SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2702 

10 more reviews
Viewed 487 times 
Reviewed by:Rikki23
photo

 
 
About Rikki23star
CO USA
Member since: 2/20/11
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/11 2:01 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Huntwoman said...
It does look cute in the picture, maybe it would make a good maternity dress for someone?
10/4/11 6:09 AM
no7262 said...
I think that if you put some fish darts in the back waist it will give it a nice shape. Also try taking in the waist at the sides. keep this from being a wadder! It looks so cute from the front. Nora :)
10/4/11 7:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh dear, it's a pity it isn't flattering because you did an adorable job on it. That I cannot wear the shapeless look has taken me many bitter tries to figure out; I feel you.
10/4/11 10:47 AM
Rikki23 said...
thanks for the advice no7262...I'd really like to save this one, so I will definitely give it a try! And if that doesn't work, i'll do as Huntwoman suggested, and where it if I get pregnant ;) Thanks nicegirl, you get me!
10/4/11 1:05 PM
no7262 said...
Rikki, let us know how it goes for you! i always have to make adjustments to shapeless dress! Nora :)
10/4/11 5:28 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Hi Rickki, I had the same problems with this top - ie shapelessness. After 6 months in the bottom of the cupboard I have hauled it out. I did as Nora suggested actually. Put the darts in the back, took in the side seams and then sewed the pleats in the front down about 5inches. It looks better, probably wearable - at least round the house.
10/5/11 1:40 AM
debbieB said...
Would a belt help? It is so cute,I'd hate not to be able to wear it.
10/7/11 7:32 PM
Batik said...
Looks so cute from the front, I wonder if the Lisette Portfolio dress would work for you? Some people have made really cute ones and it has a similar look in the front.
10/19/11 2:38 AM
AppleGirl said...
Add elastic shearing to the upper back like the MadeByRae Washi dress. That will solve the problem & you can wear your cute dress. Google MadeByRae!!!
1/23/13 3:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Vogue Patterns 1288

photo
by: 1SewSweet

Review
Lolita Patterns Spearmint Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now