Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1073 (MISSES' DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 778 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Catherine Daze
photo
About Catherine Dazestarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/11 10:20 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Marge99 said...
You look great in your dress! I have long admired this pattern, but I'm not brave enough to attempt those tucks yet. Well done to you!
10/8/11 10:37 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Very impressive. Impeccable work, beautiful dress. Thanks for the review.
10/8/11 10:37 AM
sunnysewer said...
Fantastic! I am so happy to see this dress made up, this pattern has fascinated me for a while. Looks great on you. thanks for all the interesting info on construction on your blog.
10/8/11 10:44 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Ooh! I've been hoping to see someone tackle this dress - and your version is FANTASTIC! Tres chic!
10/8/11 11:02 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Love that!
10/8/11 11:28 AM
kkkkaty said...
wow, that is lovely! Nice work....
10/8/11 11:47 AM
DorothyK said...
I so impressed that you did this dress - and so well! It is fabulous and looks great on you. I have this pattern but never really intended to make it. Now I have second thoughts. Thank you for your thoughtful review. It will come in handy when I tackle the job.
10/8/11 12:59 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is so cool and you look fantastic, as usual.
10/8/11 2:02 PM
miausiau said...
Don't forget to lengthen the zipper if you lengthen the torso. The wavy zipper is likely caused by excess stretching as you surmised (zipper ends up shorter than fabric). I find ease stitching beforehand can help a lot as does the interfacing. A hand picked zipper can also help you feel your way through the process. Its a fabulous pattern and you did a great job!! Also a YKK Beulon knit zipper is super light and falls better under knits. These can be hard to find but a shop near me sells them.
10/8/11 2:30 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow! I've been following along on your blog and I'm impressed you finished this! Not only that, it looks amazing on you! Great job.
10/8/11 3:55 PM
inkstain said...
Definitely one of your best yet, and again, it's so you. I love your signature style. Makes me want to read more William Gibson novels.
10/8/11 4:23 PM
lorenakitty said...
You look amazing! What a smashing dress! I also say 'thank you' for such great details you shared in your blog.
10/8/11 5:22 PM
becca a said...
This is an amazing dress! It looks fabulous on you, and I love the pintuck details. I admire you for tackling this one as I have pulled it out of my stash and put it back into the "do later" pile numerous times.
10/8/11 5:39 PM
21wale said...
Wow! Very impressive! It looks great on you.
10/8/11 6:32 PM
Fran G said...
Fabulous dress! Details are outstanding and the fit along with your work are amazing!
10/8/11 7:24 PM
tiadia said...
Perfect! The dress is perfect!
10/8/11 8:08 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fantastic job. I have this pattern in my stash and I've just been inspired to add it to my fall/winter wardrobe project list.
10/8/11 8:53 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fantastic job. I have this pattern in my stash and I've just been inspired to add it to my fall/winter wardrobe project list.
10/8/11 8:53 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Really awesome dress! I like how it ended up and the challenge would be great! Thanks for the thorough review!
10/8/11 11:32 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Really awesome dress! I like how it ended up and the challenge would be great! Thanks for the thorough review!
10/8/11 11:32 PM
Terri A said...
This is just WOW!
10/9/11 0:26 AM
petro said...
Impressive work! Thanks for such a comprehensive review, the dress looks terrific on you.
10/9/11 4:23 AM
Doobee64 said...
Brilliant work!!! Well done on sticking it out to the end. Your reviews on the various parts of this dress are a great read. And you look fantastic in the finished version!
10/9/11 4:28 AM
moushka said...
How exciting to see your review of this pattern! Your dress is exquisite; the style is made for you. Thanks for sharing so many details on your blog. Terrific review.
10/9/11 4:30 AM
mm said...
Wonderful dress.
10/9/11 8:53 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks fantastic, what an amazing job! Those tucks look soooo cool, very nice.
10/9/11 11:36 AM
Athene said...
I have been waiting to see someone do this pattern and your results are exquisite. You are a lovely lady and this style looks fabulous on you. Thank you for the review.
10/10/11 0:30 AM
VivianZ said...
Amazing dress. I guess you have to have the perfect figure for it. It looks wonderful on you and you did a bang up job.
10/10/11 7:50 AM
valkyrie01 said...
It looks fantastic and it suits you! I quite like the army boots with it LOL...! I love the "ribs" aka pintucks. Like Dorothy I have this pattern and you have inspired me to get onto it!
11/18/11 9:15 PM
lauraborealis said...
Absolutely perfect. Great job!
9/25/12 5:42 PM
Phillis2 said...
Great job and thorough review. I've looked at this pattern for the longest time and I think I'll just keep looking and admiring those who'll tackle it. Great job.
11/16/12 3:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Butterick 5235
photo
Review by Sewlful on 3/10/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6354
photo
Review by Trinity. on 3/9/06
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us