Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1257 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1404 times 17 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 37 people   
Reviewed by:unfinishedprojects
photo
Friend of PR
About unfinishedprojectsstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 8/26/07
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 39
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/9/11 7:26 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $32.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $32.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
Thanks for the warning. I noticed that the waist marking on the pattern clearly indicates that the waist seam is actually well above waist rather than as in the photo (not a good start). I'm interested to know if the pattern can be rescued because I'd love to have the dress in the photo!
10/8/11 10:29 PM
ArtAttack said...
I hope you have better luck than I did with this pattern. I tried it twice and both were wadders. I think that pattern is the most poorly drafted one I have ever seen. I hope you have a good outcome with it!
10/8/11 10:59 PM
Cody7 said...
I seem to remember some other people commenting that they have to lengthen their waist measurement as the waist sits higher than shown on the pattern envelope on quite a few Vogue patterns.
10/8/11 11:59 PM
petro said...
An alternative fix for the tight arm which might work could be to insert a gusset in the underarm seam, if you haven't already recut.
10/9/11 4:13 AM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Don't you just hate it when this kind of thing happens? Thank you, thank you for passing this on. I was thinking about getting this pattern. Good luck!
10/9/11 12:19 PM
jemgirlca said...
I've got mine almost finished and will review it when I'm done. I actually love mine. I don't mind that it's a bit high waisted, I don't actually like it when things sit at my actual waiste. Also, I was warned with the previous review about the tight sleeve, so I cut the size 20 sleeve (I'm making a size 14) to get the extra width. It wouldn't have worked at all otherwise. I have the skirt basted onto the top right now and it looks great, I hope you can make it work for you.
10/9/11 4:33 PM
MrsRoberts said...
Warnings like this are gold for homesewers. Thank you so much for taking the time to post this despite your frustration - much appreciated!
10/9/11 5:32 PM
crazygrad said...
Love that print!
10/9/11 7:32 PM
Claverie said...
Your dress looks absolutely fantastic, I think the print worked well. Given the lengthy and detailed review, you should feel good about saving others from potential surprises.
10/9/11 7:51 PM
Ann Smith said...
I haven't made this dress yet so I may be wrong about this but I see that the pattern calls for stretch in both directions. Lengthwise as well as the usual crosswise. Maybe that would make the difference in the fit. Lengthwise stretch would allow the waistline to drop lower and the sleeves to have the stretch around as needed.
10/9/11 8:35 PM
unfinishedprojects said...
Ann- I thought about that, but I went stretching all of my knits and none of them seemed to have nearly as much lengthwise stretch as crosswise (the crosswise was OK on the diagram). Also, now the dress fits exactly like expected- it would be too tight all over if there wasn't enough lengthwise stretch in my fabric. My guess is that Vogue's lengthwise stretch requirement is to cover for the grainline being the wrong way.
10/9/11 9:08 PM
ArtAttack said...
Wow...you are nothing less than a miracle worker to have made a success of this pattern! And I love the fabric, too. I'd consider giving it another try but I'm already cutting up the tissue of V1257 to use under FBA's...lol
10/9/11 11:23 PM
GoodbyeValntino said...
Your finished product is fab..... I bought the real dress last year or year before. I've been wanting to try the pattern but now I don't know. Thank you so much for the review - it is very, very, very helpful!
10/10/11 7:10 AM
eruuska said...
I have this pattern but haven't gotten to it. Thank you for taking the time to review this with your suggestions! I really appreciate it. Your dress looks lovely.
10/10/11 7:53 AM
VivianZ said...
In spite of all the problems, your dress is great looking. Thanks for the review.
10/10/11 8:10 AM
Woolygal said...
Thank you so much for taking the time to help the rest of us with this pattern.
10/10/11 8:29 AM
joanico said...
Thank you! I have this pattern and love the look of it. After reading the negative reviews I put the pattern aside (with sorrow...). Next weekend I will give it a try cut in the cross grain! And thank you for the picture you made of the sleeve alteration.
10/10/11 9:19 AM
becca a said...
Your dress is gorgeous! Clever of you to figure out that the dress is meant to be cut on different grain lines than Vogue indicates. Thanks for the heads up.
10/10/11 9:34 AM
Karine said...
I love your dress and I think the fabric is perfect - not at all matronly. I want to make this dress too, so I really appreciated your review and being able to benefit from your experience! Thanks for the details and picture of your sleeve alteration. This is exactly why I love Pattern Review and all of the wonderful sewists who share their wisdom - thanks!
10/10/11 9:37 AM
melanie9313 said...
Thank you for much for your review!! I am definitely going to make this dress and I'm sure you've saved me oodles of time.
10/10/11 9:49 AM
bikegrrl said...
You're brilliant to figure out what was wrong with this and generous to post it! And the dress looks fabulous, great print and all!!
10/10/11 11:56 AM
wordchick said...
I love the fabric! Thanks for the review....
10/10/11 11:56 AM
imsewcrazy said...
Your dress is Gorgeous!! And I absolutely LOVE the fabric. Thanks for the detailed review.
10/10/11 4:28 PM
fauxgetaboutit said...
Thanks for setting us all straight about the correct way to cut this pattern (are ya listening Vogue???). I too had put this pattern aside after reading the reviews of disasterous results. Thanks again, I'll be sewing this up soon on the cross grain!
10/11/11 7:38 PM
Judy Kski said...
Thanks so much for such a detailed and "very helpful" review. I don't have this pattern, but plan to buy it and try it out. BTW, I love the fabric.
10/22/11 1:11 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
11/8/11 4:00 PM
Veronimuse said...
Thank you, thank you for this review! I'm about to attempt this dress myself, but the sleeves had my brows furrowed until your review as I need to add more than three inches for my upper arms. (eep!) I kept thinking "HOW do I do this???" and was considering redrafting the bodice for set-in sleeves until I looked at your picture showing what you did. Eureka! Now I'm excited to get moving. I'd have loved to try cutting the pattern on the cross-grain except (call me crazy) I've chosen a stretch velvet and want the nap to lie vertically rather than horizontally. I expect the fabric's thickness will make the knot front a bit of a challenge. I hope to review it when I'm finished and HOPE to have good news! :-)
11/15/11 12:18 PM
Seamin in LA2 said...
Kudos to you for figuring out the cross grain solution and making this work. I was an early reviewer and abandoned this one.
2/11/12 5:31 AM
strongnow said...
Fabulous review. Thank you so much. I have this pattern but have hesitated. No more. You have been such a help.
2/12/12 3:09 PM
ceejayem said...
This is one of the patterns in my stash I daydream about regularly, but the negative review made me hesitant. Shall definitely try it cut on the crossgrain now. Thanks so much for the review, but sadly I have not been able to open your photos.
4/13/13 7:52 AM
Shira Jacobson said...
Smart lady! I'm glad folks like you post here - the crossgrain is not something I would have thought of, but you sleuthed it quickly!
3/2/14 3:27 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Butterick 5646 Misses Tunic
photo
Review by Doobee64 on 1/9/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)
Jamie Christina Hi Lo Raglan Digital Pattern (JC315RE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Everyday skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 7189
photo
Review by Pyrose on 8/14/06
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4057 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6913 Pattern
Burda 6913 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us