Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 7975 or Kwik Sew 3258">The Contemporary Couture Jacket Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 9948 (Half-Size Dress)

Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:wingamajig
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About wingamajigstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/27/11
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/6/11 7:46 PM
Last Updated:10/6/11 7:51 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
wingamajig said... (11/16/11 0:03 AM) Reply
Yep, Time4me is correct about the half sizes. From a vintage Sears Catalog: "...are you a shorter woman's size? For the mature figure 5 feet 3 inches and under without shoes. Shorter from shoulder to waist and fuller throughout than Miss's figure." To compare to Miss's - a size 18 on this chart from 1950 is 37, 30, 39.5 and a 20 is 39, 32, 41 - but the half size 18 1/2 is 39, 33, 42 - so petite and also larger proportions.
Time4me said... (10/7/11 12:10 PM) Reply
Half sizes are for women (pattern companies called them "stout") who are 5'3" and shorter. So, yes, petite LOL! Really lovely dress. I adore the plaid. I have my eye out for a plaid cotton and yours is just lovely.
cleverkitty said... (10/7/11 9:42 AM) Reply
does look great on you despite all the fitting you had to do ,I learned something too about half sizes in these vintage patterns.
happytobehere said... (10/7/11 8:57 AM) Reply
I agree that half size means petite. Your dress looks very fun to wear.
Auntchelle said... (10/7/11 3:31 AM) Reply
I also think you did a wonderful job. Looks like a fun dress to wear. (I believe that a vintage 'half size' means that it's a petite cut. I could be wrong tho'!)
sewbarbie said... (10/7/11 2:16 AM) Reply
I think you did a great job!
21wale said... (10/6/11 11:47 PM) Reply
Very neat! I like the plaid. And how interesting to cut open the darts.
annie1129 said... (10/6/11 9:29 PM) Reply
It looks like good fit to me, nice use of the fabric.
Aroura said... (10/6/11 7:54 PM) Reply
I've seen vintage patterns before that say "half size". What exactly does that mean? Is the whole pattern half scale, or does it just mean it's between sizes (like the 18-1/2 listed)? Very pretty dress! Great job and the fitting details. It is very colorful, love the fabric! Great dress, it looks vintage but also very modern and wearable.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 100492-1046

photo
by: petro

Review
Folkwear 207

photo
by: rohien

Review
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Pattern Details