SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 1961 (Sew Simple Misses' Knit Cardi Wrap)

1 more reviews
Viewed 440 times 
Reviewed by:slmstyle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About slmstylestarstarstarstar
OR United States
Member since: 9/17/08
Reviews written: 139
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/26/11 1:07 AM
Last Updated:9/26/11 10:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CynthiaSue said...
Awesome cardigan! Looks like you bought it!
9/26/11 11:57 PM
Mary in MS said...
LOVE that cardigan, must get that pattern :)
9/27/11 0:19 AM
jenleeC said...
This looks so RTW and way more expensive than your $30 outlay. This is why we love to sew!
9/27/11 2:12 AM
Mazzygirl said...
such a gorgeous colour on you - beautiful!
9/27/11 4:19 AM
mickisews said...
Beautifull!! I was thinking of getting this pattern, and I was wondering how tall you are. I am 5'3" and most of these types of Cardis (retail or patterns) are too long for me. Six inches off the bottom looks like the perfect length for you
9/27/11 8:46 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Great cardi and I think that color looks wonderful on you!
9/27/11 10:31 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Very cute! I just made a gray one similar from a McCalls pattern over the weekend that I need to review. Love the color - but then again, red is my favorite color. :-)
9/27/11 11:18 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Great, thanks for the review! I have this on my 'next to sew' list and the comments about the length were very helpful!
9/27/11 12:42 PM
kiddo said...
Great cardi, great review!
10/3/11 10:17 PM
shorte85 said...
I bought this pattern, and this is my first sewing project when it comes to "clothing". I do have a question for those who have also made this cardi-wrap, did you decide whether you wanted to use the elastic or where does the elastic come in at? I'm very curious about that. Thanks
10/11/11 4:52 PM
slmstyle said...
Thanks for the great comments everybody! Shorte85: the elastic is stitched on the center back neck seam allowance. This creates a cool "scrunch" effect on the back of the neck and pulls the back of the collar area together to fit snugly at the neck. I was confused about this at first as well, but I wouldn't skip this step because it will be too much fabric there otherwise.
10/12/11 12:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
No Pattern Used RTW Contest Entry

photo
by: arianamani...

Review