Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 2718 (Misses' Fitting Shell) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 654 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:ArtAttack
photo
Friend of PR
About ArtAttackstarstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 5/11/11
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 78 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/3/11 1:03 AM
Last Updated:10/3/11 1:09 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryDB said...
Thanks for the thorough review. I just bought this pattern and "Fit for Real People" with the intention of making a sloper. Your review is very helpful!
10/3/11 2:36 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
I have never sewn one of these before and am so glad to read a review from someone who has. Thank you! The pencil skirt result alone is worth the investment.
10/3/11 6:52 AM
KathleenS said...
It looks great. It might be worth putting the sleeves in - having got this far - just in case it reveals anything (I personally have problems with sleeved dresses that I don't notice in sleeveless garments.) I didn't realise this sloper pattern had cup sizes so thanks for mentioning that. I think when I bought a sloper pattern ages back it came with FBA instructions rather than cup sizes.
10/3/11 6:55 AM
jenleeC said...
Very interesting! I am glad to hear you recommend this process as I have the Vogue fitting shell on my desk at the moment and have been trying to find the inspiration to spend a lot of time on an unwearable garment!! Now I am inspired, thanks!!
10/3/11 10:05 AM
ArtAttack said...
KathleenS...thanks. I did fit the sleeve and did not have any fitting issues there. Pati and Marta's advice was not to bother setting in the sleeve unless there were fitting issues. I took advantage of having permission not to do so!
10/3/11 12:28 PM
sewbehind said...
This is something that I have always wanted to do. I even have the sloper patterns for Vogue, Butterick, Burda and New Look! Your review explains this process very clearly. I'm sure you will find that this benefits you immensely.
10/3/11 4:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Fabulous fit! You did a great job, I am sure it will be very helpful.
10/3/11 9:53 PM
Kandita said...
What an awsome fit! I can tell you put a lot of work into it. Should really help you in the future. I'm very interested in doing this also.
10/4/11 10:10 AM
Gendun said...
Ohhh... THANK YOU! I so badly wanted to do this, and a custom dressmaker here (who services the posh set matrons) told me McCalls had the best one. Apparently he makes one for each of his regular customers. Anyway, I ordered it last week, and your excellent & thorough review has really notched up my confidence. Can't wait! btw... my pattern has not arrived from McCalls yet. Do you have a rough ballpark idea on the yardage/meterage needed for the med sizes, please? Thanks again! :)
6/17/12 4:00 PM
ArtAttack said...
Gendun, I sent you a private email with fabric requirements. Thanks for the comment!
6/18/12 1:52 PM
prostheticsgirl said...
ArtAttack, I have a quick question as regards to choosing the pattern size based on the high bust. I assume you correlate your high bust to the closest "bust" measurement on the back of the pattern and not on the finished garment measures (which is how I typically decide which size to cut). If so, in my last dress I should have cut a 12 bodice which seems that it would be too big. Is this also the size I should purchase to make my sloper?
10/30/12 4:25 PM
Gendun said...
Great review - the detail will be extremely useful. I got hubby to agree to help me over the Xmas holidays. Score one for the girls! (hehe)
12/26/12 8:12 PM
pinkli said...
great review, thank you!
4/16/14 3:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Oliver + S Popover sundress
photo
Review by VivianZ on 8/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern
SewBaby Easy to Sew Baby Layette Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Darling Ranges Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2948
photo
Review by SouthernSt... on 2/20/04
Read Review

McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 5499 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6829 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us