SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1073 (MISSES' DRESS)

Viewed 792 times 
Reviewed by:Catherine Daze
photo

 
 
About Catherine Dazestarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/09
Reviews written: 49
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 49
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/8/11 10:20 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Phillis2 said...
Great job and thorough review. I've looked at this pattern for the longest time and I think I'll just keep looking and admiring those who'll tackle it. Great job.
11/16/12 3:37 PM
lauraborealis said...
Absolutely perfect. Great job!
9/25/12 5:42 PM
valkyrie01 said...
It looks fantastic and it suits you! I quite like the army boots with it LOL...! I love the "ribs" aka pintucks. Like Dorothy I have this pattern and you have inspired me to get onto it!
11/18/11 9:15 PM
VivianZ said...
Amazing dress. I guess you have to have the perfect figure for it. It looks wonderful on you and you did a bang up job.
10/10/11 7:50 AM
Athene said...
I have been waiting to see someone do this pattern and your results are exquisite. You are a lovely lady and this style looks fabulous on you. Thank you for the review.
10/10/11 0:30 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks fantastic, what an amazing job! Those tucks look soooo cool, very nice.
10/9/11 11:36 AM
mm said...
Wonderful dress.
10/9/11 8:53 AM
moushka said...
How exciting to see your review of this pattern! Your dress is exquisite; the style is made for you. Thanks for sharing so many details on your blog. Terrific review.
10/9/11 4:30 AM
madebyj said...
Brilliant work!!! Well done on sticking it out to the end. Your reviews on the various parts of this dress are a great read. And you look fantastic in the finished version!
10/9/11 4:28 AM
petro said...
Impressive work! Thanks for such a comprehensive review, the dress looks terrific on you.
10/9/11 4:23 AM
Terri A said...
This is just WOW!
10/9/11 0:26 AM
Sue Parrott said...
Really awesome dress! I like how it ended up and the challenge would be great! Thanks for the thorough review!
10/8/11 11:32 PM
Sue Parrott said...
Really awesome dress! I like how it ended up and the challenge would be great! Thanks for the thorough review!
10/8/11 11:32 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fantastic job. I have this pattern in my stash and I've just been inspired to add it to my fall/winter wardrobe project list.
10/8/11 8:53 PM
salsera7 said...
You did a fantastic job. I have this pattern in my stash and I've just been inspired to add it to my fall/winter wardrobe project list.
10/8/11 8:53 PM
tiadia said...
Perfect! The dress is perfect!
10/8/11 8:08 PM
Fran G said...
Fabulous dress! Details are outstanding and the fit along with your work are amazing!
10/8/11 7:24 PM
21wale said...
Wow! Very impressive! It looks great on you.
10/8/11 6:32 PM
becca a said...
This is an amazing dress! It looks fabulous on you, and I love the pintuck details. I admire you for tackling this one as I have pulled it out of my stash and put it back into the "do later" pile numerous times.
10/8/11 5:39 PM
lorenakitty said...
You look amazing! What a smashing dress! I also say 'thank you' for such great details you shared in your blog.
10/8/11 5:22 PM
inkstain said...
Definitely one of your best yet, and again, it's so you. I love your signature style. Makes me want to read more William Gibson novels.
10/8/11 4:23 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow! I've been following along on your blog and I'm impressed you finished this! Not only that, it looks amazing on you! Great job.
10/8/11 3:55 PM
miausiau said...
Don't forget to lengthen the zipper if you lengthen the torso. The wavy zipper is likely caused by excess stretching as you surmised (zipper ends up shorter than fabric). I find ease stitching beforehand can help a lot as does the interfacing. A hand picked zipper can also help you feel your way through the process. Its a fabulous pattern and you did a great job!! Also a YKK Beulon knit zipper is super light and falls better under knits. These can be hard to find but a shop near me sells them.
10/8/11 2:30 PM
birdmcfarland said...
This is so cool and you look fantastic, as usual.
10/8/11 2:02 PM
DorothyK said...
I so impressed that you did this dress - and so well! It is fabulous and looks great on you. I have this pattern but never really intended to make it. Now I have second thoughts. Thank you for your thoughtful review. It will come in handy when I tackle the job.
10/8/11 12:59 PM
kkkkaty said...
wow, that is lovely! Nice work....
10/8/11 11:47 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Love that!
10/8/11 11:28 AM
ClioBklyn said...
Ooh! I've been hoping to see someone tackle this dress - and your version is FANTASTIC! Tres chic!
10/8/11 11:02 AM
sunnysewer said...
Fantastic! I am so happy to see this dress made up, this pattern has fascinated me for a while. Looks great on you. thanks for all the interesting info on construction on your blog.
10/8/11 10:44 AM
MaryDB said...
Wow! Very impressive. Impeccable work, beautiful dress. Thanks for the review.
10/8/11 10:37 AM
Marge99 said...
You look great in your dress! I have long admired this pattern, but I'm not brave enough to attempt those tucks yet. Well done to you!
10/8/11 10:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Simplicity 4712

photo
by: Ms. Monica...

Review
Butterick 5546

photo
by: acbrown28

Review
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Paradiso Designs Perfect Pillows Pattern

Buy Now