Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Self Drafted Pattern: 187297-1012 (Child's Tinker Bell Costume) - Type:Costumes
Review submitted in Costume Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 485 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 132
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/22/11 0:30 AM
Last Updated:10/4/11 11:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
That's the cutest Tinkerbell I've ever seen! Nice sewing!
9/22/11 0:54 AM
debbieB said...
The dress and your daughter are just adorable!
9/22/11 1:08 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally, utterly adorable, both your daugther and the costume!! I love the shoes and wings too. The nude shoulder straps are a brilliant idea. Great job!
9/22/11 3:29 AM
popo said...
Wow!!! You did a marvelous job!
9/22/11 12:40 PM
ConnieBJ said...
What a sweet Tinkerbell! Wonderful job!
9/22/11 1:56 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful job! You really thought this one out very carefully and it shows.
9/22/11 2:36 PM
rmusic1 said...
well worth the effort, and what a lovely photo of your daughter showing off all your hard work (which really paid off!).
9/22/11 5:54 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks cute!
9/22/11 6:33 PM
Pinkytoo said...
Side view picture = CUTEST THING EVER!
9/22/11 6:37 PM
JillyBe said...
You know I think your daughter is the most adorable thing EVER, and this costume just confirms it! What a great job you did! Impeccable details, as always :)
9/22/11 11:44 PM
Terri A said...
Isn't this darling!
9/23/11 0:02 AM
Judy Kski said...
What a cute costume. She'll be a hit on Halloween.
9/23/11 0:13 AM
JTink said...
Tinkerbell never looked so lovely ;-)
9/23/11 10:25 AM
Raye Ann said...
Too cute for words! Terrific job on the Tink costume.
9/23/11 10:56 AM
MorganAdcock said...
What a great costume! Your daughter looks like the perfect Tinker Bell in it. I'm sure she'll be a standout on Halloween!
9/23/11 2:19 PM
marec said...
ahhhhh, my heart....
9/23/11 4:25 PM
Puppy said...
Oh, that is knock-your-socks-off adorable. What a cute thing.
9/23/11 5:04 PM
Finicky Petite said...
This is probably the cutest Haloween costume I've seen in years! And so much better than a purchased costume...
9/23/11 6:39 PM
Aroura said...
Thank you all for the really wonderful and nice comments! :)
9/23/11 10:35 PM
marvelous said...
Fantastic job! I too am disappointed with most commercial character patterns that don't look authentic. (Hence my self-drafted/pieced together costume last year!) You did a wonderful job of capturing all the details that make Tinkerbell so unique and not just a generic fairy. Your daughter is absolutely adorable as well! Bravo!
9/23/11 11:31 PM
SheBear0320 said...
You did an amazing job on getting just the right look for Tinkerbell and of course your DD is adorable. Bravo on your first self-drafted pattern -- your attention to detail has once again really paid off with a stunning result.
9/26/11 10:59 AM
KamiSue2 said...
That's adorable!!! Your daughter makes the perfect Tinkerbell.
9/27/11 11:35 AM
21wale said...
So adorable! I love the rustic-ness which makes it more "historically" accurate.
9/27/11 8:06 PM
Gelbean said...
The most perfect Tinkerbell ever! DD is adorable and costume is amazing!
10/1/11 5:58 PM
Gail in Western WA said...
You were very successful! Beautiful costume. How nice that she even has Tinkerbell hair!
10/1/11 10:30 PM
Heatherrique said...
Your beautiful Tinkerbell is very fortunate to have a mom who is a very gifted designer!
10/3/11 0:00 AM
Kathy7661 said...
Your daughter is sooo cute! Wonderful job!
10/4/11 9:02 AM
Aroura said...
Again, thank you all for the really nice comments! I can hardly wait until Halloween. :)
10/4/11 9:41 PM
susie k said...
She is adorable!
10/5/11 0:51 AM
jannw said...
adorable!!! She will remember this one! You did a fantastic job!
10/5/11 1:26 AM
jmma said...
Great job! and your daughter is beyond adorable.
10/5/11 8:38 AM
becca a said...
What a fabulous Tinkerbell costume! Your daughter is adorable!
10/5/11 9:02 PM
SandraB said...
So adorable!! The costume is very cute too.
10/12/11 8:32 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
I just started making a Tinkerbell costume. I have the simplicity Disney tinker Faries pattern and am disappointed in how complicated it is and how Tinkerbell doesn't look like Tinkerbell. I will probably make something similar to your costume and just use the bought pattern as a starting point. You daughter looks so cute in her real Tinkerbell outfit.
10/15/11 1:11 AM
Arline said...
You did a wonderful job and your daughter and her costume are both beautiful. Can't get over how you bleached her hair so perfectly, too!! lol
10/16/11 6:59 PM
Arline said...
You did a wonderful job and your daughter and her costume are both beautiful. Can't get over how you bleached her hair so perfectly, too!! lol What paint did you use to colorize the shoes? They look perfect and such a flexible paint!
10/16/11 7:22 PM
Aroura said...
Sweetheart3, Thanks! I hope to see how your Tinker Bell turns out as well. I know the commercial patterns for this are terrible, aren't they? Arline, I didn't bleach her hair...it's actually that color in real life. :) She has been a toehead since birth, just like her dad. Check out all my old reviews going back to when she was 1, I sew for her a lot. And I used GAC9000 (a fabric paint medium) mixed with regular acrylic paint (colors I mixed up to match the dress), to paint the shoes. I have a entire blog post about the shoes, if you are interested. You should check out the GAC9000, it can turn ANY acrylic paint into fabric paint, and then it becomes flexible, and washable too. :)
10/17/11 10:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

New Look 6674
photo
Review by myeclectic... on 6/7/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Sketchbook Shirt + Shorts Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Lemon Drop Dress Digital Pattern ( XXS-L)

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6003 Misses' Skirts
photo
Review by ak21 on 10/9/13
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6709 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
Simplicity 1450 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us