shoes too, my legs aren't long enough to cut off a few inches of length - sling backs are my friends. I really think that if you wear it a few times you'll get used to it, who knows, you may find yourself suddenly rehemming a lot of your dresses and skirts.
9/18/11 3:13 PM
prttynpnk said...
You look lovely in a beautifully made dress~ enjoy it!
9/18/11 5:07 PM
rivergum said...
a life in stitches, I bumped up the thread about the fabric markets in Holland, where I gush shamelessly as well as giving some links where you can look up times and places. Thank you everyone for your help. I have decided that I really need to get over my 'knee length skirt phobia' before I'm too set in my ways to cope with change. I have been avoiding skirts because of the length issue, but I really want to wear them again. Most of my shoes are bought to look good with pants, but I do have a pair of white sling backs which I think will work well. I am also planning to use tan on my legs, which will function like hose, but be more comfortable and more suitable for our climate.
9/18/11 5:33 PM
ggf2005 said...
lovely dress and as my deceased husband always said to me no ugly(chunky) shoes the right heel will do wonders for your legs ( I have the opposite problem "thin" legs).
9/19/11 4:29 PM
waltzqueen said...
I'll chime in as well! The dress and the fabric are lovely! The dress looks terrific on you! The length is JUST RIGHT for the dress and for you. Buy or make more skirts and dresses this length! Sling backs-yes. Colored hose - no. The dress is too summery and the fabric is too fine and light. Now, when are you going to make this dress for me?
9/19/11 7:59 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
I'm so glad this worked out for you. I think you are just used to a different look and the length is perfect for a dress so - in your words - get over it! You could try it with nude tone or strappier sandals or slingbacks rather than ankle straps. Just experiment and give the shorter skirts & dresses a chance. Seriously I only started wearing knee length dresses a few years ago too and it took a bit of getting used to, but looks so much better on me.
9/19/11 8:36 PM
Roary said...
I love this dress on you and now need to make it! Thank you so much for such a helpful review. And you look simply gorgeous with just the dress -- no leggings or pants.
11/26/11 9:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Taylor Made Designs TMB-161 Sassy Skirts
photo
Review by Cook Mae on 5/23/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1025
photo
Review by Lisette on 1/11/12
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us