Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7889 - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 1346 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:AprilDawn
photo
About AprilDawn
WA USA
Member since: 4/29/04
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/27/04 3:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
GorgeousFabrics said...
What a cute bag! I love the contrasting lining.
9/27/04 3:21 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Your bag turned out so beautifully! Your bag's name really made me chuckle. I've had a few projects like that too. :-)
9/27/04 4:15 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very attractive bag -- too bad it was so difficult. I really like the size of it too.
9/27/04 5:23 PM
BjP said...
Cute purse! Sorry you had so much trouble....I, too, hate doing projects that take a life of their own! Looks like you have a winner there, tho, so just enjoy it!
9/27/04 6:45 PM
Jan B. said...
Very cute--I'm into toile! Do you take requests? I'd love to see the other version with the rope handle made up ;-)
9/28/04 10:01 AM
Virginia said...
So do you think you could make a winter bag out of upholstery material or some heavy fabric? It looks beautiful. Virginia
9/30/04 7:19 PM
AprilDawn said...
I suppose I could make a heavier bag out of upholstery material, but I don't think my fingers could handle the handsewing it would take to stitch the handle and loops on. Ouch. The material I used was almost like a canvas. It was home dec material. with that and the lining it was very difficult to sew through all the layers by hand.
10/1/04 9:49 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
What a "cute" name for the bag! It's adorable. Would you consider photographing the pattern insert you drafted and posting it? It could save wannasews some headaches.
1/9/06 10:35 AM
hayesld said...
This is so cute! I think I want to make one for myself. I like the color choices too. I think i'll make the tabs the same as the lining though. Thanks for the tips! You can also get a hard particle board bottom from createforless.com and then cover it with the fabric. You could also use a really thick hard cardboard. That works well though you have to cut it to fit before you cover it. The covered board then sits inside the finished bag and can be removed if the bag needs to be soaked or spot cleaned. I'm making butterick pattern 4578 and had the same floppy problem.
12/13/06 11:32 AM
hat-and-bag-lady said...
Hey: I was interested in this particular pattern because it is the pattern that was used in Vogue Patterns Magazine by Sandra Betzina when she wrote a column about making handbags. I guess that it looks easier than it is. But, it is an attractive bag.
2/9/07 8:02 PM
skillet said...
I've sewn this bag several times and it's gets easier. If you choose a basic printed cotton use a mid weight fusible pellon on the body but NOT the tabs. On the gusset use buckram. It will hold the bag up. Also I did not hand sew the lining to the tabs but rather sewed the handle tabs, body & lining together using a zipper foot and going really slowly. It made me uncomfortable to rely on hand stitching at such a critical stress point of the bag.
9/23/10 10:57 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 3845 Threads
photo
Review by Tearsa on 12/11/07
Read Review

McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6758 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6480 Pattern
New Look 6480 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket Plaza Jacket
photo
Review by SueV on 2/27/07
Read Review

MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Super Socks Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $3.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Men's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Day Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us