SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 926 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/11 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
taylormade said...
Ann, I love the color and the print of your top. But your review convinced me I don't want to try the pattern, so thank you so much for reviewing this. It is an awfully cute style and looks good on you, but with sloping shoulders and problems fitting in that area, it just wouldn't work for me, so I appreciate your time to let us know what the issues are. Where was your cruise to???? Mary Taylor
9/28/11 11:41 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I love how this all looks on you and especially how it is styled with the tights and comfy shoes. I probably don't need the neck area problems since I have lots of those with narrow shoulders and sloping ones but I would really enjoy something like this outfit.
9/29/11 6:48 AM
Ann Smith said...
I don't mean to scare anyone off from the pattern as it is pretty easy to take in those raglan shoulders. Taylormade: the cruise was on the Russian Waterways from Moscow to St. Petersburg. A great trip that also included Kiev. Hard to believe that in about 6 weeks all those waterways will be frozen solid enough to drive a truck on them.
9/29/11 9:45 AM
carolynw said...
I love this top - I looked at this pattern and wasn't sure but think I will try it and use your review as a guide as to what to watch for. Love the fabric too. Thanks for the very helpful review
9/29/11 10:53 AM
Barbara V said...
That is one smart looking top in very pretty fabric that looks wonderful on you! I love the asymmetric side pocket.
9/29/11 11:06 AM
DorothyK said...
Very cute top. The fabric is great for the pattern. The fabric is fabulous on you.
9/29/11 11:55 AM
karen n said...
Love your top and almost got this pattern for the same view you picked with the pocket. Wonder if just making it a size or two smaller (maybe in the shoulder area) will resolve some of the problems? Can't wait to see some more reviews on this as the top is so cute!
9/29/11 11:58 AM
SewWil said...
It was worth fussing over. Your top turned out great. I LOVE the fabric!
9/29/11 1:31 PM
sfshaza said...
Well, it's too bad that the pattern was so fiddly, because the top looks great! I especially love it with your Onde jacket. (I have been really wanting to make that jacket.) Your whole ensemble is a KER-PLOW!!!! Which means, really great. :D
9/30/11 3:53 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
The top looks great. I am fortunate you tested it for me. I'm going to cut a muslin out of cheap fabric today and see how I'll need to modify for me. Nice to see part of your travel wardrobe. I've taken one of those cruises from Amsterdam to Salzburg, really great.
12/27/11 2:14 PM
jlg said...
This ended up great on you.
1/2/12 6:14 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8323

photo
by: globalgran

Review
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
The Whimsy Bag

The Whimsy Bag

Buy Now