SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Other> 40 (Pyramid Dress)

1 more reviews
Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:DorothyK
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About DorothyKstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/13/06
Reviews written: 88
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 87
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/30/11 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
Exciting is a great word for this. Lovely on you too. I have heard of this method, but haven't ventured into it myself. More fabulous inspiration from your adventures. Thanks for sharing.
9/30/11 11:20 PM
Elona said...
How brave of you to attack this most unusual pattern! The result is very, very pretty on you.
10/1/11 3:47 AM
jenleeC said...
Such a cool pattern! Love it! It reminds me of the Pattern Magic books in that the design and construction is so different from standard flat pattern making.
10/1/11 4:07 AM
NVK said...
I remember the first dress you made using the subtraction method. This is really a fun way to make an outfit. I like how well you look in the dress. It is fastinating to see the pattern cut out. I can't wait to see your next version.
10/1/11 8:15 AM
Patti B said...
What a stunning and very successful experiment. They look so interesting on you; are they fun to wear? Your accessories are the perfect finishing touch. Thanks for the reminder that we need to play more in the sewing room.
10/1/11 10:13 AM
rivergum said...
Ooooh, like, like, like! Thanks for being such an adventurous sewist and drawing my attention to these patterns. Your versions look fantastic and have really whetted my appetite.
10/1/11 5:57 PM
Irene said...
Wow, these are fabulous! The photo of your pattern layout is worth a thousand words--out of the box, indeed!
10/1/11 9:02 PM
Barbara V said...
Dorothy, I so enjoyed reading your review of your beautiful subtraction dress and tunic especially after seeing you wear the dress in person. I remember how rich and gorgeous it is, and all of the compliments you received from others who noticed it. I'm glad you posted the picture of the pattern layout which really helped demonstrate the concept of the garment. Nice work as always!
10/6/11 12:19 PM
kiddo said...
Thank you for a great review. Your results are fabulous! As stunning as the dresses are, I love that they emphasize your unique personality. Your choices of jewelry/accessories are perfect. Thank you for the great review
11/19/11 9:27 AM
jmcilyar said...
Have you made the longer-length dress? If so, did you use 60" wide or 45" and add to the width? If 45", did you add on two sides for balance? I would like to make this dress for a special party but would like it long!
3/3/12 4:52 PM
DorothyK said...
jmcilyar, I haven't made the longer dress yet but I did recently get fabric for it. It's 60" wide. For 45" fabric, I would definitely add the fabric equally on both sides.
3/4/12 8:29 AM
oldsewandsew said...
Interesting and unusual - I have this pattern, but am hesitant, as I'll need a FBA, and I'm not sure how to do that with this method. Any help you or others could give me would be appreciated. Your dress is really nice, and would love to get mine made up to see how I like it.
9/19/13 2:13 AM
ChixRule said...
you made both the patterns I also have! Great to see how well these turned out and have some tips. Looks great on you…especially like the tunic version.
1/3/14 5:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6943

photo
by: Salymander...

Review

Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now
McCall's 2912

photo
by: twotoast

Review