Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1238 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 608 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR
About DorothyKstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 87
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 80 people
patterns reviewed: 86
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/29/11 7:02 PM
Last Updated:9/29/11 7:06 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Absolutely love it. It looks wonderful on you.
9/29/11 7:09 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
WOW!!! Love this! Very flattering.. it is a dog on the pattern envelope, all I could ever think was what would THAT to do my hip fluff! Yours makes you look tall and sleek. Your dress is stunning... got to have this one before it is OOP... You certainly have good vision & imagination to see the design for what it could be. I applaud your result!
9/29/11 7:34 PM
bethsews said...
I agree with Nancy - Vogue needs to contact you and get your picture on the pattern - much better than the one they have! very nice
9/29/11 8:25 PM
miausiau said...
I just passed this pattern on after thinking about it for a while. Your version is chic and unusual, an excellent choice all around. I was daunted by the length of the seams as well as the impossibility of alterations.
9/29/11 10:06 PM
JillyBe said...
Fabulous Fabric choices - you look great! I'm another who agrees that they would sell many more of this pattern if your version was on the envelope!
9/29/11 10:54 PM
nickelc624 said...
I agree with everyone else. I saw this, but did not like it at all, but your version has changed my mind. Yours is MUCH better than the envelope version. Very nice!!
9/29/11 10:55 PM
jenleeC said...
Love your version and your fabric choice really makes the most of this design.
9/29/11 11:03 PM
SewWil said...
Your fabric makes this dress! Awesome choice for this pattern. Looks wonderful on you!
9/29/11 11:20 PM
Ann Smith said...
A great dress. How clever of you to turn it around. I didn't realize you had done that.
9/30/11 0:38 AM
sfshaza said...
Dorothy, this looks great on you! I also love how it looks with the deeper neckline in the back. Tres chic!
9/30/11 3:30 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
What a stunning dress! Your fabric choices are wonderful.
9/30/11 7:38 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Wow, you are very creative with your pattern and fabric choices. I like this version best! :)
9/30/11 8:42 AM
NJcowgirl said...
You made a beautiful dress--so much nicer than the pattern photo. I agree with Nancy Rhodes that you had good vision and imagination to see the design for what you could do with it.
9/30/11 10:42 AM
DoggyGirl said...
When I first saw this pattern, I thought "how could this look good on anyone?" I was wrong -on you it's elegant and sophisticated - especially with the lower neckline in the back. Looks sort of 1920's chic viewed from behind. Now I've got to get this one....
9/30/11 11:20 AM
NVK said...
I agree that the dress has a 1920's chic look. Vogue should be paying you for selling this dress. You had the ability to find the perfect fabric for the dress and to rearrange how the dress was worn. Cudos!!
9/30/11 11:51 AM
NVK said...
I think the overlay reaching to the hem is perfect. I like it better then the version on the pattern envelope.
9/30/11 11:51 AM
portercs said...
Love this dress on you!
9/30/11 12:56 PM
a life in stitches said...
I'm absolutely amazed at this. Your dress looks so much slimmer, and better proportioned, than the pattern picture, and it's hard to analyse why. I suppose it has to do with the shortening, and a thinner drapier fabric. Love the change of neckline too.
9/30/11 2:19 PM
VtMartha said...
Oh, my! This is wonderful! I made a similar version which is fun to wear but it never occurred to me to wear it backward. Low front neckline solved!
9/30/11 3:18 PM
Diane333 said...
You look incredible in your dress. Very chic.
9/30/11 8:09 PM
WJean said...
Agreement is made with all of the positive words that were spoken about your creative use of this pattern. While cold weather is approaching my way, I will be sure to save your review and use it for next year's warm weather season. This pattern was purchased for my stash because I believed it to be very classy looking and you've made it so. Too, I appreciate you letting us know about using a smaller size and your approach to shortening the pattern. Your selection of fabrics will cause me to take a trip to Marcy Tilton's site!! Thanks again and you did a wonderfully creative job on this garment.
10/2/11 11:03 PM
Barbara V said...
It's a masterpiece! So creative you are in selecting and arranging very stylish fabrics for this beautiful dress. You wear it so well too.
10/6/11 1:13 PM
salsera7 said...
Very courageous of you to make this dress being the Vogue picture is so "ugly". It looks beautiful on you and I love the contrast.
10/8/11 9:11 PM
valkyrie01 said...
OMG you look fantastic! Your choice of contrast fabrics and accessories for the photo make this unique! It is very professional. Thank you for a really informative review; you see I am going to make it, but as a party dress. I found a very shiny dark gun metal silver fabric (making it all the same fabric). I am going to make it a bit smaller and (based on what you said) I am probably going to make the neckline a bit higher. WOW again! Awesome! :-D
11/18/11 8:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Simplicity 3686
photo
Review by cleverkitt... on 2/8/11
Read Review

Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 3943 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1433 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Nancy Zieman Santa Fe Dress and Top
photo
Review by donnagirl on 8/18/13
Read Review

Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book
Fitting Chapter from the Clever Sewing Tips Book

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

The Essential Tote
The Essential Tote

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us