SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1961 (Sew Simple Misses' Knit Cardi Wrap)

1 more reviews
Viewed 445 times 
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About slmstylestarstarstarstar
OR United States
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews: 159 (patterns: 154)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 89 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/11 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/26/11 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
slmstyle said... (10/12/11 12:09 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great comments everybody! Shorte85: the elastic is stitched on the center back neck seam allowance. This creates a cool "scrunch" effect on the back of the neck and pulls the back of the collar area together to fit snugly at the neck. I was confused about this at first as well, but I wouldn't skip this step because it will be too much fabric there otherwise.
shorte85 said... (10/11/11 4:52 PM) Reply
I bought this pattern, and this is my first sewing project when it comes to "clothing". I do have a question for those who have also made this cardi-wrap, did you decide whether you wanted to use the elastic or where does the elastic come in at? I'm very curious about that. Thanks
kiddo said... (10/3/11 10:17 PM) Reply
Great cardi, great review!
Sue Anfang said... (9/27/11 12:42 PM) Reply
Great, thanks for the review! I have this on my 'next to sew' list and the comments about the length were very helpful!
MelissaB in WA said... (9/27/11 11:18 AM) Reply
Very cute! I just made a gray one similar from a McCalls pattern over the weekend that I need to review. Love the color - but then again, red is my favorite color. :-)
KensingtonCrab said... (9/27/11 10:31 AM) Reply
Great cardi and I think that color looks wonderful on you!
mickisews said... (9/27/11 8:46 AM) Reply
Beautifull!! I was thinking of getting this pattern, and I was wondering how tall you are. I am 5'3" and most of these types of Cardis (retail or patterns) are too long for me. Six inches off the bottom looks like the perfect length for you
Mazzygirl said... (9/27/11 4:19 AM) Reply
such a gorgeous colour on you - beautiful!
jenleeC said... (9/27/11 2:12 AM) Reply
This looks so RTW and way more expensive than your $30 outlay. This is why we love to sew!
Mary in MS said... (9/27/11 0:19 AM) Reply
LOVE that cardigan, must get that pattern :)
CynthiaSue said... (9/26/11 11:57 PM) Reply
Awesome cardigan! Looks like you bought it!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Marfy 3248

photo
by: starryfish

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Pattern Details
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Pattern Details