SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5679 (Misses' Top)

16 more reviews
Viewed 968 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
Friend of PR

About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 348 (patterns: 345)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 394 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/28/11 9:00 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
jlg said... (1/2/12 6:14 PM) Reply
This ended up great on you.
Leslie Bonner said... (12/27/11 2:14 PM) Reply
The top looks great. I am fortunate you tested it for me. I'm going to cut a muslin out of cheap fabric today and see how I'll need to modify for me. Nice to see part of your travel wardrobe. I've taken one of those cruises from Amsterdam to Salzburg, really great.
sfshaza said... (9/30/11 3:53 AM) Reply
Well, it's too bad that the pattern was so fiddly, because the top looks great! I especially love it with your Onde jacket. (I have been really wanting to make that jacket.) Your whole ensemble is a KER-PLOW!!!! Which means, really great. :D
SewWil said... (9/29/11 1:31 PM) Reply
It was worth fussing over. Your top turned out great. I LOVE the fabric!
karen n said... (9/29/11 11:58 AM) Reply
Love your top and almost got this pattern for the same view you picked with the pocket. Wonder if just making it a size or two smaller (maybe in the shoulder area) will resolve some of the problems? Can't wait to see some more reviews on this as the top is so cute!
DorothyK said... (9/29/11 11:55 AM) Reply
Very cute top. The fabric is great for the pattern. The fabric is fabulous on you.
Barbara V said... (9/29/11 11:06 AM) Reply
That is one smart looking top in very pretty fabric that looks wonderful on you! I love the asymmetric side pocket.
carolynw said... (9/29/11 10:53 AM) Reply
I love this top - I looked at this pattern and wasn't sure but think I will try it and use your review as a guide as to what to watch for. Love the fabric too. Thanks for the very helpful review
Ann Smith said... (9/29/11 9:45 AM) Reply
I don't mean to scare anyone off from the pattern as it is pretty easy to take in those raglan shoulders. Taylormade: the cruise was on the Russian Waterways from Moscow to St. Petersburg. A great trip that also included Kiev. Hard to believe that in about 6 weeks all those waterways will be frozen solid enough to drive a truck on them.
mssewcrazy said... (9/29/11 6:48 AM) Reply
I love how this all looks on you and especially how it is styled with the tights and comfy shoes. I probably don't need the neck area problems since I have lots of those with narrow shoulders and sloping ones but I would really enjoy something like this outfit.
taylormade said... (9/28/11 11:41 PM) Reply
Ann, I love the color and the print of your top. But your review convinced me I don't want to try the pattern, so thank you so much for reviewing this. It is an awfully cute style and looks good on you, but with sloping shoulders and problems fitting in that area, it just wouldn't work for me, so I appreciate your time to let us know what the issues are. Where was your cruise to???? Mary Taylor
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Sis Boom Devon Tunic

by: erinkjones

Vogue Patterns 1212

by: Denise Kov...

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Pattern Details
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Pattern Details