Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6392 (Children's/Girls' Raincoat, Hat, Boot Liners, Backpack and U) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 99 times 2 more reviews
Reviewed by:cahmad
photo
About cahmadstar
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/1/11 6:13 PM


See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Accessories    Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.16 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.16  List Price: $13.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marie367 said...
What a shame! It looks like a potentially cute coat. I have no experience with this kind of fabric but it looks like you did a good job in spite of it!
10/1/11 10:18 PM
marycds said...
Thanks for this review. I was thinking out using this type of fabric to make a coat for ny granddaughter in Seattle. I will reconsider.
10/2/11 1:13 AM
speekna said...
I've made a bunch (about 10) fairly complex women's hats out of laminated cotton, and although I agree that the fabric isn't as forgiving as "normal" fabric, there are some techniques you can use to make it work. First, it doesn't move under a presser foot very well - so after trying a number of approaches, I found that lubricating the laminate with a little sewing machine oil works beautifully. Second, I didn't hesitate to use pins - I just tried to keep the pinholes in the seam allowance. Third, fitting the pieces together is not easy - they don't "give" - so I just accepted that, and worked harder at pinning/clipping close together so seaming would be easier. The hats were from a Butterick pattern that includes several bags (haven't made those) and included a piece that sweeps from the brim up the crown. I sold about 10 of them at a local exercise club I belong to - they were a real "wow" item, and a wonderful umbrella replacement!
3/6/12 11:38 AM
MollyApple said...
I feel your frustration at the fabric, such a pity because it is so pretty! A roller or teflon foot may help the feed problem if you ever bring yourself to use it again. When I can't pin, I use bull-dog clips, they don't tend to mark or snag like paperclips can and hold the fabric firm. Hope your daughter got some wear out of this labour of love. Many people would have given up mid-process so you should be proud you finished it.
6/26/12 2:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by cindy-lou on 8/2/07
Read Review

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Super Skinny Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1084 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Violet Els... on 4/15/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6916 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2396 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us