Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2702 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 479 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Rikki23
photo
About Rikki23star
CO USA
Member since: 2/20/11
Reviews written: 63
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 63
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/11 2:01 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Huntwoman said...
It does look cute in the picture, maybe it would make a good maternity dress for someone?
10/4/11 6:09 AM
no7262 said...
I think that if you put some fish darts in the back waist it will give it a nice shape. Also try taking in the waist at the sides. keep this from being a wadder! It looks so cute from the front. Nora :)
10/4/11 7:11 AM
nicegirl said...
Oh dear, it's a pity it isn't flattering because you did an adorable job on it. That I cannot wear the shapeless look has taken me many bitter tries to figure out; I feel you.
10/4/11 10:47 AM
Rikki23 said...
thanks for the advice no7262...I'd really like to save this one, so I will definitely give it a try! And if that doesn't work, i'll do as Huntwoman suggested, and where it if I get pregnant ;) Thanks nicegirl, you get me!
10/4/11 1:05 PM
no7262 said...
Rikki, let us know how it goes for you! i always have to make adjustments to shapeless dress! Nora :)
10/4/11 5:28 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Hi Rickki, I had the same problems with this top - ie shapelessness. After 6 months in the bottom of the cupboard I have hauled it out. I did as Nora suggested actually. Put the darts in the back, took in the side seams and then sewed the pleats in the front down about 5inches. It looks better, probably wearable - at least round the house.
10/5/11 1:40 AM
debbieB said...
Would a belt help? It is so cute,I'd hate not to be able to wear it.
10/7/11 7:32 PM
Batik said...
Looks so cute from the front, I wonder if the Lisette Portfolio dress would work for you? Some people have made really cute ones and it has a similar look in the front.
10/19/11 2:38 AM
AppleGirl said...
Add elastic shearing to the upper back like the MadeByRae Washi dress. That will solve the problem & you can wear your cute dress. Google MadeByRae!!!
1/23/13 3:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-122 Dress
photo
Review by MissCelie on 2/27/12
Read Review

McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4150
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/21/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us