Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5679 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 902 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/11 9:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Ann, I love the color and the print of your top. But your review convinced me I don't want to try the pattern, so thank you so much for reviewing this. It is an awfully cute style and looks good on you, but with sloping shoulders and problems fitting in that area, it just wouldn't work for me, so I appreciate your time to let us know what the issues are. Where was your cruise to???? Mary Taylor
9/28/11 11:41 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I love how this all looks on you and especially how it is styled with the tights and comfy shoes. I probably don't need the neck area problems since I have lots of those with narrow shoulders and sloping ones but I would really enjoy something like this outfit.
9/29/11 6:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
I don't mean to scare anyone off from the pattern as it is pretty easy to take in those raglan shoulders. Taylormade: the cruise was on the Russian Waterways from Moscow to St. Petersburg. A great trip that also included Kiev. Hard to believe that in about 6 weeks all those waterways will be frozen solid enough to drive a truck on them.
9/29/11 9:45 AM
carolynw said...
I love this top - I looked at this pattern and wasn't sure but think I will try it and use your review as a guide as to what to watch for. Love the fabric too. Thanks for the very helpful review
9/29/11 10:53 AM
Barbara V said...
That is one smart looking top in very pretty fabric that looks wonderful on you! I love the asymmetric side pocket.
9/29/11 11:06 AM
DorothyK said...
Very cute top. The fabric is great for the pattern. The fabric is fabulous on you.
9/29/11 11:55 AM
karen n said...
Love your top and almost got this pattern for the same view you picked with the pocket. Wonder if just making it a size or two smaller (maybe in the shoulder area) will resolve some of the problems? Can't wait to see some more reviews on this as the top is so cute!
9/29/11 11:58 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth fussing over. Your top turned out great. I LOVE the fabric!
9/29/11 1:31 PM
sfshaza said...
Well, it's too bad that the pattern was so fiddly, because the top looks great! I especially love it with your Onde jacket. (I have been really wanting to make that jacket.) Your whole ensemble is a KER-PLOW!!!! Which means, really great. :D
9/30/11 3:53 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
The top looks great. I am fortunate you tested it for me. I'm going to cut a muslin out of cheap fabric today and see how I'll need to modify for me. Nice to see part of your travel wardrobe. I've taken one of those cruises from Amsterdam to Salzburg, really great.
12/27/11 2:14 PM
jlg said...
This ended up great on you.
1/2/12 6:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4138 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by kristinlal... on 7/25/10
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other The New Handmade
photo
Review by AlisonK318 on 6/6/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us